We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Layang Layang Guest House

Booking.comUS$20*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Layang Layang Guest House
Layang Layang Guest House
Panoramas (24)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

218 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Layang Layang Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 159: English reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2016

I and my friend traveled to Melaka in Aug,2016, just spent 2 days in this ancient place. It is easy to find our guest house. It has a good location which is near to night market, and some attraction destinations. This is the first time we have stayed in a guest house, so we were excited. We find Layang Layang...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ayumi N
team_layanglayang, Owner at Layang Layang Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Ayumi N, Thank you very much for your review. We are also very sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations. Actually, we have some male staff who could assist you with your luggage if you request. Some of our double rooms (only Standard Room No Window) are located on the ground floor....

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 September 2016

It's my 3rd time staying here. Literally a stone throw away from the famous Jonker Street. It's easy to travel around central Malacca with bikes. Staffs're friendly and helpful. Reasonable price. However, as it is a very old building, sound-proofing is the down side. Overall an excellent guest house for this price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meryl L
team_layanglayang, Owner at Layang Layang Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Meryl L, Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review about our guesthouse. For your information, we are currently planning to work on improving our soundproofing system in the guesthouse. We cannot promise that it will be done very soon as it requires a suitable timing (usually during low season), but we are certain that...

Reviewed 31 August 2016

It is really impressive with the design and all the decorations. However in the middle of the night i can hear people upstairs walking everywhere. I can hear their footage and know where they are walking. Happen many times and it kept me awake for almost the whole night and finally i get to sleep in peace for 3 hours...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yeunyue C
team_layanglayang, Owner at Layang Layang Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Yeunyue C, Thank you very much for your feedback! We are truly sorry to hear that you did not get to enjoy your sleep throughout the night. For your information, we are currently planning to work on improving our soundproofing system in the guesthouse. We cannot promise that it will be done very soon as it requires a suitable...

Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Friendly staff attended us,gave us a room over looking the street. We even had a mini photo shooting in our room due to the great natural sunlight. It can be rather noisy during night time.So if you're a light sleeper you might want to avoid choosing rooms facing main street.Other wise everything is worth the price we'd paid.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VsaJean
team_layanglayang, Owner at Layang Layang Guest House, responded to this review

Hello VsaJean, Thank you very much for your wonderful review, and we hope to welcome you back again soon! :D Regards.

Island of Malta, Malta
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Stayed in Melaka just for one night - loved this guest house - quaint and laid back with the friendliest hosts. the outdoor area just by the street was perfect to watch life go by in the early evenings. Bikes are also provided , perfect way to get around this little town. Stay here and you wont regret it!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ruthie84
team_layanglayang, Owner at Layang Layang Guest House, responded to this review

Hello Ruthie84, Thank you very much for your perfect rating! Glad to know that you had a very great stay with us in this historical town. Take care, and hope to see you again soon! :D Regards.

Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

Great location, near to Jonker Street and convenient to the famous historical city in Malacca. The room wasn't fantastic but is great for short stay. Staff is friendly to provide you free map for the attractive place in Malacca.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ice4my
team_layanglayang, Owner at Layang Layang Guest House, responded to this review

Hello Ice4my, Thank you very much for your feedback. Glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us overall. Here at Layang Layang Guest House, we strive to keep all our rooms very simple and basic while maintaining the comfort and cleanliness of each room. If you have a slightly higher budget, you can also opt for an upgrade...

Bandar Baru Bangi, Malaysia
Reviewed 2 August 2016

I enjoyed staying here, this place is gorgeous and I love the courtyard. The room was comfortable however you might need a sleep mask, the light from the windows were pretty bright (I'm very light sensitive). The toilet/bathroom was clean too and I appreciate the pantry they have. Thanks!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moozamohd
team_layanglayang, Owner at Layang Layang Guest House, responded to this review

Hello moozamohd, Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review about us. Glad to know that you enjoyed your stay overall! If you happen to return to our guesthouse again, perhaps you could request for a piece of towel from us to cover the window for better quality of sleep. Hope to see you again soon!...

Reviewed 2 August 2016

We really made a good choice when we booked this guesthouse. When we arrived, the friendly receptionist greeted us. Of course the atmosphere is old fashioned but clean and cozy. When we were showed to our room, on the way, we were so impressed of the tiny courtyard with a zen pond. There's free coffee and tea and the whole...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leah A
team_layanglayang, Owner at Layang Layang Guest House, responded to this review

Hello Leah A, Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback! We understand your concern about the soundproofing system of our guesthouse. For your information, we are currently planning to work on improving our soundproofing system in the guesthouse. We cannot promise that it will be done very soon as it requires a suitable timing (usually during low season), but...

Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

Very good guest house . Is a comfortable place let people take a rest . And got so many restaurant 7 eleven and historical sites at nearby . Is really convenient . But just a little bit regret about the guest house manage not very well . Sometime U can't find them in guest house when u need some help...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary L
team_layanglayang, Owner at Layang Layang Guest House, responded to this review

Hello Gary L, Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review about our guesthouse. Glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us overall. We are also sorry that when you accidentally locked your room key in your room, we were unable to assist you immediately. Actually, our operation hours end at 10.00pm everyday, and...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Agreed with other travellers review regarding the cozy furnishing that is instagram worthy, it is probably the best looking guesthouse in the whole street. However, the sound proofing is quite a big annoyance for me, as i can even hear the next door girl zipping and unzipping her bags all the time. Maybe it's also my bad timing that there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Megah_Yang
team_layanglayang, Owner at Layang Layang Guest House, responded to this review

Hello Megah_Yang, Thank you very much for your detailed feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not get to enjoy your sleep during your stay with us. We have checked our booking list for the night of 17 July 2016 and found out that there was indeed a group of young adults staying in the guesthouse and checked...

358 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (169)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (108)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (106)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (with Window) (14)
Viewed
Family Room (13)
Viewed
Smaller Family Room (12)
Viewed
Standard Room (without Window) (11)
Viewed
Standard Room (with Window) (13)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)
Viewed
Triple Room (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (83)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (32)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.3 km away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.3 km away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 167 in Melaka
1,163 reviews
0.3 km away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 167 in Melaka
703 reviews
2.4 km away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
590 reviews
0.1 km away
Roof Top Guest House Melaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Layang Layang Guest House is located at Blacksmith Street, which is known today as Jalan Tukang Besi. It is only one-minute walk to Jonker Street (Jonker Walk), and is the best location during your exploration in one of the oldest heritage sites in Malaysia that is preserved till today. The building of the guesthouse is believed to be over 100 years old. Back in the olden days, it used to be a famous opium den, and was once a brothel too! As you stay in the wooden house with history, it often feels like travelling back in time. Its original structure remains, including the large beautiful courtyard that represents the “feng shui” of the house. Fully restored since 2013, the guesthouse offers a fusion of old world charm and modern convenience. Today, it has a total of 20 fully air-conditioned rooms and 8 shared bathrooms that are cleaned and well-maintained at all times and equipped with quality toilet amenities. Combined with modern and heritage design, we assure our guests staying with pleasure and views of the heritage street. Carefully selected room furniture, cozy lobby, and the secret garden create a clean, soothing, and comfortable environment for your breakaway relaxation experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Layang Layang Guest House

Address: 26 Jalan Tukang Besi, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Price Range: $25 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Layang Layang Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Layang Layang Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sama-Sama Guesthouse Hotel Melaka
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Layang Layang Guest House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Layang Layang Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms to the playground”
, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Choose the one with the courtyard view”
  • sink beside the bathrooms
leaha730, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“i chose the room with window”
Megah_Yang, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Choose a bright room maybe an upper floor room is preferred if you can climb the wooden stairs.”
BlancherBaliAdvice, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Choose a bright room but it depends on availability and the number of guests you are going with.”
BlancheOng, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$20* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$20
Hotels.comUS$20
Priceline
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates