We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kaya's Place

Booking.comUS$27*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Kaya\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

220 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 194: English reviews
Start your review of Kaya's Place
 Click to rate
Newmarket
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just a few minutes from where the bus dropped us off, and simply walk across the main road for the black beach. We choose a room with a/c and private bathroom. We were on the main floor at the back of the resort away from traffic. If you want beach view, you will want to request front rooms. Our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ConnieRideout
Fishers, Indiana
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Kaya's Place is a cool, unique place to stay with fabulous, fresh beer brewed on site. Thanks to J.T. the owner and brewer, to Mario, assistant brewer, and Luis, the bartender who honored my request for an American, one finger of froth pour beer. The resident house cat, "Steve French" is adorable. Cheers!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank perezheat
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The bar has excellent craft beer. I've been here a couple times for the craft beer. Unfortunately I was not able to try out the guacamole and chips. I ordered that as a snack and a beer. I was the only one in the restaurant when I ordered and a group of four people came in about 5 minutes after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MeeshtheTravelor
Macomb, Michigan
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

Beware, thus is the only restaurant in Limon Provence to charge a special %16 "state tax". Such a shame they prey on visitors in this way. The food was ordinary and the beer mediocre. Avoid at all costs

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg A
bacchus4, Manager at Kaya's Place, responded to this review

Hola Greg, Not to be repetitive, but we'll post the same response here as we did to the same negative review you left about us in regards to this issue on Google. We've tried to explain very clearly about the sales tax law in Costa Rica. We hope after reading this again, it helps you finally understand what happened and...

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 4 February 2017

This is a bar with a hotel attached. The bar patrons come first and hotel guests come second. If you like loud music and loud drunks, this is the place for you. My first room overlooked the bar and the street and was too noisy, so they moved me to a garden room, which overlooked a junk pile and stunk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Kaya's Place is AWESOME. Perfectly located right across from the black sand beach and a three minute walk from town - much more of a unique experience than staying right on one of the main streets with tons of hostels in town. It's a beautiful property with wooden tables & beds, cool art, super clean facilities and awesome staff. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank earthwindfirewater
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 11 January 2017

We had a upstairs private double room - it had good beds, lots of room and good service (housekeeping). Going in we knew that we wouldn't have AC, but it did cool down at night and the fans were a big help! Mistakenly thought that we would have a view of the ocean, but it was actually the parking lot!!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katima97
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

The hostel is well located and has a nice atmosphere. I recommend to ask for a room that doesn't face the hammock balcony or street because the windows are only covered with mosquito net. From the restaurant you can have excellent beers from the brewery behind the hostel. Unfortunately the food is horrible. My eggs rancheros was only one egg...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reijonens
Jackson, New Jersey
Reviewed 22 December 2016

I stayed here for over three weeks and absolutely loved it. I became friends with the owner J.T, a fellow American, and loved his dog who wandered around, Leia. He brews his own craft beer on premises, is located right across the street from the beach, and far enough from the town to where its very quiet, but at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ColtRich
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

If you like the feel of a hostel but love your own en suit room, this is the place for you. Great place to chill, drink craft brew, and hear live music. Oh and sleep, shower, and do those things. Excellent atmosphere. Biking/walking distance from Porto Viejo "downtown".

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amanda B

190 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (134)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Other (15)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Maritza
Hotel Maritza
#10 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
36 reviews
0.8 km away
Hostel Kinkaju
Hostel Kinkaju
#4 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
111 reviews
1.2 km away
Cabinas Coconut Grove
Cabinas Coconut Grove
#14 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Casa Moabi
Casa Moabi
#3 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
146 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Rustico de Playa Perla Negra
Hotel Rustico de Playa Perla Neg...
#30 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
183 reviews
0.9 km away
Kalunai Hostel
Kalunai Hostel
#10 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Door is Always Open at Kaya's Place... Kaya's Place is a 26 room lodge on the stunning Black Beach in Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica. Built in the Afro-Caribbean "Rustico" style, the hotel is artistic and unique. Local woods and materials have been used in their natural state, making each room different and beautiful. Every space you encounter will be a pleasurable experience. The sound of the waves is always in the background, soothing and tranquil, guaranteed to take you away from the stress of everyday life. Inside the hotel, you will find many places to relax. The reception area is more like a living room, with a gigantic sofa, television, people to chat with and view of the ocean. The large deck upstairs has a wonderful ocean view with hammocks and sofas - perfect for reading or taking a siesta. In the back, gardens line the walkway, filled with local plants and flowers. A covered sitting area in the garden offers another opportunity to meet and enjoy the company of others while you stay with us. Our restaurant is spacious and open with view of the ocean and a small creek with fish, water lilies, crab and other water life. Located in Puerto Viejo on the Caribbean Coast, the area is blessed with natural beauty in the form of dense jungle with impressive flora and fauna and some of the world's most beautiful beaches. Kaya's Place is part of the growing eco-tourism industry that supports the preservation of almost 2 million square meters of primary rainforest. Taxes from this industry support the many national reserves and efforts to maintain the natural resources. We are dedicated to preserving these resources while sharing it with all the people that come to know this amazingly beautiful part of Costa Rica. Our recent renovation of Kaya's Place was completed with the same philosophy. No lumber or materials were taken from the primary rainforest. Much was recycled wood or dead fall from local farms and lumber that had washed up from the ocean and rivers. With these natural and renewable materials, we achieved a unique character with rustic and artistic designs. Also all the walls are painted by hand, with many details and awesome drawings. BE OUR ECO-GUEST Our Door is Always Open at Kaya's Place - We Hope to See You Soon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kaya's Place

Address: In Front of Playa Negra | Before Last Bridge Into Town, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: $35 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kaya's Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Kaya's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaya`s Place Hotel Puerto Viejo
Kayas Place Puerto Viejo
Kayas Place Hotel Puerto Viejo
Kaya's Place Costa Rica/Limon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kaya's Place staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Kaya's Place staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had no air conditioning but I slept well. I loved getting ready in the morning sun at the outside sink.”
  • Our view from room #6
perezheat, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms don't have AC - which is fine as long as you are prepared for that!”
  • Landing of the upstairs double rooms
Katima97, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I enjoyed my garden room, although it was sometimes noisy due to the workers at the brewery connected to the property.”
ColtRich, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't bother getting a private room, its not worth the extra money.”
577aliciah, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room in the back unless you're okay with hearing talking from the restaurant and from the street on the main level.”
  • View of Town Leading to Beach
ShyoneChicago, 20 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$27* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$27
PricelineUS$27
Expedia.comUS$27
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates