We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mercure Shanghai Royalton

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Shanghai Royalton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

193 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 72: English reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Location is superb and would help more if a local area map can be printed to guide guests to local services. Time to renovate and update the rooms for fresher color Exterior of hotel looks run down and a fresh coat of paint sure will help.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank peterybtan
Wang Y, General Manager at Mercure Shanghai Royalton, responded to this review

Dear Guest I thank you very much for your most recent stay at Mercure Shanghai Royalton and appreciate that you have taken the time sending us your review. Great that you have enjoyed stay with us overall and that the hotel location. All ratings and constructive comments are very valuable for us in order to continue raising the bar of... More 

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly staff even thought many don't speak good English. Walking distance you can find shops and malls. If you are interest in shopping. Rooms are great. Be mindful this hotel have rooms with out windows. When you are booking check the room type and whether there is a window. Cleanliness is good can be improved by attention to details.

Helpful?
Thank Ayon13
Wang Y, General Manager at Mercure Shanghai Royalton, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I thank you very much for your most recent stay at Mercure Shanghai Royalton and appreciate that you have taken the time sending us your review. All ratings and constructive comments are very valuable for us in order to continue raising the bar of services. From your ratings I do understand that during your stay you are unsatisfied... More 

Osaka, Japan
1 review
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

When I stayed, the hotel was under construction for renovation. That's why I marked sleep quality poor. But I guess, without it, it would be comfortable. Hospitality provided with the hotel was good enough. But it was terrible to hire taxies. It was not the hotel responsibility, however.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank kimihikok2016
Wang Y, General Manager at Mercure Shanghai Royalton, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I thank you very much for your most recent stay at Mercure Shanghai Royalton and appreciate that you have taken the time sending us your review. From your comments I do understand that during your stay you have experienced challenges with taxi service. It is difficult to call taxi during peak hour in Shanghai, so our hotel offered... More 

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Stayed in this hotel for 5 days and it was value for money. The surrounding is good with supermarkets and some restaurants surrounding it. However it is a bit far from the metro station. The room is adequate with things you need, however for the tv channels, not many international tv channels, can't find bbc and cnn. It was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anson P
Wang Y, General Manager at Mercure Shanghai Royalton, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Shanghai Royalton. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Your ratings and constructive comments are very valuable for us. Great that you have enjoyed stay with us overall and that the... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

The property itself is very nice with most rooms newly renovated. Room was nicely decorated. Housekeeping staff very friendly and clean the room very well. Front desk staff also very friendly but there needs to be more English speaking staff. There was only one lady who speaks English well enough and she seemed to be a senior staff. I had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dan D
Wang Y, General Manager at Mercure Shanghai Royalton, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Shanghai Royalton. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Your ratings and constructive comments are very valuable for us. From your ratings I do understand that during your stay you are... More 

Ancona, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2016

At check-in I was told that I had booked a room without window. I booked through ACCOR official website, and nothing in the room description mentioned the lack of window. The receptionist replied that all "basic" rooms (the website calls them "superior") in the hotel have no window. I asked how can I know this... It was becoming an issue,... More 

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Me_Italy_2013
Wang Y, General Manager at Mercure Shanghai Royalton, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your most recent stay with us at Mercure Shanghai Royalton and for sending your stay review. Your ratings and constructive comments are very valuable for us in order to continue improving our service. Great that you have enjoyed the hotel room and location. From your ratings I do understand that during you check... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

Very small room also nothing to do near by, no night life and nothing here. Its a budgeted hotel but unfortunately nothing like in budget and want to spend little more and chose another hotel with better near around things. Recommend for low budget

Helpful?
Thank Adeel K
Wang Y, General Manager at Mercure Shanghai Royalton, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sparing time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. Customer feedback has always been an integral part of our learning curve, understanding and catering to the needs of the esteemed guests. On this occasion an acceptable standard has clearly not been met, and we have not succeeded in meeting your expectations. I... More 

Karben, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2016

room and breakfast ok. service at reception desk very poor. Hotel doesn't manage a pool of taxis so you will be facing trouble to get a taxi if close to ur destination. Nice spa. Airport transfer available.

Helpful?
Thank rehderthomas
Wang Y, General Manager at Mercure Shanghai Royalton, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Shanghai Royalton. From your ratings I do understand that during your stay you have experienced challenges with Front Desk and taxi service. I have addressed this to the manager concerned for making sure that we meet your expectations and needs better in the... More 

Beijing, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2016

The rooms are great and the Location is really good, stayed here for the third time. But following is not okay. Breakfast was changed, no more life cooking at 6:30 and no more cheese. Half the front desk staff does not speak English. Ordered a taxi with a lot of lead time, no taxi when I had to go, did... More 

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
Wang Y, General Manager at Mercure Shanghai Royalton, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sparing time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. Great that you have enjoyed the hotel room and location. Pursuant to your feedback, we have had a detailed meeting with the concerned departments. The management of the hotel has taken serious cognizance of your points and are extremely regretful about it. I... More 

Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2016

Traveled as a party of 8, staff at check in were rude. I was allocated a smoking room although requesting non smoking on the booking. Other couples were upgraded even though they were not accor members so I had to ask. No restaurant to get your dining benefits. Breakfast poor and food was cold at 6 30 am. Room 1802... More 

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank earsfl0ppy
Wang Y, General Manager at Mercure Shanghai Royalton, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Mercure Shanghai Royalton. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Customer feedback has always been an integral part of our learning curve, understanding and catering to the needs of the esteemed guests. On... More 

93 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (84)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
#69 of 4,566 in Shanghai
708 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
JadeLink Hotel Shanghai
JadeLink Hotel Shanghai
#165 of 4,566 in Shanghai
73 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#51 of 4,566 in Shanghai
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan Park
Pentahotel Shanghai
Pentahotel Shanghai
#59 of 4,566 in Shanghai
506 reviews
Hongkou
Narada Boutique Hotel Shanghai Hongkou
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#24 of 4,566 in Shanghai
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Zhongshan Park

Neighbourhood Profile
Zhongshan Park
The residential and commercial areas around the beautiful grounds of Zhongshan Park have never been considered particularly fashionable by a majority of Shanghai’s foreign residents, but plenty of expats do choose to live here. The park itself is a huge draw, providing a pocket of serenity in the middle of the metropolis. The area has its share of trendy shops with wares that can’t be found elsewhere, delicious restaurants with food ranging from fancy to affordable, and great hidden bars. Rents are also cheaper here than in other neighborhoods with the same conveniences. Aside from the obvious attractions, with its neighborhood fix-anything shops and pop-up street stalls that sell anything you need, you’ll never sacrifice Western comforts.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Mercure Shanghai Royalton

Address: No.789 Wuyi Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200051, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Zhongshan Park
Price Range: $59 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Shanghai Royalton 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Jetsetter so you can book your Mercure Shanghai Royalton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Royalton Hotel
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#60 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#128 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Shanghai Royalton staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Mercure Shanghai Royalton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Earsfloppy123, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“A fair way out of Shanghai depends on where you are going from there”
 of 5 bubbles 774debf, 21 May 2016 | Read review
“room with bath tub”
 of 5 bubbles yoric2015, 10 Nov 2015 | Read review
“The rooms are fine. But you can't trust them.”
 of 5 bubbles A_large_hairy_beast, 22 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Choose Fifth floor up”
 of 5 bubbles AminH636, 3 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay