We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

151 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 150: English reviews
Uniontown, Alabama
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I can always count on a Candlewood Suites no matter where I go. Our room was very clean and comfortable, the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Our room had a very nice layout to it. We had plenty of room to get in and out of the room. Our booking was spur of the moment but there were no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dptm4
cheree_slaten, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa, responded to this review

WOW!! Better than Disney World? Now, that's an awesome review! Thank you so much. I am so glad to hear how loyal you are to our brand, and I am happy to know that our location was a delight. We hope to see you again soon when you travel to Tuscaloosa.

Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Newer facility with pleasant staff. Good location relative to restaurants and interstate. Quiet rooms with good AC. Negatives are hotel brand related ~ no hot breakfast and no ice machines on floor. Only ice is freezer in room. Shower heads (my pet peave) are about a 2 on a 10 point scale.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LSUGoose
cheree_slaten, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that our team was so pleasant and that you liked our location. Thank you for your feedback about the shower heads. I will discuss this with our maintenance engineer today. You mentioned no breakfast or ice makers. As we are an extended stay hotel, our long term travelers enjoy the...

Warner Robins, Georgia
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The staff at Candlewood in Tuscaloosa was wonderful. They made sure our stay was perfect. The ability to cook in our room also made our budget go much farther. I will stay there every time our travels take us through Alabama.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ammogreg
cheree_slaten, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! I love to hear when guests expectations are exceeded. Taking the time to give your feedback allows others to know more about our hotel. In turn, they are able to make good booking decisions. We hope to see you again when you travel through Tuscaloosa.

Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

The Candlepower in Tuscaloosa was What I called home for sixth months. The staff made me feel at home, and they were friendly, even to a yankee like myself. The director of sales is good company as well, but she didn't ever take me out to see a Crimson Tide hockey game. Guess we'll have to make it a date...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luke M
cheree_slaten, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa, responded to this review

Well, hello there, Luke! We've missed you around here! You did spend six months with us, and we are grateful to have had you as part of our Candlewood family for so long. Thank you for taking the time to tell others about our friendly hotel. We hope to see you around here again really soon!

Vance, Alabama
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We had a great time in T-town! The ability to cook my own food while at the hotel was a great bonus. I had a special meal planned! It was a nice little get away from the house, much needed relaxation!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan H
cheree_slaten, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa, responded to this review

I am so glad to hear about the special meal you were able to prepare in the full kitchen of your suite. This is such a convenient amenity. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy such a relaxing stay at our hotel! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We hope to see...

Long island
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Even when I'm only traveling for overnight stays I prefer to stay in extended stay hotels. This was a really clean hotel. The room smelled fresh. Great place. This one made me feel right at home. The grocery store across the street makes the location better so I was able to cook in my room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traveler632601
cheree_slaten, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review! It delights me to hear that you found our hotel so clean and fresh-smelling. I am glad you were able to cook meals in your room. That is such a bonus with Candlewood Suites hotels. Making you feel at home is what we are all about. Thank you...

Lafayette, Louisiana
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Very disappointed after reading such good reviews. The room size was nice along with the kitchen, but that was about it. To begin, the room stunk like Thai food upon entering. It went away after turning on the AC. The bed was supposed to be a king, but was queen. After accepting these minor flaws we went to sleep. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cherie B
cheree_slaten, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, letting me know about your experience here at our hotel. I am saddened to hear that your night's sleep was not enjoyable. I am unaware how the Central Reservations office could have promised a room with a King size bed, as our hotel does not have any King beds at...

Vance, Alabama
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

This was definitely the nicest Candlewood suites I've ever stayed at. Kim makes you feel like you are coming home to family which makes for a better experience. My room was very clean and smelled great. Perfect place to stay while in Tuscaloosa

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Les753
cheree_slaten, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! I am so glad to hear that you stay at Candlewood Suites often and that you found ours to be the nicest. I will certainly pass along your kind words about Kim as well. She is a real asset! Thank you for recognizing her. I am glad to hear that your room was clean...

Tuscaloosa
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This property is very clean and we'll keep up. The from desk stay Kim, Zach, and David were always great helps with anything I needed. I have no complaints great stay! I have stayed elsewhere but I will be returning here!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rcsmoker
cheree_slaten, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa, responded to this review

Thank you for your awesome review! I am so glad to hear that our front desk team was so accommodating. I will be sure to let them know how pleased you were with their customer service. We hope to see you again very soon!

Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

The people here are more then just hotel employees.. they are AAA Amazing.. not only did they remember us, but they anticipated our needs before we had to ask. . Really amazing and outstanding service.. Rooms are clean and the beds ROCK.. Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank scrowder44
cheree_slaten, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa, responded to this review

WOW! Thank you for the raving review! We are so delighted to hear about your experience! I am so glad to hear that we were able to anticipate your needs and that you got a great night's sleep on our comfy beds. We take customer service very seriously and your feedback makes every service step worthwhile. Thank you again!

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tuscaloosa hotels
0.4 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tuscaloosa
5.4 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Tuscaloosa
Wingate by Wyndham Tuscaloosa
#13 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
967 reviews
6.2 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Tuscaloosa Downtown University Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tuscaloosa Near University
0.7 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#18 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
136 reviews
1.8 km away
SpringHill Suites Tuscaloosa
SpringHill Suites Tuscaloosa
#10 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Expect Superior Service at Our Extended Stay Hotel in Tuscaloosa, AL If you're looking for a relaxing getaway or a comfortable place to stay during a business trip, then drive past the cheap extended stay hotels in Tuscaloosa, Alabama and stay with us at the Candlewood Suites of Tuscaloosa. Our hotel is conveniently located 6.1 miles from Tuscaloosa Regional Airport (TCL) and near Interstates 20 and 59. The University of Alabama and other local colleges offer unique entertainment and attractions for the region. You can visit the University of Alabama's many museums, the arboretum or a sporting event while lodging in our Tuscaloosa, AL hotel. Enjoy the outdoors with a round of golf at one of the nearby courses or walk the nature trails at the Moundville Archaeological Park. Our all suite hotel in Tuscaloosa offers a convenient location for business travelers, with downtown Tuscaloosa, Mercedes Benz, Phifer Wire, DCH Hospital, JVC, BF Goodrich, Michelin, Law Enforcement Academy of Tuscaloosa and Delphi all near the hotel. We also have a meeting room, 24-hour business center and free high-speed Internet access to help you complete work while traveling. Our all suite hotel in Tuscaloosa makes extended stay travel and relocation easier with amenities like the Candlewood Cupboard, lending library and suites with fully equipped kitchens, 32-inch TVs, work desks and triple-sheeted beds. Book your extended stay in Tuscaloosa with us today! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa

Address: 651 Skyland Blvd East, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405
Region: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Price Range: $144 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa Hotel Tuscaloosa
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#6 Family Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Rocky Mount, Virginia
27 days ago
Abington, Pennsylvania
6 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure you check other hotels in the area before deciding on this one.”
 of 5 bubbles Dwill4325, 27 Apr 2016 | Read review
“I was on the 4th floor and it was honest to God the quietest stay I've had in years.”
 of 5 bubbles P7729PBmarks, 18 Apr 2016 | Read review
“If possible, choose the upper floor.”
 of 5 bubbles patrickr435, 8 Apr 2016 | Read review
“we stayed on the 3rd floor at the back side and it was quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles dbr913, 24 Feb 2015 | Read review
“I asked for a room on the bottom floor so I would have easy access to walk my dog and David found one available.”
 of 5 bubbles 315brendan, 11 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay