We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lost Iguana Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,432 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Lost Iguana Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,386: English reviews
Savannah, GA
Reviewed 7 February 2012

This place was perfect for us. The setting was so very tropical in a natural way, not contrived at all. The rooms, grounds and common areas were all just what we were looking for. We stayed for 3 nights and ate every meal here. The food was good and reasonbly priced. Since we partook in the afternoon happy hour 2...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tortue1
Rockville, Maryland
Reviewed 6 February 2012

To make a long story short, we both were extremely disappointed with our stay, price / value by no means is balanced. We did arrive somewhat late, around 9pm, the check you could not call welcoming, the bell boy service to the Room was nothing special with out any friendliness at all. The room was equipped with the minimum, and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank GlobetroterAmericas
Rocio V, Owner at Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Considering you have been to 311 destinations in 5 years, with all your experience I am sorry you were not happy at the hotel. I feel it would have been a fair review if you had mentioned you also stayed at Kioro in Arenal and wrote the same review for them. I will be happy to offer you compensation, but...

Indiana, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Just Returned on February 4th from Costa Rica. We traveled with 3 other couples (8 Total) Three Couples had second story rooms and my wife and I had a first floor room #5. All rooms have a wonderful view of the Volcano which has not seen a lava flow for 8 months. Fist it is not a place to go...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jeffsmead
Reviewed 3 February 2012

If you have ever dreamed of living in a rainforest amongst the monkeys, parrots and toucans, this is the place!  We reserved 3 nights and ended up staying another 3 nights instead of going to the coast.  The Lost Iguana gives the guest a true view of both a rainforest and the great beauty of Costa Rica.  We passed all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ijacobs2
New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Wonderful grounds - wished we could've stayed longer but there was so much to do in the area we didn't get a chance too...staff was great ..room perfect with jaccuzzi on terrace ...was like living in the rainforest - saw toucans and hummingbirds at breakfast - only negative was that if you booked excursions from reception it was much more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shira G
Rocio V, Owner at Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Hi Shira, Thank you for your nice comments. We should be charging the same as the tours charge. In some cases we even give discounted rates. Will you please let me know which tours were cheaper if you went direct? We need to check and see if they dropped their prices. We have never attempted to charge more than if...

colorado
Reviewed 27 January 2012

This would be a wonderful getaway anytime; the location and surroundings are gorgeous. Room spacious, nice patio with rocking chairs and volcano view (spectacular even though not erupting; ground level room is like looking into the jungle, with hummingbirds flitting about), pleasant pool/hot tub, terrific breakfast (included) with toucans. Found my keycard holder, and discovered that it is embedded with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sylvia4
Destin, Florida
Reviewed 24 January 2012

The resort is absolutely beautiful, with an amazing location The rooms are very large, and beautifully appointed. it's a blast! We'll definitely be back!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cesar M
San Francisco
Reviewed 23 January 2012

My husband and I stayed four-nights at Lost Iguana Resort in a superior room on the ground floor. Because we had a ground floor room, we got an outdoor shower, which was pretty cool. We also enjoyed our jacuzzi on our balcony and enjoyed soaking in there while listening to the sounds of the tropics. Some things we enjoyed: Hiking...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Carol N
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I loved staying at the Lost Iquana with my daughter. The rooms were spotless and unique. Beautiful carvings and bright colors. The view from the patio was out of a dream. It was so breath taking of the volcano and the lush rain forest. I took many photos from the deck and they turned about amazing. The stay there was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeannefitness
Nyack, New York
Reviewed 22 January 2012

If they can improve on the service and the food, this place will find it's true value in this magnificent location. The resort does not do justice to the beautiful location surrounding it. But, you are in Arenal and the food and cleanliness is not your priority- is it now?

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ilanaki

1,713 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1298)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (236)
Viewed
View from Room (183)
Viewed
Room/Suite (295)
Viewed
Bathroom (49)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (76)
Viewed
Dining (81)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
0:47
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (364)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (407)
Viewed
Amenities (107)
Viewed
Condo (65)
Viewed
Pool (20)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Standard Room (37)
Viewed
Suite (50)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)
Viewed
Villa (83)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arenal Volcano National Park hotels
3.6 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,720 reviews
3.1 km away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,124 reviews
2.4 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#5 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,271 reviews
4.9 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,334 reviews
3.0 km away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Lost Iguana Resort is Arenal's newest hotel, offering luxury accommodations in the rain forest The resort's 100 acre property overlooks the world's most active volcano, Arenal Volcano located near La Fortuna, Costa Rica. A premiere, upscale retreat nestled gently in the jungle, the Lost Iguana Resort only offers rooms with large private balconies overlooking the Arenal Volcano and Arenal River Gorge. All rooms are spacious and well appointed with first-class furnishings, artwork and full amenities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lost Iguana Resort & Spa

Address: 1.5 km North of Arenal dam, Arenal Volcano National Park A2004, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park
Price Range: $262 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lost Iguana Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Lost Iguana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lost Iguana Resort And Spa
Lost Iguana Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Lost Iguana
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#9 Family Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#10 Spa Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#10 Romantic Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lost Iguana Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
35 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (35)

Questions? Get answers from Lost Iguana Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms have a view of the volcano.”
 of 5 bubbles ShekinahG, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Buildings are two story, but on lower floor we were distracted by footfalls in the room above us.”
 of 5 bubbles Ida257, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Definitely go for the luxury suite with balcony, fabulous room with amazing views!”
 of 5 bubbles Car0lcat, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms offer great views, but we prefer the second floor rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 5VacationLuvR7, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms are farther from restaurant and a little bit of a hike so beware for those in need of assistance moving around.”
 of 5 bubbles dnreddy00, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5