We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Main Blvd, Playas del Coco 50503 Costa Rica
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$109
View deal
Booking.comUS$109
Hotels.comUS$109
TravelocityUS$109
PricelineUS$109
TripadvisorUS$109
StayForLong
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (91)
360
Panoramas (4)
Room & Suite (94)

About

#8 of 18 hotels in Playas del Coco
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
LOCATION, LOCATION. LOCATION. This hotel is in the middle of all the action. No car needed as the restaurants, gift shops, night clubs and the beach are all right here. New management took over in December 2018 and have been making improvements every day. We eliminated the noisy pool and restaurant at the request of many past customers and replaced them with an agreement with Café Playa Beach Club. Our guests are encouraged to use the beach club which has an almost private beach, pool, bar and restaurant. It is a very short taxi ride or a healthy walk to the beach club. We are located 300 meters from Coco Beach which is more public but still very nice. Included in our hotel is a small casino to try your luck. Of course we have wi-fi (if you have time to use it), an ice cream shop and a tour company are located on either side of our entrance. Across the street is our restaurant, Hot Wok, featuring what many say is the finest Asian food in all of Guanacaste province.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Outdoor pool
Free breakfast
Casino and Gambling
Diving
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Snack bar
Snorkelling
Fishing
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
342Reviews17Q+A78Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 60
  • 126
  • 83
  • 33
  • 40
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Tommy Brotherston wrote a review Jun 2022
Toronto, Canada6 contributions2 helpful votes
A three star Hotel but a five star service. This was our fourth visit to the Coco Beach hotel and the new owners are absolutely the cleanest hosts ever . it is right in the center of downtown Coco Beach and the price is vert reasonable. we hope to be back again in 2023.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Monica D wrote a review Mar 2022
5 contributions
My stay at Coco Beach hotel was great. The included Costa Rican breakfast was perfect, and the room's amenities were exactly what I needed them to be. I was a solo traveler and I felt safe enough hidden from the street but close enough to walk anywhere. Ruth at the front desk was so kind and helped me arrange a taxi to my next destination. She really helped me feel safe and taken care of. Would recommend if anyone needs a close place to crash in playa Coco.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Perla Dion, Owner at Coco Beach Hotel and Casino
Responded 27 Mar 2022
Thank you and we appreciate it when a guest enjoys their stay. It makes all our hard work worth it. We have recently had some negative reports which we suspect is sent by a competitor.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
helen s wrote a review Mar 2022
Salt Lake City, Utah10 contributions4 helpful votes
This is more of a restaurant & bar with rooms attached. Not the highest quality but people are nice. Very loud music - when we were trying to sleep, it was pretty much impossible to sleep. If you are looking for a 4 star or higher id NOT recommend this hotel. If you are young and want a party atmosphere then this is your place.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Perla Dion, Owner at Coco Beach Hotel and Casino
Responded 27 Mar 2022
Yes we agree wit the loud music from night clubs in the area. That is being handled by the municipality who says that noise (loud music) is to shut off at 10PM. We are a casino and restaurant as well as a hotel which means everything is close.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Luis P wrote a review Nov 2021
8 contributions8 helpful votes
swimming pool not available at location and only with prior reservation in the place where the hotel has the agreement and the big swimming pool closed at all times. and even if you make the reservation is not as simple as go because you have a timeframe that it is almost impossible to enjoy it. room is poorly illuminated because it has no light bulb in the roof it only has one lamp next to the door and the one in the bathroom and in the small place for closet. it was not clean either, it had hair in the bathroom and the place was rented for 3 persons and only 2 towels and took almost a complete day to get the additional towel. the parking lot they say they have it is not available until after night time according to the receptionist and it was later than 11pm and no available yet because they had to do other activities there that made unavailable the parking lot and you must have to park in the street. the restaurant is awful, the waitress takes the plates with the hands inside the plate with no other instrument and almost touching the food. even though the breaksfast is included you have not even the availability to order - the waiters always assumed we wanted all the breakfast when I didn’t want the breakfast just the bread for example and they always fill the plate with all the breakfast includes - but again the do not ask for your opinion. the outside restrooms (the ones available for all) it was always closed and no toilet paper. casino poorly attended - I got in and the dealers not even moved and continue playing in their cellphones with no willingness to even ask what you wanted to play or even saying hello. it is really the only the location I can say it is closed to the beach but i will rather stay far from here than choosing this stay again
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Avoid thinking you can enjoy the pool at all times Avoid thinking you have a inside parking...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Perla Dion, Owner at Coco Beach Hotel and Casino
Responded 27 Mar 2022
Wow and this person was supposed to be enjoying a vacation. Was anything right?
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stephanie H wrote a review Nov 2021
14 contributions3 helpful votes
We were walk-ins, before we booked we requested to view a room. We were shown a modest room with a fridge and wifi, we agreed to book. The room we were given had neither a fridge or wifi. When I asked about the difference he just shrugged. It was willful deception, but they already had our cash and weren't going to give it back, oh well whatever we weren't going to fight about it. The toilet was clogged upon check-in, someone came up to clear it and that's when we were told USED TOILET PAPER has to be placed in a bin in the bathroom and not in the toilet. Pretty gross. This is common in some areas of the country but not what we'd expect for the price they charged. If the plumbing issue, the lack of refrigeration, absence of WIFI were disclosed when we inquired we wouldn't have agreed to stay. They charged us 3x the going rate for accommodations of this caliber.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Perla Dion, Owner at Coco Beach Hotel and Casino
Responded 27 Mar 2022
Not true, we are one of the best priced hotels in the area. All you have to do is check Booking or Expedia and you will see. With regard to used toilet paper that is correct. All hotels, restaurants do the same thing as the septic tanks in Central and South America do not process toilet paper and putting them in the toilet causes stoppages. Half of our rooms have fridges and all have wi-fi. All you have to do is ask.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ggt347 wrote a review May 2021
Bayside, New York110 contributions35 helpful votes
although hotel is little old and blemishes .but is clean and good price plus good location on the strip. supermarket accross the street .hosp just blocks away. next to many restaurants and shops on the strip.Safe in the room but they dont provide water but no big deal
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Perla Dion, Owner at Coco Beach Hotel and Casino
Responded 27 Mar 2022
This response is truthful and we thank you for that.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Luis Enrique wrote a review Feb 2021
2 contributions
I stayed in this hotel for a job interview, need it a good night sleep and convenient location close to the beach so I booked one night , the rooms are clean and comfortable . But the big asset of this hotel is there people specially Ale on the reception she will help and go out of her way to help people Recommend the price also wasn’t to bad
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Perla Dion, Owner at Coco Beach Hotel and Casino
Responded 27 Mar 2022
Thank you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stephen J wrote a review Feb 2020
Doha, Qatar27 contributions10 helpful votes
Checked in on Expedia and found this hotel. Very small room with few plug ins and very low quality pillows. The bed was too small for two people and the the bed springs were ‘shot’ While we did receive two more so called pillows they were of the same very used condition. I would pay no more then 40 dollars for this room.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Look before you purchase. Don’t prepay. Ask to look at the larger room etc.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from daviddR3194RY, General Manager at Coco Beach Hotel and Casino
Responded 3 Mar 2020
This is the first time we have ever had a comment about the beds being "very poor". We always hear how nice the bed are, so i am not sure what Stephen is talking about nor do I propose to change anything.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sheila W wrote a review Feb 2020
San Francisco, California34 contributions3 helpful votes
Workers are excellent. All of them are extremely nice and very friendly. From the kitchen lady that cooks breakfast everyday to the housekeeping, the gardeners or maintenance people and the friendly lady at perlas boutique and the receptionists. They keep the place clean and I give them thumbs up for sure. I wouldn’t stay anywhere else but here and also they have a beach club that you can go to all day and they allow u to used the golf cart if it’s available and when it’s not, they will call a cab to bring you there in their expense. The beach club is nice too and they have 2 but we only went to 1 beach club
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from daviddR3194RY, General Manager at Coco Beach Hotel and Casino
Responded 13 Feb 2020
Thank you Sheila.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karma wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
The pictures are old, the property looks much different. There is no swimming pool on the property and there is loud music "blasting" from a bar across the street. The owner's are very dishonest,they don't care about people in general.They are greedy and will take advantage of you just to get your money.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$89 - US$113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
coco beach hotel playas del coco
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Coco Verde Hotel, Spa and Casino
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of GuanacastePlayas del Coco
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

COCO BEACH HOTEL AND CASINO: UPDATED 2022 Reviews, Price Comparison and 209 Photos (Playas del Coco, Costa Rica) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Coco Beach Hotel and Casino
Which popular attractions are close to Coco Beach Hotel and Casino?
Nearby attractions include Playas del coco (0.3 km), Cata Chocolate (0.2 km), and Rojas Bros Boruca Indigenous Arts (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Coco Beach Hotel and Casino?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a casino.
What food & drink options are available at Coco Beach Hotel and Casino?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Coco Beach Hotel and Casino?
Yes, free public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Coco Beach Hotel and Casino?
Conveniently located restaurants include Guayoyo Coffee House, Numu Taproom & Bistro By Chef Nicolas Devenelle, and Johann.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Coco Beach Hotel and Casino?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Is Coco Beach Hotel and Casino located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.07 km away from the centre of Playas del Coco.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Coco Beach Hotel and Casino?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.