We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Palm Beach Estates, Playa Grande 011 Costa Rica
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$60
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$60
View deal
Vio.com
US$60
View deal
Agoda.comUS$60
eDreamsUS$60
StayForLong
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (67)
Room & Suite (18)
Pool & Beach (7)

About

#3 of 8 Specialty lodging in Playa Grande
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Playa Grande Surf Camp is located only footsteps from one of the best beach breaks in all of Costa Rica. This beautiful beach is perfect for surfers of all levels and all types of boards. We offer private cabinas with AC and pilotis without AC with shared bathrooms in the Hostel style at budget prices. As well as a 2 Bedroom Apartment with private bathroom for a little more privacy. Surf packages and surf lessons are available. Amenities include a pool, kitchen, and BBQ, PGSC offers the perfect mix of relaxation and fun.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Happy hour
Beach
Diving
Children's playground
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Outdoor dining area
Horseback riding
Water sport equipment rentals
Board games / puzzles
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Outdoor furniture
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Oven
Stovetop
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, German
122Reviews9Q+A6Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 91
  • 20
  • 4
  • 2
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Chris I wrote a review Jun 2022
Etobicoke, Canada23 contributions14 helpful votes
The A-frame cabanas are exactly as pictured; very small, very clean, very simple, with very powerful & well-working AC. Exactly what we needed & wanted, no more, no less, at a fair price. To our delight and slight surprise, mattresses are very comfy, despite being very simple. And we are a bit picky with mattresses! Board rentals were easy & fast, with decent but small selection. Best of all, they were ready to help us rent from nearby Mato’s Surf Shop if we couldn’t find the right board w them. They really want guests to enjoy, not be stuck there, taking as much money from them as they can! They’re also helpful with local resto recommendations, tour & travel info, etc. We found the washrooms and all common areas always very clean. It seemed cleaners were in 1-2 x / day. Dawn, the GM was *exceptionally* helpful and friendly, as was everyone else. The vibe here was *amazing*, and we met new friends who we are in touch w to this day, hoping our paths cross again in the future. M & T: We miss you! Café Mar Azul, the resto attached, was one of the best restos we would find in all of Costa Rica over the next 2 weeks. It’s fantastic. The seared tuna, the fresh sea bass, and the ceviche are all some of the best we had in CR, and we ate at some very nice spots. It’s so luxurious being able to just pop in 5 – 10 meters from your cabana for a spectacular, reasonable priced dinner, and then go jump in the pool. Important: PGSC ***is a hostel, not a hotel***. This is *spectacularly* well done by PGSC, intentionally. The communal, social vibe, chill atmosphere, shared showers, shared central pool & kitchen, rental boards, etc, are part of what attracts travellers like us! If you’re unfamiliar with hostel travel / don’t dig this vibe / want a ‘check in, check out, staff never know your name’ type hotel, you might be happier elsewhere. [You can also keep to yourself, in your room, read quietly by the pool, etc, if you prefer, but it’s not the focus.] The very few legit negative reviews we saw are from people who just don’t dig hostels, which isn’t really fair to PGSC…or to yourself! : ) The break is about a 5-7 min walk from PGSC. Down the road about 2-3 mins, then along the beach. PGSC crew: ***Thank you*** !!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Eli B wrote a review Jan 2022
2 contributions
Such a welcoming, homely hostel. Staying at the Playa Grande Surf Camp was such a fab experience. Clean; helpful staff; good coffee; comfy bunk room; and great surf boards! Had an amazing time staying here. I will return!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jesse g wrote a review Mar 2021
Brainerd, Minnesota10 contributions
+1
My original plans for Costa Rica fell apart so I found myself solo traveling. I have never done that before, but was looking for something of value and off the beaten path. Playa Grande is at the end of the road. Tamarindo is a short walk and a water taxi away. It will cost you $1-$2 depending upon the boat. Tamarindo is busier if that is what you want. Anyway. Dawn and everybody there made me feel like family. All the staff was very awesome! I have read some of the other reviews. I assure you, they get back to you promptly and the place is cleaned every day. They went out of their way to make sure I was aware of what was going on so I did not miss out. Victor runs a great restaurant attached to this place called Cafe Mar Azul. Food is great. And then the surfing. My only goal on this trip was to learn to surf. Not sure I would call myself a surfer, but Vidi got me standing up on my first wave and then some over next few days. The guy is awesome and and from what he tells me, a soccer star!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Miriam P wrote a review Feb 2021
5 contributions
We’ve had the opportunity to travel a bit and usually stay at top resorts. With our 5 kids we venture into a different kind of vacation and arrived at Playa Grande Surf Camp. Although it is more like a hostel experience we enjoyed it way more than a top resort. My kids felt safe and Dawn and the staff was genuinely kind and VERY serviceable. When we left we felt like we were leaving part of our family. It is clean and very enjoyable. Steps away from the beach 🏝. Will definitely stay there next time. Surfing lessons were super fun and all my kids ranging from 9-15 years learned it. Vidier has a great and easy way to make help you understand the moves. He was super fun to be with.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Maria J wrote a review Oct 2020
Tilaran, Costa Rica3 contributions1 helpful vote
A 30 second walk to the beach, comfortable rooms with A/C, a spacious outdoor cooking area that's fully stocked with pots, pans, dishware, and silverware. We saw so much wildlife while we stayed here - highly recommend it! My favorite part of staying here was listening to the waves crash on the beach. Bliss!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Jamesdaley1234 wrote a review Feb 2020
New Haven, Connecticut14 contributions3 helpful votes
This place is nestled right down the road from the beach (which is great as you don't have to walk far with your board). It's got a nice little hostel/hotel vibe with separate little cabinas surrounding a pool/outdoor living area. I didn't stay here but I used the shop to rent boards/get lessons. The prices are decent - $20board/day or $40 for a 3 hr lesson including a full day board rental. You could get cheaper. in town but not as close to the beach. I cannot recommend the lessons enough. The surf instructor Viddy is phenomenal! He's from the area and knows everything about the waves and the local haps. It's sooo worth going out with him (as opposed to just renting a board). Even if you think you're good, do it. This guy is a surfing whizz and a great teacher. I really improved over the week I spent in palm beach estates and it's all due to him. He has this uncanny knack to find the perfect spot for the biggest/awesomest waves so you just get great run after great run. Not to mention he provides a little security as well for the amateur (or even experienced) solo surfer. I was the only one in my group who surfed and it was nice having him there. I'm an ER doctor and can't help think of the small (but real) possibility of getting smacked in the head by my own board and Viddy is like a fish - he'd have you on the beach and back at the bar in two mins.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PGSC, Manager at Playa Grande Surf Camp
Responded 13 Feb 2020
Thank you so much James for your outstanding review! :) It was a pleasure to have you here and to have you surfing with us! We will see you hopefully next year! :) Have a good one! Alina
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anabelle Dubois wrote a review Jan 2020
5 contributions
On my third night got harassed by member of staff and friend. Then only to realize that me bedroom door lock was broken. What type of hotel dont offer bedrooms that lock? Asked management to fix but request was ignored for three days before putting a very cheap lock on it. And why Playa Grande Surf Camp will accept this type of behaviour ?? They dont care about women security. They dont care about guests. Spent two weeks not sleeping at night, being fearful. My vacations was ruined by fear. Women travelling alone dont go there its not safe. On a site note most disgusting fridges ever. I am glad to be asked to rewrite my review because i forgot another side note. They sell activities and one is called Wild Life Sanctuary Experience. In reality, this activity brings you to Diamante Eco Adventure Park's, a place that advertises exciting zip line, ATV tours, and horseback riding! What type of Sanctuary would sell Horseback riding?? Far from the atmosphere of a rescued animal sanctuary. Like a zoo, you will witness miserable caged animals and on top of it what they call the feeding of the sloth, where a poor sloth is brought out for a feeding, surrounded by gazillions of tourists taking pictures. So this is 95$ US for a zoo-like experience, not a sanctuary.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PGSC, Manager at Playa Grande Surf Camp
Responded 3 Feb 2020
Hello Anabelle, These are some harsh statements from your side which I do not agree with, therefore you will find some comments below. I would like to point out that during your whole stay (12 Nights) you never mentioned harassment. We are a small Hostel, managed and run by women who take the safety of all our guests serious. A few days into your stay you asked me to put an extra lock on your door. Which I followed up the very next day. As we verified together, in the talk we had when you asked me to put on a lock, I did not ignore the email you sent rather than not receive it as you used the wrong email address. Nor did you use the provided telephone number on which I am available 24h/ day in cases of emergencies which is noted down in every room on the information sheets. A really important statement on my staff. I am 100% certain that non of my staff members would try to enter a room or would harass another Person. We would not tolerance any behavior like this at all. As a women myself I understand that talking about any harassment is not easy, but I wished you would have told me in person via email or in a text in a more private space rather than write a bad review 3 weeks after your depature. In that way we could have work something out. For example refunding your stay so you could have moved to an other place where you would have felt more comfortable. Obviously it was not our wish to ruin your vacation. A quick side note to the fridge. We do have daily a cleaning lady coming in who takes care of all our shared bathrooms, the kitchen and the common area. She does a great job, in holding it clean but of course we will take this note to the heart and pay more attention to the fridges. The Tours we offer at our Hotel are through a tour operator who offers various tours for various tastes. I am sorry that you did not like this specific tour but we should not forget to mention that you did a few days later a tour with the same tour operator that you really enjoyed. We as the Surf Camp do not have any influence on these tours but of course we are always happy to hear constructive criticism so we can help guests find the tours they will like the best. Regards. Alina
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laplanteam wrote a review Jan 2020
Kingston, Canada17 contributions11 helpful votes
We stayed in the apartment for one night only, prior to our flight back home. I was surprised that there was no 'town' in Playa Grande - should have researched a bit better. But, for one night only (without transportation), it fit the bill. The restaurant on-site was good, room was basic but clean. Hammocks were lovely to sit in but pool could use a clean; we didn't see anyone swimming in it. They arranged transportation for us to/from and were very nice to chat with.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jillian D wrote a review Jan 2020
3 contributions
Love this place and the people! We visited Playa Grande last March and rented a home, but wanted to stay at the surf camp when we returned this year. It is camping, but we had AC and stayed in a cabana. There are 3 shared bathrooms, but they kept them VERY clean, deep cleaning them everyday. They cleaned the outdoor kitchen daily as well, and the restaurant in front of the camp is our favorite! The beds could have been more comfortable, but overall very pleased! The staff set up our transportation to and from the airport, as well as our car and bike rentals for the week. They are incredibly nice and helpful! I fall in love with this town and the people in it more and more with each visit! I feel very safe here. Were just feet away from the pool, and beach access is just across the road.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PGSC, Manager at Playa Grande Surf Camp
Responded 8 Jan 2020
Thank you Jillian, for your kind review! It was a pleasure to have you here and we hope to see you back here again soon. Have a good one! Alina
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kelly L wrote a review Dec 2019
Syracuse, New York67 contributions37 helpful votes
We rented nice surf boards here for 3 kids. Rent for 7 days, pay for 6. They also have boogie boards, rash guards, t-shirts, hats, etc. Very nice people, casual and easy going. Located right at the beach access point.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from PGSC, Manager at Playa Grande Surf Camp
Responded 1 Jan 2020
Thank you for your kind review, Kelly! Glad you had such a great time here in Grande. Hope to see you back here at some point! Have a good one. Alina
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$62 - US$68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
playa grande surf camp hotel playa grande
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of GuanacastePlaya Grande
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PLAYA GRANDE SURF CAMP: UPDATED 2022 Inn Reviews, Price Comparison and 93 Photos (Costa Rica) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Playa Grande Surf Camp
Which popular attractions are close to Playa Grande Surf Camp?
Nearby attractions include Seven Cave Bar (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Playa Grande Surf Camp?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Playa Grande Surf Camp?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and an oven.
What food & drink options are available at Playa Grande Surf Camp?
Guests can enjoy an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Playa Grande Surf Camp?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Playa Grande Surf Camp?
Conveniently located restaurants include L'Estanco El Jardin Escondido, Cafe Mar Azul, and La Kitchen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Playa Grande Surf Camp?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Playa Grande Surf Camp have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Playa Grande Surf Camp offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Playa Grande Surf Camp have airport transportation?
Yes, Playa Grande Surf Camp offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Playa Grande Surf Camp?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and German.