We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel

Traveller (35)
Room & Suite (5)
Dining (1)
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
See all
Nearby Hotels
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good55%
  • Average15%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
4 Apr 2016
“Good stay for backpackers”
26 Feb 2015
“Nice hostel, good location, poor staff”
Free Internet
All hotel details
Contact Info
Name/address in local language
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
More languages
See what travellers are saying:
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2016

Good stay as this hostel has everything a backpacker wants from a hostel, mostly if it is the first trip to China. Staff speaks English and amenities such laundry/ free wifi/ common spaces to meet other travelers are available. Did not try the bar but...More

Thank beppo81
Reviewed 26 February 2015

The hostel is in an absolutely great location! Right on People's Square with immediate access to the metro. The hostel itself is really pretty and the onsite restaurant and bar is convenient. With laundry and wifi. Local shops nearby and everything worth visiting within a...More

Thank Lyndsay D
Reviewed 23 October 2014

Stayed here probably nearly 10 times on short breaks to Shanghai when living in China for a year. Found the staff welcoming and helpful every time, particularly with giving information about trains. Very clean and comfy rooms, great value too if your used to western...More

Thank L M
Reviewed 8 September 2014

Compared to the Mingtown Hostel in Hangzhou, this one is not much different. However, I disagree that the staff was great. They were average compared to the other hostels from Mingtown. They did not exceed my expectations. 1. For example: on arrival the girl behind...More

Thank Ozymandias2009
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The location is amazing! Just a five minute walk to the bund, train station, and East Nanjing Road. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. The private room that I stayed in was quiet, spacious, and comfortable. The only complaint about the room would...More

Thank Mariano L
View more reviews
Top amenities
Free Internet
Things to do
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (35)
Room & Suite (5)
Dining (1)
The Bund
While there are certainly many other “bunds” in the
world, “the Bund” refers to Shanghai’s famous
waterfront. The area’s Gothic, Art Deco and Beaux Arts
monoliths were built when it was part of the Shanghai
International Settlement run by the British and
Americans. The atmosphere of colonial-era luxury has
endured over time and is now found in the five-star
hotels, luxury brand boutiques and expensive
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Eric M
17 January 2015|
Response from Eric M |
What is the cost of Mingtown Hiker Youth Hostel accommodation - room, with queen bed?
Room Tips
"We saw better rooms in passing by but we had booked very late. I have no real tip other than to enquire if..."
Read review
"You are here because it is cheap and the location is easy. Accept it for what it is."
Read review
"No swimming pool or fitness centre . Unable to click off"
Read review
"Dorms on the top floor are less noisy when there are noisy backpackers around and the private rooms on the..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing