We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

InterContinental Shanghai Expo

Show Prices
#52 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
InterContinental Shanghai Expo
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

714 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 373: English reviews
Start your review of InterContinental Shanghai Expo
 Click to rate
Mobile, Alabama
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed one night here in a standard room. The staff does a good job, and the breakfast buffet was good. The only complaint I would have was that the water pressure was low. A big plus was that I could control the A/C in the room and it didn't shut off in the middle of the night - A big...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Z8598UNrobertt
Jennifer T, Marcom Coordinator at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review

Dear Z8598UNrobertt, Thank you for your kind feedback after your recent stay at InterContinental Expo. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I’m sorry if you were a little disappointed about the water pressure. We will straighten it out right away. We hope to see you back soon. Kind regards, Grace Marcom Coordinator

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here during Trade Mission, and chose it based on my IHG Spire Membership and wanted to love it more. The location is good for the Expo locations - but not much else. Luckily I had a local guide who was able to take me into the city to eat at good restaurants, see the sights and enjoy the city....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PapaMike1973
Jennifer T, Marcom Coordinator at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review

Dear PapaMike1973, Thank you for your kind feedback after your recent stay at InterContinental Expo. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I’m sorry if you were a little disappointed in lobby lounge. We will straighten it out right away.We hope to see you back soon. Kind regards, Grace Marcom Coordinator

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Probably had my worse hotel stay experience ever. I have traveled for the last 35 years - staying in hotels that have been remote and much smaller but I have not had such a bad experience - I do not like to write negative reviews but I wanted this to be known. There were many many down side to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnilDadlani
Jennifer T, Marcom Coordinator at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review

Dear AnilDadlani Thank you for your kind feedback after your recent stay at InterContinental Expo. I’m sorry if you were a little disappointed. For the question you mentioned, i have communicated with the director of the Guest Service Manager, we will straighten it out right away. I hope you'll see our progress next time you stay with us, we hope...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Free update to the river-view room. You can see the HuangPu-River and NanPu-Bridge from the French window. The room is large and clean. It provides free fruits and ice cubes every day. The hotel has extremely efficient and friendly staff. The facilities are excellent and the view of the city from my room was incredible. The location makes it excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thuy M
Jennifer T, Marcom Coordinator at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review

Dear Thuy M Thank you for your kind feedback after your recent stay at InterContinental Expo. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I’m happy that you enjoyed the hotel’s wonderful location, next to the Huangpu River. We hope to see you back soon. Kind regards, Grace Marcom Coordinator

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 18 March 2017

I am staying at this hotel once a year for the past 3 years as it is conveniently located near the exhibition center. I got a nice room on the upper floors with a great view and noticed with pleasure that the whole hotel is now smoking-free (which was about time...). Even so the English knowledge of the staff has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luzius01
Jennifer T, Marcom Coordinator at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review

Dear Luzius01, Thank you for your kind feedback after your recent stay at InterContinental Expo. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I’m happy that you enjoyed the hotel’s wonderful location, next to the Shanghai World Expo Exhibition & Convention Center. We hope to see you back soon. Kind regards, Grace Marcom Coordinator

Asia
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

Reception desk, reservation team and management unable to apply exhibition group rates for confirmed delegates. Wasted 1 hour each day to complain. After 3 days management finally understood the issue but was not able to apply the rate for previous exhibition days. Totally disappointed. Had to pay RMB 2,000 instead of RMB 1,300.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eatperimental
Jennifer T, Marcom Coordinator at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review

Dear Eatperimental Thank you for your kind feedback after your recent stay at InterContinental Expo. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I’m sorry if you were a little disappointed. For your question, I have communicated with the front office manager, we will make a corresponding improvement. Hope next time when you check in, you can...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 14 March 2017

the service, client care, rooms and food with such a variety and rooms service was up to and beyond world class standards. The cleanliness , courtesy and reception desks made an unforgettable experience of my stay at the Shanghai Expo Hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Coleskop
Jennifer T, Marcom Coordinator at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review

Dear Coleskop, Thank you for your kind feedback after your recent stay at InterContinental Expo. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's a pleasure to be satisfied with your experience.We hope to see you back soon. Kind regards, Grace Marcom Coordinator

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

As always the decor is outstanding. Food is in abundance and the service rates about 3 stars for me but then I am comparing it to other asian locales where they are customarily more courteous. The Australian plugs don't work here even though they are on the wall but they are blocked off so don't forget your adapters to plug...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ceagles6
Jennifer T, Marcom Coordinator at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review

Dear Ceagles6, Thank you for your kind feedback after your recent stay at InterContinental Expo. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's a pleasure to be satisfied with your experience. We hope to see you back soon. Kind regards, Grace Marcom Coordinator

Sydney
Reviewed 12 March 2017

A friend recommended the Intercontinental for our trip to Shanghai. Our overall first impression was very positive. The hotel is in a nice location with beautiful decor inside and friendly service. Since we are a sports-oriented family, we tried the gym and pool and were equally impressed. Finally, we had a great room with river view, which was a plus....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Owerder
Jennifer T, Marcom Coordinator at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind feedback after your recent stay at InterContinental Expo. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I’m happy that you enjoyed the hotel’s wonderful location, next to the Huangpu River. We hope to see you back soon. Kind regards, Grace Marcom Coordinator

Waukesha, Wisconsin
Reviewed 11 March 2017

This location is a typical luxury hotel in Asia and on balance I can recommend it highly. We will start with the highlights: The hotel is spacious, clean, and attractive. The staff speak passable English. Breakfast is a grand buffet with many choices, western and Asian. Room service is surprisingly fast. Food quality overall is very good with a couple...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulLMullen
Jennifer T, Marcom Coordinator at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind feedback after your recent stay at InterContinental Expo. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you back soon. Kind regards, Grace Marcom Coordinator

509 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (464)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Other (315)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
#28 of 4,998 in Shanghai
745 reviews
World Expo
Sheraton Grand Shanghai Pudong Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dapuqiao
Shanghai Marriott Hotel Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The new InterContinental Shanghai Expo hotel is the only international luxury hotel in Shanghai located adjacent to the 2010 World Expo site with impressive views of the Expo site, Huangpu River and city skyline. We offer personalized efficient Chinese service. “Better City Better Life” Expo theme is reflected in this lifestyle hotel through, the gardens, health club, historical villas and food & beverage concepts. The hotel is conveniently located to leisure and business areas with easy underground and bridge access around Shanghai. ... more   less 

Additional Information about InterContinental Shanghai Expo

Address: 1188 Xueye Road (Xueye Lu), Shanghai 200125, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > World Expo
Price Range: $172 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Shanghai Expo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, IHG, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Shanghai Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Shanghai Expo Hotel Shanghai
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#32 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#52 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#126 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from InterContinental Shanghai Expo staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Mumbai
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from InterContinental Shanghai Expo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If possibly blue, try to get a room with river view”
Owerder, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the Yangtze River”
PaulLMullen, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“River view”
warreng999, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“facing the river has a better view of the city”
arleta.darusalam, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“go for the higher floors and view towards the city (Pudong) with the skyscrapers”
  • bathroom with the huge bath tub
  • Living room of my corner suite on the 16th floor
  • Other side of the living room, with the sleeping room in the back
  • sleeping room with corner view
  • Huge bath in the bathroom
  • Living room with a view on the desk and the second toilet next to the entrance
  • View from my corner suite
  • Corner suite sleeping room on the 16th floor
Tohimen, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5