We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Springs Resort and Spa

Travellers' Choice award winner
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$384*
US$362*
US$384*
US$384*
US$362*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
Panoramas (36)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,327 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Springs Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,136: English reviews
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 15 January 2015

We'd been conducting training in San Jose when, for an end-of-week treat, the group headed to Arenal for some local colour and atmosphere. A few headed of into the clouds to try and see the volcano proper; the more sensible of us parked in the spa for the afternoon and felt no pain at all. A wonderful variety of temperatures,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mick W
Melanie M, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mick W, Thank you for choosing to spend your weekend retreat with us at The Springs Resort and Spa. Our resort is the perfect place to relax as we have over 20 hot spring pools, 5 bars, 5 restaurants, and a full service spa ready to cater to your needs after a long week! I hope that the rest...

Reviewed 15 January 2015

We were soo excited about staying here! When you pull up its a show stopper for sure! Its gorgeous , but the food was terrible, expensive and not up to par with a 5 star resort. We had 2 bathrooms in our room one the shower was broken and never fixed. The housekeeping was great, but other than that staff...

 Report
Helpful?
13Thank Markonewton
Melanie M, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Markonewton, I would like to begin by thanking you for your recent stay with us. That being said, I truly apologize that your stay was anything but perfect. Our management team has been made aware of your situation and are taking your comments very seriously. I can assure you that your situation was out of the ordinary and not...

Reviewed 14 January 2015

My husband and I spent 3 nights in the Arenal Volcano area at the Lost Iguana Resort and did the Multi-Adventure package at The Springs Resort for $99/person. I can't say enough about how lovely both of these resorts were! The weather was a little misty and rainforest-like which was actually kind of magical. Even if you don't stay at...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank aaspencer85
Melanie M, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear aaspencer85, Thank you for your recent review of our resort. I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the many amenities we offer at our resort, including our Club Rio Outdoor Center. As you stated, the multi-adventure package is a great option for those not staying at the resort but want to come see what we...

Pittsburgh
Reviewed 10 January 2015

we had an amazing experience at the springs. we stayed here with our two boys (4 and 8). the springs are luxurious and relaxing. my kids had a great time relaxing at all the different pools. we were there for 6 nights and there are so many different pools we didn't even get to try all of them. club rio...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank achaudry
Melanie M, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear achaudry, Our goal is to provide each and everyone of our guests with a unforgettable experience, and I am thrilled to hear that we met our goal with you. Our outdoor center, Club Rio, is very special to us and I am happy you enjoyed the tours we offer. That being said, I am disappointed to know that you...

Doylestown, Ohio
Reviewed 9 January 2015

The Springs is an expertly designed and attended full service 5 star resort property in the heart of Volcano land with spectacular panoramic views of active volcano Arenal. The enormous property is a North American owned resort along with La Paz waterfall gardens and reflects many details of luxury hotels found in the United States. Incredible gardens and sculpted pools...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Capt_of_Adventure
Melanie M, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear CostaricaMe, Your feedback is very important to us and we greatly appreciate you taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We put a lot of time and effort into making sure all of the details of our resort are perfect for our guests, and I am happy to see that you were able to see this hard...

Charleston
Reviewed 8 January 2015

Wow. This is an amazing resort. We divided our time between 5 days here and 5 days on the Pacific coast. Although, we wish we had spent all 10 days here! It is a long drive from either airport. So, that is a consideration when planning your trip. I had initially made the mistake of getting a later flight into...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CharlestonJellie
Melanie M, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear CharlestonJellie, Thank you for your glowing review. It is always a pleasure to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. The Villa Calatea is one of our favorite places on property, especially because of the location directly in front of Perdido's Springs! The monkey slide is lots of fun for kids as well as adults....

Rockville, Maryland
Reviewed 8 January 2015

We booked a 3 BR suite but were given a 2 BR suite plus a regular room next to it with no explanation, no apology, and no accommodation for their error. We are lucky that our children are old enough to be in the suite without us! The regular room didn't even have a balcony so we were pretty disappointed....

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank LBJackson2014
Melanie M, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear LBJackson2014, Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We truly appreciate your feedback as we are continually working to improve our services and create new experiences for all of our guests. I would like to start by apologizing about your troubles as I believe this was the cause of a miscommunication. Our ownership and management team...

Reviewed 7 January 2015

We stayed in one of the Oropendola rooms for a few days this January and it was amazing! The room was two levels and beautiful with a huge downstairs bathroom! The upstairs room was more open and spacious. Both were beautiful and the balconies were so amazing with their hammocks and rocking chairs! The landscaping was beautiful and reflected the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Wesley W
Melanie M, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Wesley W, Thank you for posting such a complimentary review of our property. Our staff works very hard to make sure all of our guests are well taken care of throughout their stay. I will be sure to thank our concierge for a job well done in regards to your tours. All of our drivers are very experienced and...

Millburn, New Jersey
Reviewed 7 January 2015

My family of five (20, 15 , 15 yrs) stayed here recently over New Years for 3 nights. Our room was the Family Suite and comfortably fit all of us in the two story suite; upstairs had a king bed and two single beds with its own bathroom. The master bath was very large and had a Jacuzzi. The balcony...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Steven W
Melanie M, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear terminator61, It is always a pleasure to hear from our family travelers, and I want to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I hope you were able to enjoy your New Years here and will be back for future holidays. Club Rio is a truly unique place with so much to offer. I am...

Elk City, Oklahoma
Reviewed 7 January 2015 via mobile

Lovely stay at the springs ... We had 3 people staying in the room and the roll away was oversized and comfortable... The room looked right out on arenal volcano ....the pools were delightful but the best ones were the hidden springs with a water slide ! The food was nothing remarkable and overpriced .. The little restaurant down by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank slala
Melanie M, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Slala, Your feedback is greatly appreciated. I am thrilled to see that you were able to enjoy your stay with us, and I hope that we will see you back with us soon. Our rooms are oversized for the purpose of accommodating guests in the most comfortable manner possible. The view of the volcano along with the buzzing of...

2,870 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2067)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (151)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (433)
Viewed
View from Room (192)
Viewed
Room/Suite (263)
Viewed
Dining (97)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (60)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (835)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (697)
Viewed
Amenities (172)
Viewed
Other (350)
Viewed
Dining (104)
Viewed
Standard Room (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (106)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arenal Volcano National Park hotels
1.8 km away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,198 reviews
2.0 km away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,341 reviews
3.9 km away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,789 reviews
1.9 km away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
741 reviews
2.2 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A World Class Luxury Resort featuring Spectacular Hot Springs, Picture Perfect Views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and Four Restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 28 mineral laden, artesian Hot Springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. All of our amenities make The Springs Luxury Resort & Spa a great destination for Costa Rica vacations, weddings, or a honeymoon. Our 27,000 square feet of event, convention and meeting space have also made us the leading Costa Rica conference hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: | 9 Km Oeste y km 4 Norte del centro de la Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park
Price Range: $474 - $1,220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#3 Family Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#3 Luxury Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#5 Spa Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Springs Resort and Spa staff and other travellers.
87 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (87)

Questions? Get answers from The Springs Resort and Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Volcano view”
TravelGirl11238, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“all rooms are different so review the pics they offer to determine what type of room you want, they also have private villas”
greeneyes624us, 10 May 2017 | Read review
“Most rooms have a volcano view, there is a bit of walking back and forth to the main building for meals, spa, pool and hot springs, etc.”
gaosborn54, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“Room 203 is great for families of five.”
WestonDad, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Acari building was maybe 200 meters from main building but worth the walk. Volcano views were amazing”
andreabR9176JA, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$362* /night
View Deal
Bookit.comUS$384
TravelocityUS$362
Expedia.comUS$362
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates