We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

El Mono Loco

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
El Mono Loco
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 64: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

For the price, staying here was worth it. Not the most luxurious stay, but walking distance from town and worth the price. Owners were very nice and provided excellent service. If you are traveling on a budget with friends, staying here is a good choice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josh G
Verona, Italy
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Clean and very confortable. The personel is nice. Very close to the beach but out of the noisy village. You just need a fridge more for the guests. Is one of the last accomodations ... old style ..I come back again with my family.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mimmopalmieri
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A group of friends spent our New Years in Tamarindo and were lucky enough to find this place! The owners helped keep everything so clean and provide a delicious breakfast service. The location is right across the street from the beach and town. It's clean with an amazing pool and staff. I would recommend it to anyone and will definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TheTravelBug517
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I would definitely stay here again. Fantastic people. Very quaint. The owners work diligently to provide top notch service and truly deliver. The food was also great which is convenient considering they serve traditional food....not a bs continental breakfast. (It does cost though). However, very cheap for the quality!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank patbleeez
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For the price, this place is fantastic. Room was clean, large bed, private bathroom, pool at the facility (small, but refreshing), great breakfast available for purchase, friendly and accommodating staff, comfortable hammocks and a great location. No complaints with a four night stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John N
JoyceVP_45, Owner at El Mono Loco, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at El Mono Loco. Your review reflects our goal: a well priced, clean, comfortable, basic accommodation in an amazing location.

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed in this hotel with my mother for one night recently and we were very pleased with our choice. The location was perfect, away from the noise of the Tamarindo strip and with a gorgeous and private stretch of beach right across the road. There was a secure locked parking lot for the car. The main area was shaded...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Suzi R
JoyceVP_45, Owner at El Mono Loco, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! You are correct about living in the tropics; nature and beauty abounds.

Chilliwack, Canada
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed at El Mono Loco from Nov 14-29, 2016. We met the owner as she was heading out for her vacation 😊. Joyce allowed us to check in early...really early (7:30am). The motel is really in a prime location. It is a 4 minute walk from town, yes the road can be muddy but it is an easy walk...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sfergy333
JoyceVP_45, Owner at El Mono Loco, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at El Mono Loco and for choosing us for your lengthy stay in Tamarindo. I will pass your kind words on to Karla. She made a point to tell us how much she enjoyed hosting you both. So glad you were able to make use of the frig; since your...

Vancouver,
Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

If you're looking for luxury and all the extras, this isn't for you, but for the price, if you just need "home base" for your time in Tamarindo, it's hard to beat! Very inexpensive, rooms are pretty utilitarian, but the air conditioning, room fan, and hot shower all worked perfectly. Even breakfast is on theme, basic, but good, and very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave D
JoyceVP_45, Owner at El Mono Loco, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate you taking the time to write your review. You perfectly summed up our goal at El Mono Loco!

Reviewed 17 November 2016

El Mono Loco was exactly what we were looking for! A down to earth, comfortable beach vacation that didn't break the bank. The rooms are clean, comfortable, air conditioned, and have a private bathroom. This is a very basic hotel. What the hotel doesn't have in amenities it makes up for in hospitality. The owners and staff are super accommodating...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raquel R
JoyceVP_45, Owner at El Mono Loco, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you sharing your experiences for other travelers. At our price point we can not include many amenities, but we strive to provide a clean, comfortable room on a beautiful property with a fabulous location. And yes, breakfast is yummy ; )

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 14 November 2016

We booked two nights but after one night we just checked out. We have travelled a lot all over the world but that's the first time we did this. The hotel is very basic. Our bed was not clean - around the bedframe was so much dust it felt like haven't been cleaned for weeks. There are insects crawling in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PrisCal5g68d
JoyceVP_45, Owner at El Mono Loco, responded to this review

We are sorry our hotel was not a good match for you. You are correct; we are a basic, budget hotel and some travelers prefer more amenities. However, rooms are cleaned daily and deep cleaned regularly. In the tropics there are bugs; we caution guests to keep food in the frig to discourage uninvited visits. Regarding showers, our geyser heaters...

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.8 km away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.5 km away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 23 in Tamarindo
524 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas
0.7 km away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#8 of 23 in Tamarindo
2,261 reviews
0.9 km away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a small 12 room hotel located across the street from the beach and a short walk from town. Our basic, clean rooms can accommodate solo travelers, couples, families, and small groups. All rooms have private bathrooms with hot water, quiet A/C, ceiling fan. Community area offers a TV, free wi-fi, shared refrigerator, hammocks, and rocking chairs. We have a refreshing plunge pool and outdoor shower. Our on-site cafe offers breakfast daily for purchase. Free secure parking is available on site. ... more   less 

Additional Information about El Mono Loco

Address: Calle Cardinal | 450m South of Pacific Park, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Price Range: $70 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your El Mono Loco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Mono Loco Hotel Tamarindo
El Mono Loco Tamarindo
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tamarindo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from El Mono Loco staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from El Mono Loco staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Wifi intermittent in room, but works great on the patio.”
 of 5 bubbles , 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We were in the east side (toward town) and that seemed to be "monkey central" at night; recommnd the south-side rooms”
 of 5 bubbles JWD1964, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Try the green papaya restaurant, it has the best tacos in tamarindo.”
 of 5 bubbles Pair_of_surfers, 28 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Try to connect with the the friendly personal of this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles sybrandp, 10 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Beware of dust and insects”
 of 5 bubbles tomasw550, 2 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay