We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

InterContinental Shanghai Expo

Show Prices
#61 of 4,566 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
InterContinental Shanghai Expo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

646 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 356: English reviews
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I had as usual a good, satisfactory stay. All was to my satisfaction. Unfortunately I did not have enough time to enjoy the happy hours at the club executive lounge this time. It is one of the locations you can relax from business with a glass of champagne or drink or wine.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank p_coduri
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Concierge were rude & not the least friendly. I asked to go to Hyatt on the Bund & the cab driver took me to Park Hyatt instead because the concierge had told him the wrong hotel! We asked one other concierge to take a group picture of us. He simply walked away because he was busy. One of us had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melly T
Jennifer T, coordinator at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review

Dear Melly T, Thank you for your comments after your recent stay. I'm so sorry that you were disappointed with us. I have already communicated with the executive management, and we will enhance the staff English training and awareness of active service, whatever for concierge or staffs in Basilico restaurant. I am so surprisedly that you had bad food in...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

For Intercontinental Expo in Shanghai my opinion is that the hotel is located on the business part of the town Pudong area, however i would not prefer it in the future for some reasons. The rooms were cleaned every day and this is the good part, however the lobby area needs to be renovated and the breakfast buffet should also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Athina S
Jennifer T, coordinator at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review

Dear Athina S, Thank you for your comments after your recent stay. I'm sorry if you were disappointed with our service quality and quantity. I have already communicated with assist. director of F&B and front office, and we will do some adjustments in order to reach your expectation. I'm so sorry about your disappointment and thank you for your feedback...

jakarta,indonesia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

room is great, breakfast is sumptuous and lots of choice. Room service is great, waiting time around 30 minutes. Asking an empty bowl to be delivered to the room took almost 50 minutes and 3 times called... in all, it is a business hotel for Expo people, that is the conclusion.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arleta D
Jennifer T, Coordinator at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review

Dear Arleta D, Thank you for your comments after your recent stay. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I’m sorry if you were a little disappointed. We will enhance staff training in order to reach your expectation. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to see you back soon. Kind regards, Shelley Fan Marketing...

Beijing, China
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

i had a chance to stay at this new hotel in Shanghai EXPO area for a event. Great hotel from the hardware and staff service, for sure will choose to stay here again for my next trip to Shanghai. Just one point need to bring up to attention, water temperature is a bit low in the morning when taking a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leo z
Jennifer T, coordinator at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review

Dear Leo Z, Thank you for your kind feedback after your recent stay at InterContinental Expo. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have communicated with our director of rooms about the water temperature problem in the morning, and I’m sorry if you were a little disappointed. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope...

Shenyang
Reviewed 27 October 2016

The hotel itself is very nice, great location, easy to reach from HongQiao airport and walking distance to the Exhibition center. Staff is very friendly, especially the door man is super friendly and try to help for everything. Check in and check out very fast. This is now the first and only hotel i stayed where you get for breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Red_Chinese
Jennifer T, Coordinator at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review

Dear Red_Chinese, Thank you for your comments after your recent stay. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I’m sorry if you were a little disappointed. I have already communicated with Room Director, and we will handle this issue as soon as possible. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to see you back soon....

Baldham, Germany
Reviewed 24 October 2016

from the beginning a very warm welcome, excellent Service, great spa...the rooms are perfectly fine, large, nicely equipped and clean. Breakfast buffet, different bars are inviting one to stay longer than planned - which speaks to the atmosphere and the quality

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1964DirkE
Jennifer T, Coordinator at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review

Dear 1964DirkE, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Shelley Fan Marketing Communications Department

Bangkok
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Everything is as expected as any other Intercontinental hotel. However, I was surprised to see the water accumulating in the shower room door. Basically, the shower room floor has the wrong slope. So, the water can't really go to the drainage rail. I need to use my foot to clear the water so that I don't step into cold water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pichetbo
Jennifer T, Marketing Communication Coordinator at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review

Dear Pichetbo, Thank you for your kind feedback after your recent stay at InterContinental Expo. I'm sorry what you met during the time you stayed in our hotel. Do you mind offer your room number and the day you check-in, then I'm going to communicate with room manager and enginerring manager. I’m sorry again if you were a little disappointed....

Beijing, China
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Free update to the river-view room.You can see the HuangPu-River and NanPu-Bridge from the French window. The room is large and clean.It provides free fruits and ice cubes every day.The staff are kind and respectful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 709,785,610
Jennifer T, Marketing Communication Coordinator at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review

Dear 709785610, Thank you for your comments after your recent stay.I’m happy that you enjoyed the hotel’s wonderful location, next to the Huangpu River. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to see you back soon. Kind regards, Shelley Fan Marketing Communications Department

Dusseldorf, Germany
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Stayed in this hotel for 3 weeks during my business trip in Shanghai. It is located next to the EXPO area of Shanghai and therefore unfortunately not easily accessible via public transport. There is hardly anything of interest in the close vicinity of the hotel, unless you prefer German food. In this case you can go to the Paulaner Brewery...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laszlo S
Jennifer T, Marketing Communication Coordinator at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review

Dear Laszlo S, Thank you for your kind feedback after your recent stay at InterContinental Expo. I'm glad you enjoyed our room, service, facilities, and exterior view. I have already communicated with Engineering to resolve the tub issue in your room. I'm so sorry about that. If you are at leisure, can you offer me more information about the situation...

484 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (435)
Viewed
View from Room (43)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (296)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
#23 of 4,566 in Shanghai
701 reviews
Dapuqiao
Shanghai Marriott Hotel Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
World Expo
Sheraton Grand Shanghai Pudong Hotel & Residences
Century Park
DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong
Shanghai New International Expo Center
Holiday Inn Shanghai Jinxiu
Holiday Inn Shanghai Jinxiu
#96 of 4,566 in Shanghai
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The new InterContinental Shanghai Expo hotel is the only international luxury hotel in Shanghai located adjacent to the 2010 World Expo site with impressive views of the Expo site, Huangpu River and city skyline. We offer personalized efficient Chinese service. “Better City Better Life” Expo theme is reflected in this lifestyle hotel through, the gardens, health club, historical villas and food & beverage concepts. The hotel is conveniently located to leisure and business areas with easy underground and bridge access around Shanghai. ... more   less 

Additional Information about InterContinental Shanghai Expo

Address: 1188 Xueye Road (Xueye Lu), Shanghai 200125, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > World Expo
Price Range: $170 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Shanghai Expo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your InterContinental Shanghai Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Shanghai Expo Hotel Shanghai
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#35 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#60 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#122 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from InterContinental Shanghai Expo staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Mumbai

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from InterContinental Shanghai Expo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“facing the river has a better view of the city”
 of 5 bubbles arleta.darusalam, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“go for the higher floors and view towards the city (Pudong) with the skyscrapers”
  • bathroom with the huge bath tub
  • Living room of my corner suite on the 16th floor
  • Other side of the living room, with the sleeping room in the back
  • sleeping room with corner view
  • Huge bath in the bathroom
  • Living room with a view on the desk and the second toilet next to the entrance
  • View from my corner suite
  • Corner suite sleeping room on the 16th floor
 of 5 bubbles Tohimen, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“River views are very good”
 of 5 bubbles R6824XFjuana, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“choose the room with higher floor and river view, the view of Huangpu river is good. All the rooms are quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles JoeZ631, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Make sure to get a a room on a floor for non-smokers (unless you are a smoker)”
 of 5 bubbles 851manfreda, 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay