We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Casa Antigua

Save
Share
Principal Via A Alajuela 500 metros al este del Casino Fiesta Alajuela, Alajuela 20101 Costa Rica
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (59)
Dining (7)
Room & Suite (7)

About

#18 of 35 hotels in Alajuela
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Casa Antigua Hotel is only at three minutes from Juan Santamaria National airport, in a very safe neighborhood and near good restaurants and rent cars. We offer our customers tropical breakfast, taxes included, swimming pool, free internet and WIFIA access, laundry service, playground and beautiful gardens. Also, all our rooms count with private bathroom, hot water, fan, television with cable. Our main purpose is that our customers could feel comfortable as in their own home.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Car park
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Free breakfast
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Outdoor pool
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
124Reviews6Q+A32Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 60
  • 30
  • 11
  • 7
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Ryan Q wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
My girlfriend and I happened upon Casa de Antigua after a stressful day of setbacks and struggles, but all of our woes quickly evaporated in the warmth of our gracious host Henri’s kindness and hospitality. The delicate ease with which he could interpret and temper our frustrations, then provide relaxation and comfort were revealing of a man practiced in the fine art of hospitality; all while in one of the most charming guest houses I’ve ever been in. If you’re just looking for a lifeless experience within four bland walls and a roof, Holiday Inn Express is right down the street and will serve you the sterile experience you seek. However, if you want the opportunity to freely roam a palatial poolside patio adorned with handcrafted wooden furniture, take in the rich ambiance of a year 1901 renovated local home steeped in character and love—this could be the place for you. You won’t find anywhere else to avoid the hustle and bustle and noise being this close to the airport, but Casa de Antigua does an amazing job of transporting you to the most serene and cozy place possible with the convenience of proximity to your arrival or departure in San Jose. We had a lovely room with a hot shower and comfy bed. Henri brought us a delicious omelette breakfast in the morning. He also transported us through the rain in his personal car to get rotisserie chicken for supper, then provided plates and utensils for us to enjoy our meal. There were almost no limits to his accommodations, and we were so thankful for his kindness. It also must be said that our second host, Pichou, a red Persian kitty cat absolutely enchanted us. Everything about this place is lovely and it is a must stop for us on any visit to Costa Rica now.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from H Casa Antigua, Owner at Hotel Casa Antigua
Responded 27 Oct 2021
Thank you so much for taking the time and write a nice review for us. I am so glad to provide you comfort and practice my profession which is hospitality. You are very kind to talk so highly about us, it is our pleasure to serve you and we are glad that you had a good experience with us . And thank you so much for the present you left for us. Looking forward to serving you again in the near future. Sincerely, Henri Fard
Read more
Stephanie L wrote a review Aug 2021
3 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel Casa Antigua was perfect for our first stop in San Jose. Although this isn’t a five star hotel, the service was excellent, the breakfast was great and the rooms were clean and this hotel definitely deserves a five star review! This is a funky little hotel right near the hotel, easy walking distance to some nearby restaurants and bars where you can grab some local cuisine on the fly. Perfect place to stop over, highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Keep in mind the airport is very close by and so you do hear the planes, but at night with AC...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Syed Raoof wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
Amazing place and welcoming atmosphere. Relaxing outdoor decor. Persian style decorations done by the owner who is talented. If you like Persian food, he is a good chef too. Affordable pricing when compared to other big hotels. If you want to relax couple nights and head out to your final destination in Costa Rica, then this is the place to be. Or if you have seen Costa Rica and want to return to your destination, you could relax a night or two and go to the airport. The owner is a real gentleman with great mannerism and soft spoken.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Back side rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from H Casa Antigua, Owner at Hotel Casa Antigua
Responded 23 Jul 2021
Thanks you so much It was our pleasure to serve you We look forward to seeing you again soon Regards
Read more
Nelsy&Guillermo wrote a review Jul 2021
Tampa, Florida13 contributions
Beautiful place near the airport. Was very clean, friendly staff who treated us like family, very welcoming and secure..Henri gave us a very home-like atmosphere . Highly recommend and we will definitely be back.. Before our departure early morning he offered some carrot cake and coffee.. Thank you Henri. Family of 4 with a teenager and a 5 years old.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from H Casa Antigua, Owner at Hotel Casa Antigua
Responded 12 Jul 2021
You are welcome Thank you for taking time to write a review for our Hotel It was pleasure for us to serve you and your family. you are welcome to stay with us at any time. wish you a great time for the rest of your trip Best regards Henri
Read more
Jhenai L wrote a review Jun 2021
12 contributions
I specifically waited to do this review because I honestly can’t believe the ordeal I have been through in the pass 3 days & this hotel & its owner made everything 10 times worse ! Get your chairs & your tea & lets begin ! Henri Farid of Casa Antigua As a para-legal & avid lover of the travel & self proclaimed citizen of the world ,I’ve had my fair share of problem while traveling but this had to tip it all the way over . Coming from a family of a such a vast mixture of ancestors I have always made it point to give anyone young or old the benefit of the doubt until proven late than they didn’t deserve my kindness nor did they realize that it would run out . June 22 , 2021 , my group trip abruptly came to halt as some of my travel group members got sick ,tired or just plain old couldn’t deal with turns of the ever so lovely Costa Rica . Growing up on a island taught me sustainability , but growing up in my family taught me humility & so when I travelled to wherever no matter how far I tried my best not to complain because I went there willingly & on my own volition, my friends ehhh not so much . Prior to the trip , I lost a travel pouch while getting insurance which contained my passport , my nyc state id , my Trinidad country id , money , my bank cards & my credit card , hoping it would be return I did not cancel my trip , unfortunately only my passports were returned to the local precinct 2 days before the trip & I saw this as a sign to go barring any extra complications . My friends & I made a deal that I would send them money via banking or money sending apps & they wold give me cash . Unfortunately in a rush to leave to the house to get to the airport only 1 member of my Passport Fi Get Stamps Crew remembered & it was only $10 usd . In my frustration , I reach out to my worldwide travelers for a place close to the airport while I wait on my flight to either leave the country or continue on solo with the rest of my trips plans WITHOUT A BANK CARD OR ADEQUATE CASH ! As one can see I have never been hard up for cash the ENTIRE TRIP , I just had minimal way of accessing it after my friends left & had to reach out to stranger or other travel in my online community ! I booked a stay a gorgeous eco-friendly , boutique hotel close to the airport just in case a flight became available or they refunded me in time to get on a another one . I am neither here nor there about leaving Costa Rica as I have done this time of travel where I decide to stay or explore a country more or it’s surrounding counterparts or neighboring countries . When I arrived I was under the assumption that hotels.com had already taken out the amount as well as the incidentals fee from my digital card or Apple Pay prior to my arrival & came there with the purest intentions as this was my first time at the this kind of hotel & my time at the recommendation of an online travel friend Ebony that lovessss boutique hotels. On arrival the owner & I had what I assumed was pleasant banter until he realized I had no cash & my card was not charged , he did indeed at first try to help me by offering to try various input options in the card machine he had none of which were successful & my bank & cash app declined . I attached the charges & the reason states for its decline . I had an angry & frustrated back & forth with my ex & it led to me having a heated exchange with him as he said that I should give up my travel plans & get a flight home as too much has already happened for to stay in Costa Rica solo , unlike him , traveling with strangers , friends & or solo was nothing strange to me as I have been traveling since I was 9 as my parents both moved a lot . The owner said you need to be nice to get what you want so then I calmly explain to my ex what was going on ,what I needed & how he could help, the conversation ventured into our relationships, my leaving & my children which was kind of pointless because here I am 4 hrs later arguing & still no card , no cash & can’t use Apple Pay ! I decided to WALK to the airport & get money from the Cambio as they did indeed take digital cards as a form of payment or exchange . On arrival I met the sweetest guy from & had an exchange I sent him money via zelle & he goes to the Cambio & give me cash , in the event that it didn’t work I was prepared to call my family for cash via western union & if I did work I was going to give a room at the same hotel for the same price a place to lay his head because like seriously , who wouldn’t want to after the day I had ! The transaction was successful & he agreed to go sleep at room of his at my expense . Eventually the agreed that Teagan could go alone or not at all as they didn’t believe my sincerity as someone willing to do that for strangers which is not news to me , I usually look for the good in ppl prior to being prejudiced ! Anyways …. Fast forward to a taxi bringing me back to the hotel the owner was happy to see me come back & was relieved that my “story” about my card was indeed true & took payment in form of cash & ushered me to my room for the night , room 8 ! Now being that am I in now a small , antiquated boutique hotel & understand how eco friendly & tiny places lie this are ran al of the following events I allowed to happen to myself my sweeping under a rug things & incidences I know better than to let get to a boiling point ! Now at first glance this is truly not a place I would have willingly booked as I as love luxury & everything it entails ! I love a lush bed , a king size or suite room & or mansion or villa stays as seen in my previous trips in the pass 5 years but I say it’s late it’s 2am & I decided to just chalk it up to stuff just happens , now everything I am about to tell you is true & proof is provided both video & Audio . My first night was the most uncomfortable sleep I had ! Being on my feet all day carrying all of my multiple luggage & being vigilant while being solo had already taken a toll on my body , my mental state & of course my physical anguish while pretending to be ok & not drawing any attention to myself as a now broke off solo traveler . The bed was hard , I still laid down , the pipe of the sink was broken & the room got flooded , I just put towels down , my toilet was corked I just fixed it & last my temperature situation was terrible so ideally it made sense to open the window as well as alll the curtains to make my self as comfortable as I can for 1 nights rest , I woke up late after falling asleep at 5am to realize I was granted an exchange for a seat I gave up in bidding on American Airlines for $525 & then the 2nd leg from nyc to Miami for $1125 . Boy, was I happy ! I came out of my room to have breakfast & the assumed sweetest Persian man much like my grandpa greeted me with free breakfast which now I know wasn’t free but included in the stay that I PAID for hours before we shared stories of travel & compared notes of things we had done & places we had BOTH been , he did mention my attachment to my phone & that it worried him but who cares right I run 4 stores , 1 legal advice column & now travel ambassador so I certainly wasn’t going to let the opinion of a man I didn’t know change that & I continued to blog & vlog my every move as without it 2 things would happen, I would go broke abroad not being able to sell any of my items on my online store & also I would lost touch with my family & friends who were ever so happy to know that I was okay & checking in every single day ! After days of 2 new cancelled & postponed flights I paid for another night in cash $80 to be exactly from the prior cash I asked Teagan to takeout , $122 for a new Volaris flight plus luggage $45 checked & $18 carry on with a total of $185 being deducted With the remaining $400 , I bought various copious amount of food $59 travelled back & forth to the airport $50 purchased $40 & another night at the hotel for $80 , which let me with exactly $102 in cash usd & colones combined ! The next day the owner suggested I go to the airport early with the suitcase he convinced me to buy & was tipped accordingly to his Honduras housekeeper Kenya & her daughter Pamela which as you guys have seen are the sweetest little thing , he continued to express that he helps her because she’s poor & lives & takes care of her multiple brother & sisters , her 2 children 8 & 6 without a father , you know I have a soft spot for that so I paid $40 to her baby girl Pamelita as he so often called her meaning my dear Pamela ! Now that I am at the airport I am told I can not fly with the suitcase AFTER PAYING $45 for the checked luggage & $18 got my carry on & $40 tip for the suitcase I called Henri & informed him & he said come back to the hotel , I stay one free night & I can continue my visit to unseen places in Costa Rica which was Puerto Viejo & Limon which the name implies lime , liming on the Caribbean side of this island , he said leave my stuff since I had so much pack one bag & go he’ll keep it in the safe as confirmed by myself that no one touched my stuff & Kenya had returned multiple things I PURPOSELY LEFT OUT OF AROUND . It’s now June 25 & I am up at 4.30 again as my sleep pattern was severely affected by time difference, jet lag & poor sleep in this place couple with my continued streaming online I woke 10 am to be told all I do is sleep & wake up & on my phone an entire day by a man that knows nothing about me but that I left the night before to go out eating & clubbing with friend …… he was more angry at he fact that I asked him to opened the multiple gates to I could leave & leave them unsecured for 2 hrs so I can back & lock them be able to get in the house at night ! Everything went downhill from there as calling me lazy , ugly , ignorant & poor black girl didn’t sit right with me, I just simply walked off because what would be the point of getting upset or angry at an old man who just helped me out the night before the last with a place to lay my head after missing not one but 2 new flights plus the initial one in 3 days . I quickly realized that he was more upset at the fact that’s he’s been making advances at me & I declined & showing me inappropriate videos to myself & my friends about black women & sexual exploitation, which happened every day for those 3 days & I called my friends so they would know what was going on (without alerting him or Yall but I’m sure we all heard him) & be updated just in case something happened to me , I also informed my mom who did speak to the owner in Spanish & was coaxing my kids to speak to Pamela & her brother Paul in espanol ….. all of a sudden after waiting 3 hours for 5000 I asked him if I can go to the airport now & get the money & goes off one me where are you going now , what’s with all the multiple plans of going to puerto viejo , where are you going to sleep , who are you going with ! Yeah after that all hell broke lose because I am a grown woman , with parents & grand parents & great grandparents & most importantly I have children with someone who has NEVER ever ever spoken to me in that manner , I said “honestly it doesn’t matter here I sleep as long as it’s not here “ & “you are not my father “ who tell me to say that , he now attempts to physically throw my things out of the hotel that he already knows is expensive & in abundance & threatens to call the police for non payment of hotel as I can’t prove because I paid cash for 2 nights & that he allowed me to stay the 3rd free of charge until I started hanging out with girls & guys I met there . Baby , he pretends to call the police & threatened to have me arrested ! Have you met me ? He just threatened me with a good time on camera in the online presence of my mother & didn’t even know , everything that happen leading up to this I let him have it ! You know what the first racist thing come out his mouth black girl with pink inside & boobs outside disrespected his conservative hotel . Aye me ? Me , who has him on camera & unintentional Audio saying he wants to keep & planned to since he met me ? I joked about staying the the country and marrying a Costa Rica man & building a house multiple times with my friends & online & clearly he didn’t get I saw him not only as an elder but as my grandpa & that energy was not directed to him but in fun …… he wasn’t a Costa Rican he’s Persian/Iranian , how am building a house with & marrying you when you already have one & not my taste or type . I then had no other choice than for my solo experience from Thailand & Asia by extension to kick & did 4 things , call my kids dad , called my mom & called tourist & hotels all in which I explained my ordeal begging to end as well as basically give brief update on my current situation . Police is here both of them tourist & local & now he’s made to feel stupid after calling me stupid , Costa Rican do NOT like arguing nor do the like loud offensive noise which we all know I could get so he uses the video footage from our encounter before to say I am loud , aggressive & paid him with fake money ….. I.e my money hack keeping real money with fake money so I don’t get all lost or stolen …….. they believe him until I pull up all the footage & text messages & onlne recording , they also spoke to my mom & confirmed my story ! Though this is not the worst thing that has happened while traveling around the world nor on the very trip since I’ve been in Costa Rica it had to be the most UNEXPECTED , which is why from jump I always say no matter where you are who you with protect yourself at all cost , if that means getting a concealed weapon or a taser get one to protect yourself , pay insurance to protect your tickets , body & accidents , get a portable chargers & go live everyday whether one person or a million watches ! These tips will save your life ! Thanks for coming to my Ted talk !
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from H Casa Antigua, Owner at Hotel Casa Antigua
Responded 28 Jun 2021
Any person reed your comment for sure they realize who you are having a mental issue! Sorry ! we offer you all the help we could, and we provide you room food drinks and everything else that you ask for, Ride to the Airport ! one day stay free of charge ! , because you told us you miss your flight for the 3rd times! of course you can NOT travel with fake documents and fake $$ BILLES and fake Covid test ! when you travel you must have a valid passport and credit card not with$ 100 FAKE BILLS!! you stay with us for 3 nights and only pay 2 nights and you come and ask for CASH advance from us ! and when we refuse helping you with cash you got upset and rude !! we had no choose to call the POLICE to ask you to leave our Hotel , check out time is 11 am ,when police ask you to leave was 8pm !! just to advice you the food you had at the Japanese restaurant and your did not PAY ! also is on your POLICE records WE ALSO HAVE THE THE VIDEO OF YOUR RUDE AND DISRESPETFUL ACTION also A copy of video has been taking by the police dep and tourist police for the report of NOT paying your bill at the restaurant and Hotel casa Antigua.!! and carrying FAKE BILLS ! you ARE NOT Allowed in our HOTEL and they might advice you at the Airport that you are not ALLOWED to return to COST RICA , if they do not arrest you at the Airport . you should seek for help with professional for mental help issue ,
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$88 - US$100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of AlajuelaAlajuela
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Casa Antigua
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Casa Antigua?
Nearby attractions include Britt Coffee Tour (7.5 km), Multiplaza (7.8 km), and Our Lady of the Pillar Cathedral (3.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Casa Antigua?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Casa Antigua?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Casa Antigua?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Casa Antigua?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ragu, Taj Mahal - An Ethnic Indian Restaurant, and Taj Mahal Heredia.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Casa Antigua?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Casa Antigua?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Casa Antigua?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Teatro Nacional Costa Rica (14.4 km) and Chepeteando/ San José a pie (14.3 km).