We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Tamarindo Beach, In Plaza Conchal, Next to Bac San Jose, Tamarindo Downtown, Tamarindo 50309 Costa Rica
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (40)
360
Panoramas (14)
Room & Suite (38)

About

#11 of 123 Specialty lodging in Tamarindo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Tamarindo Hostel Resort is the ideal place to relax in one of the most popular beaches in Costa Rica, in a quiet, relaxing and cozy atmosphere with beautiful facilities; the opportunity to stay with moments of comfort in our hammocks and have a good time alone or with friends or go to enjoy drinks in our snack bar. We also have a kitchen where you can cook for yourself and save some money on your trip. The Hostel has amazing views of the city, and also towards our tropical gardens and only Hostel Tamarindo Resort has them.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Diving
Hiking
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Horseback riding
Snorkelling
Windsurfing
Fishing
Outdoor furniture
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
254Reviews10Q+A26Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 190
  • 35
  • 17
  • 6
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Solo Traveller wrote a review Nov 2019
Nosara, Costa Rica777 contributions146 helpful votes
This hostel is close to everything you need, while you choose your own adventures in Tamarindo! Clean, safe and priced accordingly. Offers a fully equipped kitchen to cook your own food and hammocks for lounging in, after a day at the beach!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Jürgen L wrote a review May 2019
5 contributions2 helpful votes
Double and triple rooms with AC and ensuite bathrooms as well as dorms with shared facilities. Central location but still rather quiet at night. Good mattresses and linen bedsheets. Well equipped large kitchen and dining/lounge area. Real coffee for free during the day. Two maids are constantly busy cleaning so that the rooms as well as the shared facilities are always neat and clean. Some small ants around, but considering the fact, that this is a tropical region: no other bugs whatsoever (not even mosquitos)
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Cutter O wrote a review Mar 2019
5 contributions2 helpful votes
The hostel is right in the middle of town and just across the street from the beach. We had a private room that was nice and comparable to a hotel room, which makes sense since the price was only a little less. The common patio was beautiful and the kitchen was clean and easy to use. Definitely would come back and stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
... wrote a review Mar 2019
3 contributions1 helpful vote
We visited the hostel a few days before our stay with our 4 kids, pre booked and pre paid for a family room as the place we were staying could not accomidate us for 2 nights. When we arrived we were told someone had urinated on one mattress in the room and we would be placed in a dorm. We put our stuff in the dorm, and took our hungry kids to eat. On returning we actually looked at the room, it was dirty, rotten food, dirty dishes, broken lockers, a toilet that did not flush and more shocking live exposed electrical wires ...we were in the room with 4 young CHILDREN! When I complained I was told that we could have two rooms but had to pay extra! We had already paid for a family room and were not given that, we were then shouted at, told to put bags in front of the wires, told it was our fault for not noticing at first, (after being told that dorms were not suitable for kids) told that they would find us alternative accomidation than to be told it was too expensive and we should just pay the extra money for the second room (which had a bathroom that was not usable) turns out they had let someone else have the original room we paid for... The best bit was when they brought us two sheets of paper stating they had helped us (by help they meant threatening to kick us out or pay more money and they cancelled our second nights stay)and that we were threatening to write blasphemous accusations about them they wanted us to sign them to say we would not give a REVIEW! !! The girl was very obviously interested in money and profit rather than the safety of kids, and being honest, all sweetness and nice at first but was so rude, hanging up the phone, shouting very unprofessional. My children were in tears, I was in tears it was awful! We were delighted to leave the next day and fall into the welcoming arms of Bluetrailz before returning to the best family hostel in Tamarindo, La bottella de leche.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don't go, don't waste time or money here.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mapeguz, Manager at Tamarindo Hostel Resort
Responded 14 Mar 2019
Hola qué tal! Muchas gracias por su review, significa mucho para nosotros, nos ayuda a mejorar en nuestro trabajo para ofrecer un mejor servicio. Lamentamos mucho lo sucedido, y cómo le explicamos, la situación con respecto a la habitación que habías reservado estaba fuera de nuestro alcance y le ofrecimos la mejor alternativa posible, nosotros no podemos controlar lo que hacen los clientes dentro de las habitaciones, como los daños que hacen. Cuando ustedes llegaron lo primero que hicimos fue explicarle la situación, y darles la opción de tomar la habitación alternativa o bien los moveríamos a otro hostal, a lo que usted y su esposo LUEGO DE HABER REVISADO LA HABITACIÓN, nos indicaron que no tenían ningún problema, y que todo estaba perfecto, por lo que entonces procedimos entonces a colocarlos en ese dormitorio. (No los hubiéramos puesto de no ser porque ustedes estuvieron de acuerdo) Los dormitorios son limpiados todos los días al igual que las habitaciones privadas, y en ningún momento habían platos sucios ni comida, de hecho lo único que había dentro de los casilleros y debajo de las camas eran pañales sucios y mal olientes, que pertenecían a ustedes. Los cables expuestos tienen una tapa, pero curiosamente fue arrancada cuando ustedes ingresaron. El servicio funciona con normalidad, lo único que tienen que hacer es abrir la llave para que el agua corra, nada de otro mundo. Usted se comenzó a quejar de un sinnúmero de cosas sin sentido, a lo que nosotros amablemente tratamos de brindarle una solución, pero usted no paraba de gritarle al recepcionista ni a la muchacha que atendía al teléfono, no paraba de amenazar e insultarnos. Nosotros no perdimos la calma, de hecho intentamos hablar con su esposo ya que era la única persona con quien se podía hablar con normalidad. En todo momento tratamos de ayudarla y buscamos la mejor solución posible, pero sabe qué pasa, que es imposible ayudar a personas que no quieren aceptar ayuda, y que tampoco dejan gritar e insultar. Pero de igual manera muchas gracias por tu comentario.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mirtw G wrote a review Feb 2019
4 contributions4 helpful votes
Dont stay here. Not at all a good choice. The room was not clean at all. Terrible smell from the back window. Not friendly staff. We had booked a room for 5 nights. When we booked the room they said that we can pay the first night and during our stay the rest. Every morning and night they saw us to pass by the reception and say hello. They didn't ask for the rest of the money. After the 2nd night in the afternoon they informed us that the hotel is overbooked. They couldn't let us stay more. I dont like to write bad things about nobody. But these experience is unbelievable.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mapeguz, Gerente at Tamarindo Hostel Resort
Responded 14 Mar 2019
Hi Thanks for your same number 10th review. As you notice we clean the room every day, we have 2 amazing cleaning ladies that works 10 hours a day. But, not all the people likes clean spaces, that’s why they mess everything up, spill water on the floor, use the kitchen but don’t clean anything, etc And about your reservation... Do you have a confirmation? Or a payment receipt for the 5 nights? Cause we just found one that you made for one night, and you pay for it, at the check in moment we ask you if you wanted to stay for more nights and pay for the room, but you guys didn’t say anything, actually the next 2 days you didn’t even say that you wanted to extend, we just let you stay because we had space in that room, but day 4rd, we were full, that’s why we ask you to check out. I honestly do not understand the people who complain because they could not stay, when they did not have any reservations. The first thing we ask our customers is if they have a reservation, and if they want to stay for more days, since most of our reservations comes from Internet, we do not know when we are going to fill. But thanks again for your coment, it means a lot for us, looking always to offer our best to our customers
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mandi R wrote a review Feb 2019
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Hands down my worst hostel experience. Claimed to have laundry services, none to be found. No locks on the doors and all of the lockers are broken. This place is a scam, DO NOT GIVE THESE PEOPLE YOUR MONEY.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Daniele wrote a review Dec 2018
Guastalla, Italy1 contribution
Nothing miss in this hostel. If you want rest on the hammock or enjoy the beach is perfect. The owners and the employees are kind and friendly and The cleaning is excellent. Is also very close to the bus station if you needed. I really enjoyed my stay, if I come back in tamarindo I will choose again this hostel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Idan B wrote a review Sep 2018
6 contributions1 helpful vote
After being told there was an available room for two nights,we were made to move room after our first night due to a double booking.the next room we received stunk of cigarette smoke,we then got moved to another room with a leaking air conditioning causing the whole floor to be wet. After speaking to the reception, our options were to stay in this room or go back to the room smelling of smoke or to leave the hotel. The staff was so unfriendly and unhelpful and extremely rude.after requesting to speak to the manager the receptionist said he isn't here and we can't speak to him. In addition, there is no hot water in the showers here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mapeguz, Gerente at Tamarindo Hostel Resort
Responded 8 Oct 2018
Hi Thanks for your review, but just to be clear, you didn’t have a reservation, you came to the hostel and book a room for one night, then the next day you wanted to add another night but the room was already taken for a person that book in advance, that’s why you had to move, not because a double booking, so my recommendation is that when you want to stay in a hotel or hostel, when they ask you how many nights you want, tell them at the first moment. Then the room we gave you, didn’t had any smell, I don’t know if was you maybe, and for the another room, we apologize for the A/C. And it was very embarrassing for all the people at the hostel and the staff, to see you screaming around the hostel like an anormal person, that’s so disrespectful from you. About the hot water, we don’t have at the hostel, we tell you that at the same moment we ask you “how many nights do you want to stay?” Thanks for your time
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
danamyoj wrote a review Aug 2018
11 contributions2 helpful votes
This is a party town, make no mistake. If you want to sleep before the booming music finally stops at 5am then stay somewhere else altogether. The hostel itself is in the centre of town, was basic but clean and spacious, and staff were friendly. They were also accommodating when we asked to leave after one night because of the noise.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mapeguz, Gerente at Tamarindo Hostel Resort
Responded 8 Oct 2018
Hi, thanks so much for your review, we are glad you liked the hostel and our service. Unfortunately for you, Tamarindo is a party, it has a different activity every night, except Sundays, is normally quite, but that’s what make it so special for the people that comes here, make new friends, meet people, have fun, Surf and relax. If you have any questions or need some advice for your future trip to Costa Rica, I would love to help you, that’s are a lot of lovely places here, were you can have fun and enjoy at the same time you can relax and sleep. Thanks, and Pura Vida!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lauren O wrote a review May 2018
Minneapolis, Minnesota48 contributions7 helpful votes
This hostel was literally right across the street from the beach and all of the fun bars in town. We had an amazing time here and although it was short lived, Tamarindo was one of our favorite places we stayed in Costa Rica :) The ONLY thing to give as a heads up about this hostel is that there is no hot water but it's honestly so hot outside that a slightly cold shower can feel pretty good.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of GuanacasteTamarindo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TAMARINDO HOSTEL RESORT: See 182 Reviews, Price Comparison and 183 Photos (Costa Rica) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Tamarindo Hostel Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Tamarindo Hostel Resort?
Nearby attractions include Papaya Con Leche (0.2 km), Beach & Pool Crawl (0.05 km), and Lydia Beech Art Boutique (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Tamarindo Hostel Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and laundry service.
What food & drink options are available at Tamarindo Hostel Resort?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Tamarindo Hostel Resort?
Yes, street parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tamarindo Hostel Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Antichi Sapori Sicilian Cuisine, Falafel Bar Tamarindo - Mediterranean Cuisine, and Ocean Restaurant & Beach Lounge.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Tamarindo Hostel Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.