We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Island Winds West

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gulf Shores
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Island Winds West
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 203: English reviews
Start your review of Island Winds West
 Click to rate
Citronelle, Alabama
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It was very nice My room this year was simply amazing I have no complaints room was really really nice if I stay next year I would want to stay in room 676 it has such nice quality I really njoyed it ok

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Washington L
brett_robinson_al, Manager at Island Winds West, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay while with us. We hope that you will plan another beach stay soon!

Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Took my family on a mini vacation to my favorite place. We had a great time and enjoyed great weather with plenty of activities within a short driving or walking distance. We went over the Easter holiday and everything was open and the weather was perfect.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank scottdT8668ZD
brett_robinson_al, Manager at Island Winds West, responded to this review

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for the great review and excellent rating. We certainly hope that you will be back to join us again soon!

Section, Alabama
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was pretty nice, it was clean! Buti have a few complaint mattress on the bed was HORRIBLE!!! you could feel the springs on it! Also the water did not stay hot! They need to do some fixing before I stay here again!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank levans0416
JanetBrettRobinson, Guest Relations Manager at Island Winds West, responded to this review

levans0416: Thank you for reviewing your stay with us but it is disappointing to read about the issues stated. We certainly want our guest to relax and be comfortable while visiting us and our beautiful beach area. I will forward your condo remarks to the Property Manager to address with the owner. We hope to see you back on the...

Wyoming, Michigan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When we arrived the air conditioner didn't work. Spent all day Saturday sitting in room while repairman replaced air condtioner. Tuesday cable box failed. I called office and reported it. No one ever came. Took box out of bedroom and put it in living room.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank H6427DNdouglasc
JanetBrettRobinson, Guest Relations Manager at Island Winds West, responded to this review

H6427DNdouglasc: I am sorry to read that your vacation was interrupted by repair work. You did not have to wait as the front desk would have certainly monitored any repair work or personnel needing access to the room. I have forwarded your comments to the Property Manager to address your issues with her staff and the cable provider. We certainly...

Sterling Heights, Michigan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We brought our own bikes and used the nature trails. That was beautiful. Beaches were clean, very family oriented. It was our 5th trip to gulf shores, we'll be back again!! Well worth the drive from Michigan.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank theresekonnie
brett_robinson_al, Manager at Island Winds West, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your 5th Gulf Shores trip! We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us. The nature trails are great places to spend time at and we are happy to know you were able to enjoy those while here. We hope to welcome you in from Michigan again in the...

Kentucky
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have vacationed in the orange beach/gulf shores area for the past 10 years. This unit was listed as premium and was far from that. While the unit had new basic appliances and was fairly clean, the floors were sticky throughout. The unit desperately needs new paint and a cosmetic upgrade. The bathrooms were clean but the fixtures were showing...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank shanee958
JanetBrettRobinson, Guest Relations Manager at Island Winds West, responded to this review

shanee958: I am disappointed to read the review of this condo. I will forward your comments to the Property Manager to discuss upgrades and repairs with the owner. We certainly want to offer comfortable and attractive accommodations. I am happy to see that you did enjoy your beach vacation and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Marshall
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent a week at IWW-371. Two adults, two teenagers. Great location, condo decorated nicely. We enjoyed our stay & are thankful to the owners for providing such a nice place. The only "wish" we had was a hot tub. Would have been a nice addition to the pool area/building & something we utilized at other condos in the past.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erin G
brett_robinson_al, Manager at Island Winds West, responded to this review

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your spring break with us. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a detailed review and we certainly appreciate the suggestion. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great place to stay! Condo was clean and nicely decorated,view of beach and gulf from balcony. Great location, within walking distance to all our favorite restaurants. Plenty of parking, bonus to have luggage carts for loading and loading. Will definitely book this condo for our next visit to Gulf Shores

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karrn H
brett_robinson_al, Manager at Island Winds West, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review! It's such a pleasure to know you enjoyed your time with us. We are pleased that the condo, decor, and location were all to your liking. We thank you for your stay and look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Malta, Illinois
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

wonderful time only one week of noisy upstairs upstairs (872) I agree with others that there should be a restroom for tenants downstairs somewhere for emergencies such as children & diarerra., Loved the way the city of Gulf Shores handled the underage drinking problem this year. We can't wait to see the new park area next to our condos next...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dennyheins
brett_robinson_al, Manager at Island Winds West, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for the amazing review! We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We thank your for your feedback and honesty. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Fairhope
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a great place to have a vacation. We stayed for spring break. The room was great had all the amenities needed. Nice clean pool. Plenty of parking. Easy access to carts for loading and unloading. Great location for night life.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jvaughn1318
brett_robinson_al, Manager at Island Winds West, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your amazing 5 star review! We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your Spring Break here with us! We are glad the amenities, pool, and location were to your liking. Thank you for your stay with us and we look forward to your next visit!

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf Shores
1.2 km away
BEST WESTERN on the Beach
BEST WESTERN on the Beach
#3 of 24 in Gulf Shores
1,090 reviews
2.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
2.6 km away
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
Hampton Inn Gulf Shores
#4 of 24 in Gulf Shores
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
3.5 km away
Sanibel Gulf Shores
Sanibel Gulf Shores
#11 of 24 in Gulf Shores
39 reviews
7.1 km away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 24 in Gulf Shores
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Island Winds West in Gulf Shores is especially great for families and sleeps up to 8 in a 3-bedroom, 2-bathroom unit. It's the perfect headquarters for enjoying all the fun Gulf Shores has to offer. There's fishing from Gulf State Park Pier, or charter a boat in nearby Orange Beach and take to the Gulf for the afternoon to see what you can catch. We have putt-putt and amusement parks, and a great number of golf courses of varying difficulty right near our Gulf Shores condos. In addition to the variety of non-beach related activities we have, we also tons of water activities on top of good ol' sunbathing and swimming. Gulf Shores and Orange Beach offer jet ski rental, parasailing, kite surfing, boat rental and more. Take a ride on a Dolphin Cruise to admire those highly intelligent and amusing animals, or enjoy the views from the Mobile Bay Ferry as you journey to check out items of more historical interest, like Fort Morgan. In town you'll find a lot of adventure no matter what you are looking for at Island Winds West. When it comes to cuisine, our seafood is of course top-notch, and our Royal Red Shrimp have made international headlines for their deliciousness. Places like the Amphitheater at the Wharf and the Hangout have live music, and the Wharf has the largest Ferris Wheel in the Southeast. We even have a zoo, the Alabama Gulf Coast Zoo, which you may have seen featured on Animal Planet. Parking is limited at Island Winds West. A one-bedroom condo will be issued one car pass. A two or three bedroom will be issued a maximum of two car passes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Island Winds West

Address: 407 W Beach Blvd, Gulf Shores, AL 36542-6454
Region: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Number of rooms: 87
Also Known As:
Island Winds West Hotel Gulf Shores
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Island Winds West staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Island Winds West staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“676 I loved it last year I stayed in room 677 and I wasn't happy with it compared to the room I had this year I spent so much money on the room last year and it was total garbage and I wasn't happy not at all”
344washingtonl, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The master shower needed just 2 maintenance corrections - new knobs in the shower (mold visable) & the faucet needs a filter as the water sprays all over. ”
W9069WSering, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Condos are always well equipped when we arrive. if you forget something, it is an easy drive to stores. There is a Dollar General within walking distance.”
rosemaryf883, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“This was room 673. Generally, we like to be a little lower, but we could still definitely enjoy the gulf view. They have 2 elevators that are fast and were trouble free. Very seldom had to wait more than a minute for the elevator. Come here during spring break or the summer and that could change. Maintenance staff did a good job. All plumbing and appliances worked well. We did not try out the TV.”
williamwI7908HP, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Couch and chairs are getting a little worn, but not terrible by any means.”
320beckyn, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5