We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tamarindo Yam

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Tamarindo Yam
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tamarindo Yam
See the most recent reviews
Showing 114: English reviews
North Salem, NY
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Very nice small hotel. About 7 rooms. Rooms (Regular & bigger) are quite big. All the rooms have 2 TV's, AC, Separate bedroom, kitchen, refrig, & kept clean. Room are more than fairly priced. If you are staying 6-7 days call them directly and you can get a better rate. Big thing is it's a short walk to the main...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larry H
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

The two bedroom was big and spacious. It is a short walk to the beach. The staff was nice. The price was very reasonable. I would stay there again. Some things that I would suggest for the Yam. The first day we were there the room had an overwhelming smell to it. They might have been spraying for insects? Not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kmtk
summit nj
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We really enjoyed this hotel. It was a really short walk to the beach and town. A nice feature was the loft, so our "young adult" could have her own space while still where we could keep an eye on her! We all had our own rooms and a family area! The turtle tour that they suggested was awesome -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank themegrose
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 18 February 2013

This hotel is clean, has a big pool and backyard, and run by beautiful people. Tamarindo can be a party town at times, and this hotel is extremely close to it all (5 min walk), but yet tucked away to have low noise.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julian S
San Diego, California
Reviewed 14 February 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 10 days and truly had a great time. The first night was a little noisy from the adjacent backpackers hostel but the rest of the nights were pleasant. It has a great little pool in the center of the facility and all the rooms come with air conditioning. All the rooms come with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lucythecat123
Poughkeepsie, New York
Reviewed 10 February 2013

This hotel is quite ok but nothing more. It's clean. You have your own fridge and a little kitchen if you are staying for a while. The place was a little deserted the night we stayed there and no staff to be seen anywhere made it somewhat eerie. No one around to check us out when we left either. Nice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rune S
tamarindoyam, Owner at Tamarindo Yam, responded to this review

you came to the hotel in the late afternoon. the manager on night shift showed you to your cottage. next morning you checked out early. we are botique hotel and we have all necessary in each cottage. the staff gave you your privecy and if you need something you can call the office from your room we are keeping the...

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 28 January 2013

i higely recomend, my best vacaition ever!!!! graet rooms ,graet service, quite and monkies in the morning. the the room has two floors ,full kitchen, free wifi and the best energy. pool is next to the front door. 250 meters from the beach . again - higely recomended !!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nevo a
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Stayed here four nights after reading all the glowing reviews here on Tripadvisor. I don't understand. We spent two weeks here in Costa Rica and this was by far the four worst nights of sleep we got. First, the beds are foam, but not like a Temperpedic memory foam. Rather this type of bed creates a crater which is still...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
tamarindoyam, Owner at Tamarindo Yam, responded to this review

very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your trip in tamarindo. we did took under immidiate action about things that were un comfortable for you at your stay in the hotel. we changed all our mattresses. we changed all the bed sets - sheets,pillows also we reviewed all the rest of the hotel and as for now all...

gansoreq
Reviewed 10 November 2012

we were exited to go to costa rica and we heard alot of tamarindo. we decided to pass few days in that area.we stayed in tamarindo yam and the experience was wonderfull. the room(big cottage) was very clean and had it all...t.v,a/c,free internet....and more. the service was great and very helpfull. very nice pool and relaxing place. i wish we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank amit g
Astoria, New York
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Our driver had a little hard time finding the hotel as it is down a dirt road, a little further past the center of town. Once he found it though and we were shown our apartment, it was a nice experience. It seemed more like we were staying in a little town and not just some resort. Not long after...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank altermood

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 22 in Tamarindo
542 reviews
0.2 km away
El Mono Loco
El Mono Loco
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
102 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#10 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
1.4 km away
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
0.8 km away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tamarindo-Yam is a bran new hotel, constructed in 2007. Located 250 meters from the beach, are seven modern luxury cottages each with private tranquil garden, suitable for 4 or 6 persons. Located around a romantic blue tiled pool in the warm sun, each cottage is designed differently from the other, all with top of the line features and comfort such as full kitchen, a/c unit, cable TV, high speed internet and more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tamarindo Yam

Address: Real st | 250 meters South to Kahiki, Tamarindo 1111, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Price Range: $94 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Tamarindo Yam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarindo Yam Hotel Tamarindo
Yam Hotel Tamarindo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tamarindo Yam staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Tamarindo Yam staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms 5 & 2 were great for one or two people.”
 of 5 bubbles chrisrfm, 5 Feb 2014 | Read review
“Room 1 is best for families”
 of 5 bubbles Shiritaikatz, 17 May 2013 | Read review
“I stayed in 2 rooms -#6 Very Large with an upstairs bedroom. Then moved to #2 - plenty of room & didn't have to walk upstairs”
 of 5 bubbles 48LarryH48, 7 Mar 2013 | Read review
“The back Condo Hotel rooms were the great for a family!”
 of 5 bubbles themegrose, 22 Feb 2013 | Read review
“Unit 1, 6 or 7 are the best rooms. We stayed in room seven and it had a master on the main floor so we didn't have to use the stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles lucythecat123, 13 Feb 2013 | Read review
5 of 5