We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
700 Meters West From Bridgestone/Firestone La Ribera de Belen, San Antonio De Belen 40703 Costa Rica
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Marriott Hotels
US$194
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/02/23
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.comUS$240
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1949)
360
Panoramas (19)
Room & Suite (367)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 8 hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
Discover striking architecture and impeccable accommodations at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel Hacienda Belen. Our extraordinary San Jose hotel in Heredia, Costa Rica offers a magical backdrop for a leisurely or adventurous stay. One of the best hotels in Central America, as rated by Condé Nast, our hacienda resort sits nestled within a 30-acre coffee plantation and offers views of the mountains or the San Jose skyline.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Tennis court
Children's playground
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Bowling offsite
Squash offsite
Kids pool
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Executive lounge access
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!

Location

Contact
700 Meters West From Bridgestone/Firestone La Ribera de Belen, San Antonio De Belen 40703 Costa Rica
Getting there
Juan Santamaria Intl Airport3 kmSee all flights
Tortuquero Airport78 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
2405Reviews90Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,496
  • 620
  • 159
  • 69
  • 61
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Agueri1974 wrote a review Jan 2023
11 contributions2 helpful votes
I have only spent the first of 5 nights and am not looking forward for the next 4… - Poor customer service (slow and inefficient) - Poor higiene (room and hotel) - MINIMAL WI-FI ( barely enough to check some emails, don’t expect to get any work done) - Poor facilities - Poor location (nothing near by, much better options if you need to be close to the airport and it is over an hour from city attractions) - Bathroom gets soaked when you shower no matter how careful you are (Room 262) - Very basic food choices and not great tasting, Don’t expect a fine dining experience anywhere in the hotel! Overall a very bad experience. Yes…the hotel is pretty (colonial hacienda style)…but that’s it! Do yourself a favor and stay elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Darlinglisa wrote a review Aug 2022
El Dorado Hills, California156 contributions72 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
My husband and I loved this hotel,the night before we flew back home from Costa Rica! It’s designed after a plantation hacienda. It’s full of artwork and antiques from Costa Rica. The spa was great with a whirlpool, sauna. And steam room. The massages we got were perfect too. We had 2 wonderful meals in the 2 main restaurants that were great!! The property is gorgeous and also has a beautiful gym and pool! I can’t say enough about this hotel except I will be going back again next time we visit Costa Rica. It’s only 10 minutes from the airport too!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
MAK wrote a review Jan 2023
Viera, Florida5 contributions4 helpful votes
Beautiful hotel located outside the airport in San Jose. My family and I stayed there on Chistmas Eve for one night before joining up with a tour group. The dinner at their main restaurant was lovely. We are vegetarian and there were plenty of options for all of us. They have beautiful grounds to walk. The rooms were clean and spacious. We will definitely stay here again when we return to Costa Rica.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Soulfultrvlr wrote a review Jan 2023
San Francisco, California759 contributions180 helpful votes
+1
My husband and I stayed here as part of our wedding anniversary and New Year’s Eve celebration after we returned from a weeklong stay in Jaco beach. When we arrived, we were very impressed by the property but not the hotel staff. The hotel supervisor, Roberto, was rude and very unfriendly. As a titanium elite member, I had already checked in to a king room with a pool view on a concierge level on my mobile app and requested an upgrade which was apparently unavailable because the hotel was booked. Roberto, for whatever reason, ended up switching the room that I already checked into on my mobile app to another room with a garden view. When we spoke to Jackeline, one of the managers, she was very pleasant and apologized. She graciously arranged for us to get our pool view and sent a bottle of champagne with chocolates to our room. We enjoyed the concierge lounge and the variety of offerings. We booked a great deep tissue couples massage at the spa. We swam in the main pool which was at a great temperature (the adults pool was chilly and neglected). We enjoyed the complimentary tour of the property led by Fernando with a coffee tasting at the end. The coffee shop and attached souvenir/gift shop was also a great place to to have coffee and get souvenirs. We enjoyed meeting Crist Inman, the shop general manager, who was very friendly and knowledgeable. We also enjoyed the NYE buffet dinner at the Hacienda, particularly the prime rib. We liked that we were able to view the fireworks from our balcony. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here. We recommend all their front desk staff to get regular customer training so loyal Marriott customers like us continue to patronize their brand.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
rogi8 wrote a review Jan 2023
New York City, New York260 contributions204 helpful votes
We arrived very late (close to 11pm) and had to arrange separate transportation, which went smoothly. The location is convenient about seven minutes from the airport with some other hotels and it looked like some nice stores and restaurants nearby. We are a family of four with young kids (5 and 8) and had spoken to them multiple times about connecting rooms but instead were next to each other but not connecting. The hotel was full and there was nothing more they could do at that hour. It was not an ideal sleeping situation and consistent with the way most Marriotts act and a reason we are moving away from them more and more. One of the rooms the AC was so loud when it came on and off that it was also hard to sleep. We had a nice brunch at the Hacienda restaurant. The World Cup final was on so they had TVs setup and we watched and ate, which was fun. Since we did that we didn’t get to use the pool or facilities. While the hotel was nicer than a typical airport hotel, if we just need somewhere to sleep next time we would probably look for a place which would guarantee connecting rooms (basically not a Marriott).
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Experience, Guest Services / Front Office at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel Hacienda Belen
Responded 1 week ago
Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and I sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations. I have shared your feedback with the leadership team so we can do everything we can to ensure this does not happen again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Zsakeba W wrote a review Jan 2023
31 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
This is a beautiful property with all of the amenities you would need, and it is close to the airport. I only stayed here a couple of nights, but the views from my room alone made it worth the stay. The pool area was lively and very relaxing as well. I would definitely return if I am in this kart if Costa Rica again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Deanna9 wrote a review Jan 2023
Breckenridge, Colorado766 contributions327 helpful votes
We stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of our CR trip and the final night. The hotel is an easy 10 minute ride from airport. Staff is very friendly, concierge lounge has wonderful breakfast with omelette station, as well as heavy appetizers/salad station from 5-7pm nightly. The property is lovely with green parakeet-type birds singing in morning and at times throughout the day. I had a facial at the spa and it was fantastic! Great city hotel that feels more remote. They have Avis rental on-site and National/Alamo rental facility a couple blocks away. Definitely a great launch for our trip!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
SOLsurvivor315 wrote a review Jan 2023
Williston, Vermont2 contributions3 helpful votes
First time to Costa Rica. The hotel was beautiful but the people working there is what will keep us coming back. Everyone was so friendly and welcoming. Shout out to my new Bar 10 friends Luis Diego, Gustavo, Carlos, Jennifer, Luis, and Johan! Also to Caleb and Veronica in the executive lounge! Special thanks to all of you for making my wife’s birthday special! Hasta Pronto!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Experience, Guest Services / Front Office at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel Hacienda Belen
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you very much for such a great comment, receive a loving greeting from all our staff at the Hacienda, especially the people from Bar 10 and the executive floor.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Flowers1432 wrote a review Jan 2023
San Antonio, Texas70 contributions134 helpful votes
We ended up here very last minute as the hotel we booked lost our reservation and we had to scramble to find something. I am glad we ended up here! The hotel is beautiful, all open air and looks like an old Costa Rican estate. The food is great and there is a lot to choose from. The Japanese restaurant is especially good. We also enjoyed the pool bar and the cafe. The breakfast buffet was meh. We ordered off menu a few times and the food came out cold. They obviously want you to have the buffet when it is available. The pools have drink service until 4pm. The chairs around the pool are impossible to snag so they could add a few more of those. Our only real complaint is that we had very very loud neighbors that were screaming and cursing and playing soccer in the hallway until 3 or 4am. We called down a few times and nothing was done. We ended up going out there and talking to them and they were extremely rude and pretty much said if it was an actual problem, the hotel would tell them to quiet down. We weren’t the only ones that complained but the hotel didn’t act in any way. That was disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Experience, Guest Services / Front Office at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel Hacienda Belen
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for appreciating our hotel the way you did. We regret that you had to go through this incident, we will be reinforcing with our night staff the handling of this type of situation. Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Geraint J wrote a review Jan 2023
Cardiff, United Kingdom11 contributions4 helpful votes
We had a very good one night stay after flying into CR from the UK and before beginning our holiday the following day. Check in was quick and friendly and our two rooms (a double and a proper twin with two large beds) were spacious and nice. We didn't use the amenities but the pool area looked really nice and the grounds are beautiful. We had snacks and drinks in the sports bar in the evening which we really enjoyed and have to say the bar staff were amazingly friendly. We had a good night. We also watched the world cup final in the bar from 9am the following morning before check out in a great atmosphere, and again with great service from the friendly bar team. Breakfast was decent, not great. Hotel must have been busy as there was a pretty long wait to get seated. The food selection was OK, not great and nowhere near as good as the rest of our breakfasts on the holiday. And the line to check out was enormous, probably because it was just after the football finished, so we didn't bother. All in all - a very good one night stay and would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Experience, Guest Services / Front Office at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel Hacienda Belen
Responded 2 weeks ago
It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback, particularly when it comes from those who matter the most – you! Your feedback has been shared with all hotel staff as a way of celebrating the great guest experiences we delivered. Our team is here to make you feel the best experience of your stay, for us it is a pleasure to know that our staff, food, rooms and hotel in general lived up to your expectations.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$201 - US$332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
costa rica marriott san jose, marriott san antonio de belen, marriott san jose, marriott costa rica, san jose marriott
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of HerediaSan Antonio De Belen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
299
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

COSTA RICA MARRIOTT HOTEL HACIENDA BELEN: UPDATED 2023 Reviews, Price Comparison and 2,026 Photos (San Antonio De Belen) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Costa Rica Marriott Hotel Hacienda Belen
Which popular attractions are close to Costa Rica Marriott Hotel Hacienda Belen?
Nearby attractions include Sus Amigos Beach Club (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel Hacienda Belen?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel Hacienda Belen?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel Hacienda Belen?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel Hacienda Belen?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Costa Rica Marriott Hotel Hacienda Belen?
Conveniently located restaurants include Il Cavallino, Zaika Indian Cuisine, and Kiantis.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel Hacienda Belen?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Costa Rica Marriott Hotel Hacienda Belen have airport transportation?
Yes, Costa Rica Marriott Hotel Hacienda Belen offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel Hacienda Belen?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Costa Rica Marriott Hotel Hacienda Belen offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.