We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ibis Shanghai Yu Garden

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Ibis Shanghai Yu Garden
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

361 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 200: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights. Very unwelcoming atmosphere. We reached nearly mid night. We had to take our baggage by ourselves in the lift to our room though the person was seated next to the lift at the reception. The toilet door didn't have a latch and will open by itself. On reporting the reception said you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harish S
Brasilia, DF
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Disgusting. This is the worst Ibis I've ever stayed in my whole life. STINKY. Unfriendly staff. Breakfast is awful. Location is ok. I was almost ripped off by the hotel staff. THE WI FI is awful; it takes forever to download or upload. DO not stay in this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SeanBsb
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Mixed reviews. The location was superb and in walking distance of many great sights as well as a stop for the sightseeing bus so you need to keep this in the back of your mind when reviewing. The room was a little 'tired' though and had no window, which I knew about before, but didn't realise what it would be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SCE54
Evan C, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Shanghai Yu Garden, responded to this review

Dear guest, thanks for choosing our hotel, maybe next time you could book our superior rooms or city view rooms, looking forward to having you stay in our hotel again! Have a nice day!

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 30 September 2016

The service was very good from the front desk. The bar is closed at night but the people at the front desk got me ice every night at no charge. It is about a 10 minute walk to the subway. There is a Tesco grocery store in the basement of the Mall down the street. Close to the Yu Yuan...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra D
Evan C, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Shanghai Yu Garden, responded to this review

Dear guest, thanks for choosing our hotel, I am so sorry about the problems you've mentioned, I apologize to you on behalf of our hotel, in the future, we'll try our best to improve our facialities and service, we are looking forward to having you stay in our hotel again. Have a nice day!

Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

- At arrival, we checked in the room 517. When we entered the room, it was not ready and totally unclean. - In the evening, we received under the door advertisement for prostitution service, even in the room of the kids !!! - The towels were with hair inside. - In the night from 17 to 18.09, the air conditioning...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ers7060
Keerbergen, Belgium
Reviewed 28 August 2016

place is clean ,tidy sometimes bit noisy especially on holidays .The best floor is 6Th.The fifth floor can be noisy ,avoid the rooms next to the elevator.The new coffeeshop that opens soon can be an extra card for this hotel.The big problem can be internet ,but many places suffer this problem......Beds can be a bit hard for western people so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jlanciers
Evan C, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Shanghai Yu Garden, responded to this review

Dear guest, thanks for choosing our hotel, we are so glad that you have enjoyed your stay here, looking forward to having you stay in our hotel again! Have a nice day!

Medan, Indonesia
Reviewed 20 August 2016

I booked 3 nights here considering the name Ibis and near to tourist area of Yu Garden and The Bund, but seems far below expectation. The room is small and smell like someone just smoking in your room every time you get in. the housekeeping also very unacceptable. After went out in the next morning, we found out the bed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank HdWong
Evan C, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Shanghai Yu Garden, responded to this review

Dear guest, I am so sorry about your unpleasant experience, I apologize to you on behalf of our hotel, we'll make efforts to solve the problems you have mentioned.in the future , we'll try our best to improve our service and facilities, we are looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel again!

Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 18 August 2016

After travelling almost 40 hours in total you do not appreciate unsmiling reception staff. I can never understand why a deposit is needed if you paying cash then again they may assume you running off with linen which in the case of this "hotel" which is more like a POD, NO THANK YOU, they can keep their smoke-infused linen. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank arnell b
Evan C, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Shanghai Yu Garden, responded to this review

Dear guest, I am so sorry about your unpleasant experience, I apologize to you on behalf of our hotel, we'll make efforts to solve the problems you have mentioned.in the future , we'll try our best to improve our service and facilities, we are looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel again!

Erie, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 9 August 2016

I really enjoyed my stay at the hotel. The rooms were a bit small but very comfortable. The continental breakfast is delicious and the location is key to visit all important places in Shanghai. Keep in mind that you can take the Shanghai Metro to reach the hotel and walk only a few steps.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JRM15
Evan C, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Shanghai Yu Garden, responded to this review

Dear guest, thanks for choosing our hotel, we are so glad that you have enjoyed your stay here, looking forward to having you stay in our hotel again! Have a nice day!

Mollymook, Australia
Reviewed 30 July 2016

An excellent hotel in a good location, convenient to the city and public transport very clean and comfortable. Helpful staff. Very close to the yuan gardens and walking distance of the bund.a very good choice if not wanting to go into the high end of the market

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 197maturetraveller
Evan C, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Shanghai Yu Garden, responded to this review

Dear guest, thanks for choosing our hotel, we are so glad that you have enjoyed your stay here, looking forward to having you stay in our hotel again! Have a nice day!

103 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (93)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Ibis Shanghai Xujiahui
Ibis Shanghai Xujiahui
#508 of 4,566 in Shanghai
59 reviews
People’s Square
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
#204 of 4,566 in Shanghai
59 reviews
Old Town
Yun's Paradise Hotel
Yun's Paradise Hotel
#1,897 of 4,566 in Shanghai
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Charms Hotel
Charms Hotel
#431 of 4,566 in Shanghai
496 reviews
Century Park
Hotel Ibis Shanghai Lianyang
Hotel Ibis Shanghai Lianyang
#2,488 of 4,566 in Shanghai
344 reviews
People’s Square
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Shanghai’s original walls live on in the curve of the streets that serve as the border to the old city. An aerial view shows a clear circular outline and parts of the original wall are preserved as monuments to the ancient past. The main tourist attraction of Yuyuan (which means Yu garden, though it is often redundantly referred to as Yuyuan Garden) draws hordes of tourists every day, but wandering the streets around the complex reveals more exciting attractions such as food and antique markets. There are also streets lined with shops peddling everyday wares such as Chinese dining ware and craft notions that can be even more enticing to visitors uninterested in the usual tourist fare.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Ibis Shanghai Yu Garden

Address: No.85 Zhoujin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200011, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Old Town
Price Range: $63 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Shanghai Yu Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, HRS, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Ibis Shanghai Yu Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ibis Shanghai Yu Garden staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Ibis Shanghai Yu Garden staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“choose other hotel”
 of 5 bubbles HdWong, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms have excellent city and local views”
 of 5 bubbles 197maturetraveller, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Walk straight back out the doors because you won't find a "good room"”
 of 5 bubbles twindadtravels, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Cheapest rooms have no window, but are totally OK.”
 of 5 bubbles SerGioDubai, 15 May 2016 | Read review
“Dont stay on the 6th Floor. Too noisy”
 of 5 bubbles tolub248, 1 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay