We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Amberley Suite Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Amberley Suite Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Amberley Suite Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 47: English reviews
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Where to start???? This was by far the worst experience I have ever had at a hotel. I have never felt more disgusted and dirty than I did for the 4 hours I was here. I ended up leaving to go to another hotel at 11:30pm because of how bad this place is. I was moved to a total of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Adam W
Amberley Suite H, General Manager at Amberley Suite Hotel, responded to this review

Adam, I want to start by apologizing for the state of the hotel during your brief stay. We are working very hard to make the necessary changes here so that your experience is not repeated. Please accept my apology and let me know what I can do to make the situation better for you. We want to make sure you...

Mobile, Alabama
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My family spent the weekend here for my family reunion and enjoyed every minute of it. We had our family dinner reception in a banquet room located at the hotel on Saturday evening. The hotel staff was wonderful and treated everyone so kind the entire weekend. The suite room I stayed in on Friday and Saturday was very large and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott J
Amberley Suite H, General Manager at Amberley Suite Hotel, responded to this review

Scott, I am pleased to hear about your enjoyable stay at our property. We appreciate your feedback. I'm glad that you were able to find our staff friendly and helpful. If we can ever assist in the future, please do not hesitate to call. Thank you, Tiffany L. Garth General Manager

Niagara Falls, Canada
Reviewed 30 July 2013

On our way to New Orleans one of the overnight stops we made was in Decatur Alabama. We stopped at the welcome center off of I65S and asked about any places near or on the river and economical and comfortable are always on the top of our list. She recommended The Amberly Suite Hotel. With a coupon from the brochure...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nancyG57
Ocala, Florida, United States
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Spent four nights here, and while our room was okay, others in our party was not. Our son's room had mold, and signs of leaking water in it. Front desk kept promising the "Guest Cookies" but they never showed up. Noticed that the cleaning crew failed to sweep the floors, as a napkin stayed under a table in the lobby...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gary U
Amberley Suite H, General Manager at Amberley Suite Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your issues with the hotel and bringing thses matters to our hotel. Your comments will help us serve you and all our future guests. We apologize for the inconvenience it caused you and your family. We are working diligently to improve the hotel. We know you have many choices for your hotel accommodations and hope you...

Reviewed 30 June 2013

We got reservations for 2 nights. We only stayed 1 night. The first room we got was a smoking room. (We had requested a non smoking room). The new room did smell better but we didn't have a peephole in the new room. The pool was unuseable. The commode "rocked" when used. You need to get your ducks in a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pjm0917
Amberley Suite H, General Manager at Amberley Suite Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your concerns about your recent stay with us. It is always welcomed and appreciated. Please accept our sincere apology for the service you experienced. Your comments have assisted us in identifying the areas in which we need to improve. If we can ever be of any assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to call...

Tunnel Hill, Georgia, United States
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My Family and I have been using your hotel for the past 20 + years for our family reunions and over night stays but this past weekend really done me in, First off, when I got there Friday evening to check in and I was suppose to have 2 rooms reserved, (we had 10 total rooms with confirmation#'s),I only had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tommy P
Amberley Suite H, General Manager at Amberley Suite Hotel, responded to this review

Mr. Phillips, We have appreciated your family business for the last few years. We have thoroughly researched this issue. When we received the rooming list and reservations there was only one name for Tommy Philips for one room. We understand that this was an inconvenience to you but however we still was able to accommodate you. The issue with the...

Dalton, Georgia, United States
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I have to say, even though this is not some fancy hotel I am staying at, I have to say it isn't near the top of my list. The poor management is unacceptable. It is sad to know that when someone checks in and are supposed to have two rooms, they tell you that they had to cancel one of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ashley8732
Amberley Suite H, General Manager at Amberley Suite Hotel, responded to this review

We strive to ensure our patrons experience the best visit possible during their travels. We understand we fell short of our goal this time. These issues and concerns have been passed along to the appropriate person. I am extremely concerned to note your dissatisfaction in the following area: 1) Check-in: I apologize for not having your room available. After careful...

Montgomery, Alabama
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Look guys, you get what you pay for at the Amberley. Be honest, it's not the Mandarin, but the rooms are sufficient, the staff is pleasant, the breakfast is good and it's in a fantastic location. By fantastic I mean it's immediately next door to one of the best and neatest restaurants in North Alabama. I travel a lot for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mcmcduff
Amberley Suite H, General Manager at Amberley Suite Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for contacting us regarding your recent stay with us. Your input is always welcomed and appreciated. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our property. I am also pleased to know that you found the staff friendly and helpful. If I may be of any assistance in the future, please feel free...

Fairhope, Alabama
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We were at the Amberley for a wedding and checked into our king suite. The hotel smelled like a cigarette butt and trash was blowing down the corridors. My 14 year old daughter walked into the room and immediately decided to stay with relatives. If the filth and stench weren't enough the complimentary breakfast was sure to offend. I took...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank chickincharge
Amberley Suite H, General Manager at Amberley Suite Hotel, responded to this review

We apologize that your experience was not what you expected during your visit. We strive to provide a service that is superior in every aspect, and it is through the constructive criticism of our customers taht we are able to correct problems that might not otherwise come to our attention. We are in the process of making the appropriate corrections...

Mobile, Alabama
Reviewed 13 June 2013

The hotel is old and is not well kept. The hotel hallway smelled cigarette. Second floor level particularly smelled like sewage spills. The housekeeper came and got our towels and didn't bring new ones until 4 o'clock. No shampoo or conditioner or coffee. We have to catch a housekeeper to request one. Have to send the kids to the front...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Thao D
Amberley Suite H, General Manager at Amberley Suite Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to express your dissatisfaction with your recent visit. i apologize that your experience was not what you expected from Amberley Suite Hotel. This does not reflect our commitment to quality accommodations. Please know that your comments have sparked immediate attention. We know you have many choices for your hote accommodations...

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
0:42
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Decatur hotels
0.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Decatur Riverfront
4.8 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur
5.4 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Decatur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Hampton Inn Decatur
Hampton Inn Decatur
#1 of 18 in Decatur
338 reviews
5.0 km away
BEST WESTERN River City Hotel
5.1 km away
Courtyard Decatur
Courtyard Decatur
#6 of 18 in Decatur
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Amberley Suite Hotel - Decatur, AL. The hotel offers the perfect combination of relaxation and modern convenience. Located in historic Decatur, our charming hotel is ideally situated to provide guests with easy access to the best of the city. This three-story, 110-room hotel offers full American breakfast, high-speed Wi-Fi, outdoor swimming pool, courtyard and gazebo and 24 hour fitness center. All rooms include microwave, fridge and coffee maker. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Amberley Suite Hotel

Address: 807 Bank St NE, Decatur, AL 35601-1611 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Decatur)
Region: United States > Alabama > Decatur
Price Range: $112 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amberley Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Also Known As:
Decatur Country Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Amberley Suite Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay here!”
 of 5 bubbles Y3952YDgaryt, 27 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Go look at the room before you pay for it.”
 of 5 bubbles buckroy, 7 Jun 2015 | Read review
“don't stay under a room- a friend was on 1st floor- she said the noise above was terrible”
 of 5 bubbles kp7236, 28 Dec 2013 | Read review
“Suites are large and have separate living room area”
 of 5 bubbles scottj521, 2 Aug 2013 | Read review
“Rooms closest the railroad tracks can be noisy all night long!”
  • Very roomy with TV in each room
  • Bed comfortable.
  • Suite was very nice.
 of 5 bubbles GaryU534, 11 Jul 2013 | Read review
5 of 5