We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Casa Antigua

Booking.comUS$69*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$69*
US$69*
US$69*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Casa Antigua
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 64: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Casa Antigua
 Click to rate
Nevada City, California
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Casa Antigua was recommended from some friends for a great place to stay before flying out of the San Jose Airport. It was a great surprise! The dog,cat, and parrot become friends right away, you can tell the owners care for the place a lot. All of the lovely wood work is the owners' himself! He gave us a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chelssmeltz
Hotel Casa Anti... H, Owner at Hotel Casa Antigua, responded to this review

thank you for your kind respond . I have done nothing more than usual for you ,we are in hotel hospitality and I have done just that .< Hospitality >. you stay with us because of the convenience of the airport taxi do not show up !! I will. thank again look forward to serve you again best regards Henri

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was talking to someone in the plane originally from Costa Rica. I told her where I had booked for the night, catching a commuter plane in the morning. She told me it was very far away and would cost a lot to take a taxi there and back and I might not make my flight. She has an Uber...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bmax101
Hotel Casa Anti... H, Owner at Hotel Casa Antigua, responded to this review

thank you for staying with us , we are very sorry that we could take credit card ! du to the lightening we lost most of our electronic equipment including our credit card machine on that day , we have them all replaced and they all are in order again. thank you for understanding , we wanted to thank you...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for one night, great location nice and close to the air port. It's a very rustic little gem. The owner Henry was such a nice guy had very good conversations with him. Would defiantly stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manny198
Hotel Casa Anti... H, Manager at Hotel Casa Antigua, responded to this review

Thank you very much it was pleasure for us you are welcome to stay any time Henri

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

Great, affordable stopover with friendly host and a bed and breakfast feel. First off, a disclaimer that it is next to a main road and so close to the airport that you will hear flights in the early morning, but if you've just got off a long flight you'll definitely still sleep! The place has it's own character and individual...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

I recently came to Costa Rica with family and this was the first place we stayed after a long flight from the UK. It's perfectly located for the airport. We arrived in the evening and the receptionist was friendly and helpful. Our rooms were clean with really comfy beds. We hung around in the morning before heading off to Uvita,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie114
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

This is an excellent hotel. Staff are extremely friendly and the owner was so helpful. He did everything he could for us. We stayed here twice during our stay in Costa Rica. Excellent location for the airport. I can't understand the bad reviews, maybe people expect too much. If you're moaning about bugs in Costa Rica, you shouldn't have gone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
Reviewed 6 April 2017

We did not plan on staying at this hotel and never heard of it. We were at a larger chain hotel that cancelled our reservation when our plane arrived late. All chain hotels were booked but they found us a room at Casa Antigua. This hotel definitely has its good and bad but the good outweighing the bad. The owner,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bethn214
Florida
Reviewed 21 March 2017

I don't understand the positive reviews. What's to like about this place? The dishonest receptionist who told us it's standard to pay an extra 5% when paying with a CC in Costa Rica? NOT! Our room was $78 so I payed in cash, but receptionist never gave me back my $2 change. The room was next to reception and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KaliCA
Hotel Casa Anti... H, Manager at Hotel Casa Antigua, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you did not have good experience with us , 90%of the of people that stay with us , they say otherwise, if you are wondering ? why , they are average Positive... people , sorry that we did not have any room the night you stayed with us,and we could not offer you one our...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 1 June 2016

Hamid is the nicest! If you are lucky enough to stay at Casa Antigua when Hamid, the owner is there, you will be well taken care of! I needed a hotel close to the airport that was affordable and this hit the spot. If you want a nicer place that is definitely not a bit rough around the edges, then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ColinDough
Ft Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewed 16 May 2016

Stayed here in with a group from Panama. April 2016. The room was right across on the corner from the front desk. You can hear every car on the street and anyone who is talking at the front desk. You can hear the planes leaving the airport. The rug in the room was dirty as well as the rug in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ra0659
Hotel Casa Anti... H, General Manager at Hotel Casa Antigua, responded to this review

we are sorry that you did not have a good experience in our hotel please understand the fact that we are a transit hotel near the airport , as you mention that you are a world traveler ,you should know that any hotel in major city's that are near the airport are busy and noisy do to the airport activity...

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (20)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 29 in Alajuela
651 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#10 of 29 in Alajuela
293 reviews
0.0 km away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 29 in Alajuela
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.0 km away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.0 km away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#6 of 29 in Alajuela
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Casa Antigua Hotel is only at three minutes from Juan Santamaria National airport, in a very safe neighborhood and near good restaurants and rent cars. We offer our customers tropical breakfast, taxes included, swimming pool, free internet and WIFIA access, laundry service, playground and beautiful gardens. Also, all our rooms count with private bathroom, hot water, fan, television with cable. Our main purpose is that our customers could feel comfortable as in their own home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Antigua

Address: Principal via a Alajuela | 500 metros al este del Casino Fiesta Alajuela, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Price Range: $105 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casa Antigua 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Casa Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Casa Antigua staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Northwest Romania, Romania
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Casa Antigua staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upgraded to the room with a/c. Rooms are basic, but have everything you need! Comfy mattress compared to the rest of our CR trip.”
chelssmeltz, 26 May 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room not on the street if possible”
bethn214, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Just stay away”
KaliCA, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“IF you have no choice request a room in the back.”
ra0659, 15 May 2016 | Read review
“Look elsewhere”
jcdsf2016, 3 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$69* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$69
TripAdvisorUS$69
Orbitz.comUS$69
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates