We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District

Show Prices
#16 of 64 Hotels in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown\/Historic District
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

491 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 483: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Our stay was terrible. Floor was filthy. We had to have wristbands to get to the room which was fine but the staff were rude about it. First, we asked for new bands because we wanted to take a shower and didn't want to walk around with a wet wrist , and the front desk lady refused to get us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janey Q
Mobile, Alabama
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I don't normally do a review.... Don't expect a call back. I have been calling and emailing them for three weeks, no return calls. I was quoted a price when we reserved this room a year ago and then when I checked in, they would not honor it. I went ahead and stayed, but now we have been doubled charged...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brantley_craig
Tayler M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience. Sincerely, Tayler...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Run as far away from here as possible... I am still is shock and disbelief of what my friends and family experienced over the past weekend and this place. We had a large group that stayed downtown for the convenience of Mardi Gras, but never again will it be at this hotel. The room types that were promised numerous time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JasonKirksey
Tayler M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay, as that is not up to our normal standards. Please be advised that we are being proactive about your concerns and do not take this lightly. However, since Mardi Gras brings such high demands and volume, we have contracted extra people to...

Southaven, Mississippi
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We stopped for supper before a Sunday parade. The waitress was so good. We received our food in good time and the food was good. Perfect place to stop to eat and walk right out to see the parade. We will do this every year that we are in Mobile for Mardi Gras

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WANDA T
Tayler M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your food while enjoying Mardi Gras! This is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We look forward to your next visit! Sincerely, Tayler M Front Office Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

I travel all over the country for my job, and stayed in this hotel for work this past weekend. I don't have sensitive skin at all and have never even had a mild reaction from detergents, shampoos etc. I slept in the room the first night and woke up covered in a rash. In returning home 3 days later i...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kimberlym690
Tayler M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, Tayler M Front Office Manager

Carterville, Illinois
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I use to come here to sail out for cruises. But when they stopped sailing out of Mobile, I haven't been back. Now that we can sail again, I am reminded how much I love this town. This hotel is always, clean, quiet and I live the snooze and cruise package. Will be back more and more

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Babe H
Tayler M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review

We truly enjoyed having you stay with us at the Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown and couldn’t be happier that your time here was pleasurable in every way! We thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again! Sincerely, Tayler M Front Office Manager

Reviewed 21 January 2017

This hotel has the worst customer service I have ever encountered at a hotel. The night desk clerk was so rude to me over the phone that I canceled my reservation and stayed at another hotel a few blocks away. I called to ask a simple question about the shuttle service to the cruise port and was told this is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank catie2425
Tayler M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay, as that is not up to our normal standards. We will share your feedback with our staff and make the necessary changes. We hope you choose to stay with us again, so we can show you our true level of service. Sincerely,...

Montgomery, Alabama
Reviewed 12 January 2017

This is my go to hotel on the occasions when I make my way down to Mobile. It's a huge hotel! The reception area is very nice and inviting. The rooms are your standard hotel style, nothing super fancy, but great for the price! My only complaint is that the parking on site is very limited. They do have a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BonBonTravels
Tayler M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review

BonBonTravels, Thank you for your review and for your wonderful comments about our hotel! It’s also pleasing to know that our facilities were to your satisfaction. We hope your wonderful experience will bring you back to stay with us again. Thank you! Tayler Myrick Front Office Manager

USA
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

Place looks like it could use some renovation. We visited bar on top floor to enjoy the drink and view. View was a-ok and bar was almost deserted. They do have a wifi and few comfortable chairs to spend your time leisurely.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarcusSF
Tayler M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review

Marcus, Thank you for your feedback! I apologize that you found the place outdated, as we are currently working to make enhancements to deliver a more comfortable stay for all of our guests. We hope for the opportunity to make this up to you the next time you are in the area. Sincerely, Tayler M Front Office Manager

Louisville, KY
Reviewed 20 December 2016

We stayed here the night before our cruise. Awesome price. The room was nice, big and roomy. Lots of hot water in the shower. It even had a small fridge, microwave and coffee maker. We did eat in the restaurant, but felt it was way over-priced. We wanted to check out the bar on the top floor, but was tired...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angie R
Tayler M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review

Angie, We truly appreciated your delightful review of our hotel and our staff. Our team at the Holiday Inn Downtown-Mobile, enjoyed reading your review of our property. We take pride in our rooms and the service that we provide and we are so glad that you found our property to be comfortable and in the perfect location! We look forward...

112 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mobile hotels
0.1 km away
The Admiral Hotel Mobile, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
0.1 km away
Malaga Inn
Malaga Inn
#8 of 64 in Mobile
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Candlewood Suites Mobile-Downtown
0.6 km away
The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa
0.5 km away
Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Downtown Mobile Hotel Offers Convenient Location Welcome to the downtown Holiday Inn Hotel in the historic district of Mobile, Alabama. Located just off I-165 and I-10, our Mobile hotel offers a prime location for business and leisure travelers alike. Our Mobile, Alabama hotel is ideally located in the heart of the city, providing quick access to many popular attractions and activities. Less than a mile from our hotel you'll find the Carnival Mardi Gras Museum, the Gulf Coast Exploreum and the IMAX Theater. Other attractions less than 20 miles from our hotel in Mobile include the USS Alabama, the Mobile Zoo, the Mobile Botanical Gardens and several well-known golf courses. Business travelers also enjoy a stay at our hotel in downtown Mobile due to its close proximity to area businesses. Just 14 miles from the Mobile Regional Airport (MOB), our hotel is also within a mile of the Mobile Bay Convention Center. Businesses less than five miles from our downtown Mobile hotel include Bender Ship Building, Austal USA, Alabama State Docks, Brookley Complex, Atlantic Marine and Carnival Cruise Lines. Our accommodations offer premium amenities to ensure a comfortable stay. Guests can enjoy the convenience of free high-speed Internet access, an on-site restaurant and lounge, laundry facilities, a fitness center and a business center. Book your reservations now for the Holiday Inn hotel in Mobile. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District

Address: 301 Government Street, Mobile, AL 36602 (Formerly Lafayette Plaza Hotel)
Region: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Price Range: $163 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District Hotel Mobile
Mobile Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Mobile
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#14 Family Hotel in Mobile
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Fairhope, Alabama
6 months ago
over a year ago
8 months ago
8 months ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Eat Breakfast somewhere else for the price.”
 of 5 bubbles ThePCGuy, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the South West side are the best views.”
 of 5 bubbles 201timw, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room on the upper floors”
 of 5 bubbles SouthernTraveler1995, 11 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Higher floor rooms have great views.”
 of 5 bubbles POLLYANNA57, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Call the local sales team for support, they are awesome! Donna was more than helpful.”
 of 5 bubbles DAVIDF581, 25 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5