We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Botanika Osa Peninsula, Curio Collection by Hilton

Save
Share
Costado Sureste del aeropuerto Crocodile Bay Resort, Puerto Jimenez 60702 Costa Rica
4 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Breakfast Included Offer
Expedia.com
US$208
View deal
Hotels.com
US$208
View deal
Vio.com
US$171
View deal
Booking.comUS$208
PricelineUS$208
ZenHotels.comUS$216
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (86)
Room & Suite (52)
Videos (1)

About

#6 of 12 hotels in Puerto Jimenez
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Nestled among Costa Rica's unspoiled rainforest, our resort features studio and multi-bedroom suites for a comfortable escape along the Osa Peninsula. Fill your day with nature hikes in Corcovado National Park, ziplining, scuba diving, and sport fishing, or relax at one of our outdoor pools, the wellness spa, and nearby beaches.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Boating
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Happy hour
Fishing
Walking tours
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Spa
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Microwave
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Hair dryer
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Breakfast Included Offer

Location

59Somewhat walkable
Grade: 59 out of 100
20Restaurantswithin 1 km
3Attractionswithin 1 km
35Reviews1Q+A6Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 30
  • 3
  • 1
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
mosafer123 wrote a review Yesterday
CA11 contributions2 helpful votes
A great place to stay in Osa Peninsula area! Brand new luxury rooms/suites with excellent and very friendly staff! The Eco tours and guides were excellent. The restaurant and the food options were good, though a bit on the expensive side for what they were. We did experience a couple of issues: For example, the TV and Alarm clock in one of our rooms did not seem to work (possibly some circuit breaker issue), some intermittent WiFi issues, and some maintenance-related issues in the outdoor space. But none of the issues bothered us enough to even report them! Having a luxury stay with friendly supportive staff at one of the most biodiverse regions in the world was enough for us to ignore all those minor inconveniences! Hope to be back again!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
seanborca wrote a review Nov 2022
Palm Coast, Florida3 contributions6 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
The new Hotel was very classy, had excellent food.and service. The fishing was fantastic. The resort was a great place to visit. The hotel staff was professional. The rooms were great. The traveling guides and tours were awesome.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Save
Helpful
Share
Jen C wrote a review 26 Mar
28 contributions42 helpful votes
This hotel is very nice overall. The staff there are very nice and friendly. I particularly really appreciated the shuttle drivers and the bellmen. They were extremely attentive and genuinely pleasant. They even gave us a ride to a nearby market when we realized that we forgot supplies. The room itself was extremely nice as well. The only thing that was disappointing was the main restaurant of the hotel. The dinner was not good at all. They advertise as having an a la carte menu but on the first two nights we were there it was a buffet. I am a vegetarian and there were no options for me in the buffet. On the first night when asked they were very accommodating and allowed me to order vegetarian lasagna off the menu (which was not very good at all). The second night however when again they had a buffet, the chef gave me a hard time about wanting something vegetarian off menu. He questioned me loudly in the middle of the restaurant and said “there isn’t enough food for you?” I explained to him that off-looking salad, vegetables, and mashed potatoes were not a good option and I was not going to pay $39 for that. After making me wait longer for the chef’s decision, he reluctantly made the mushroom pasta off the menu. The pool terrace restaurant on property however was great. Good food, friendly staff, and the food there was truly tasty. Eventually we stopped going to the hotel dinner restaurant and went to the pool restaurant only.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The dinner restaurant
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
CathyT3 wrote a review 17 Mar
Canberra, Australia98 contributions60 helpful votes
+1
We booked this resort because it looked fantastic and it exceeded our expectations. The room, pool and common areas were all beautiful and the staff were wonderful with nothing too much trouble. We did a mixture of tours through the resort (so easy to organise at the tour desk) and some other tours we found online. All were great, it just depends on your schedule and what you want to experience. Coming back after a long day exploring for a swim in the pool with its beautiful gardens, lounges and staff to keep us supplied with snacks and cocktails was just perfect. Thanks to the team at Botanika for the great service during our stay. Our 40 hour trek from Australia has been very much worth it and we hope to be back one day soon.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dedicated Management, Owner at Botanika Osa Peninsula, Curio Collection by Hilton
Responded 1 week ago
Hola CathyT3, What a wonderful review! It was a pleasure to welcome you to our rainforest sanctuary, and we’re thrilled that you could thoroughly immerse yourself in our serene surroundings. From our thoughtful amenities to our team’s extraordinary service, we are delighted to hear that your time here was nothing short of perfection. Thank you for adventuring with us, and we look forward to creating many more memories together in the future. Muchas Gracias, Diego Oviedo
 General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rabil wrote a review 13 Mar
Loveland, Colorado19 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
After hearing great things about this place--while also wanting to get away from the unusually cold 2022-23 Colorado winter, we planned a trip. The only ways to get to the Osa Peninsula are by small aircraft (typically holding 12 to 15 passengers) or a 6 hour drive on very rough roads. Either way requires spending a night in San Jose near the SJO airport. We chose to fly. Our United Airlines flight from Denver to San Jose was uneventful. Arriving very late we stayed a hotel near the airport. The next morning we returned to the airport, and went to the domestic terminal to board our flight to the Puerto Jimenez airport. We arrived in Puerto Jimenez on a Saturday in late February 2023 on a midday flight with Sansa Airlines. Earlier we had let the Botanika staff know our expected arrival time and flight number. Upon arrival we were met by a hotel shuttle literally just feet away from the arriving single engine Cessna. The shuttle took less than 5 minutes to get us to the Botanika lobby. We arrived around 2 & had no issue checking in early. Our reservation was for a 6 night stay. We used Hilton points for 4 nights and got a fifth night free. We combined the 5 nights with a free night certificate for a total stay of 6 nights. Diamond status got us upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite with a large kitchen/living area and a large outdoor lanai on the top floor of building #1 facing the pool. We experienced daily high temps of 90 and overnight lows of 75. Since it was “dry season,” there was no rain during our stay. First impressions: WOW what a bargain for a small, fabulous new facility and extremely warm and friendly staff. I'll mention it here to get it over with, but our only issue was a power surge/failure the first evening. It resulted in a problem with an A/C or thermostat malfunctioning. It was not resolved until the next morning and kept us from sleeping comfortably that first night. The facility was constructed with consideration of the surrounding environment. Short walks around the property allowed us to see native monkeys, birds (including McCaws) and from a very safe distance even a crocodile. We arranged with the concierge for a half-day “Eco” tour to see more wildlife and were not disappointed. The tour took us to Matapalo beach at the very tip of the peninsula. We saw monkeys, birds and a sloth along the way. What a wonderful part of the country! TIPS: ◾There are 2 restaurants on site: one adjacent to the lobby area and one with lighter fare at the pool. The one by the lobby area is used for the buffet breakfast that is included for all guests. In my opinion, the breakfast buffet was the best that I have experienced at any Hilton property. ◾Don’t resist having a few meals offsite. There are several good restaurants nearby that are within short walking distance. However, the free hotel shuttle will take you where you want to go and will pick you up at an appointed time. We ate at two offsite restaurants on the waterfront just north of the Botanika: the Marisqueria Corcovado and Los Delfines. Both were very good, but living in Colorado we preferred the seafood at the Marisqueria Corcovado. ◾Don’t miss seeing the insects at the Insectopia displays in the old Crocodile Bay building. We enjoyed listening to the passionate explanations from the resident entomologist. ◾Daily room servicing is available upon request. Calls to the front desk are not needed by simply pressing a single button on a smart panel in the room. ◾After sunset & dinner each evening we like to watch a bit of TV. The TV was unfortunately locked for screen casting. However, I was able to stream from my cell phone and watch on the TV using a USB-C-->HDMI cable. ◾The Botanika provides free access to a partnered beach club a few miles to the south. The staff does not mention anything about it without asking. You just need to reserve the time and a spot on a small motor boat. The boat leaves from the Crocodile Bay dock. Since no dock is at the beach club, getting off/on the boat can be physically challenging for some. Once there, you’ll find plenty of shade, comfortable seating, and food & beverages for purchase with cash or a credit card. Again great staff providing great service in a remote part of the country. It’s worth wasting the beginning and ending night stays in San Jose. If you decide to go, I can’t imagine that you’ll be the slightest bit disappointed. Be sure to checkout the Botanika website for full amenity details.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Worth upgrade to a suite--see my pictures
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Dedicated Management, Owner at Botanika Osa Peninsula, Curio Collection by Hilton
Responded 1 week ago
Hola Rich B, First of all, thank you for leaving this incredible review! We are delighted to discover that your retreat to our rainforest oasis was nothing short of amazing. It’s a pleasure knowing that our team’s impeccable service and our resort’s thoughtful amenities made such a memorable impression. We’re thrilled to hear that you had the opportunity to indulge in so many awesome experiences while you were here, from secluded excursions to the beach club to our wildlife tour. Thank you again for choosing us to be your home away from home, and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future for another unforgettable experience! Muchas Gracias, Diego Oviedo 
General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
joemom wrote a review Feb 2023
medford, nj67 contributions12 helpful votes
Botanika is truly a beautiful resort. We have visited Crocodile Bay many times, and have loved the world class fishing, amazing people and natural beauty. What Botanika now offers is all of the things we loved about the old Crocodile Bay but with absolutely stunning accommodations, beautiful/relaxing pool and additional upgrades like the restaurant/lobby/airport check ins. The residences are so well designed for function and beauty. The kitchen, the beds, the balcony, the bathrooms…everything really beautiful and comfortable. We really enjoyed the restaurant….especially the pool bar/restaurant and cabana service. The patacones were so good! The fishing was amazing, as always…that is what brings us to the area and Crocodile Bay specifically. Diego, the fishing director, and Captain Anthony truly make these fishing trips an unforgettable experience, and worth coming back again and again. The personal touch that Botanika/Crocodile Bay continues to offer with Ms. Olimpia, and the amazing staff is what continues to set it apart. Botanika now offers it all…world class fishing, luxury accommodations, amazing excursions and the people that tie it all together. Can’t wait to come back!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dedicated Management, Owner at Botanika Osa Peninsula, Curio Collection by Hilton
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hola joemom, Thank you for taking the time to leave a gracious review! We are delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy thrilling excursions and take full advantage of our incredible environment during your stay. Our team along with the incredible guides of Crocodile Bay work very hard to ensure every guest has an unforgettable experience, and we are elated to hear about the superb service you received throughout your getaway. We will certainly share your kind regards with Diego, Anthony, and Olympia. Whenever you’re dreaming of another rainforest adventure, know that our doors will be open. Muchas Gracias, Diego Oviedo General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Happiness773559 wrote a review Feb 2023
+1
The rooms were beautiful and comfy. The environment is absolutely gorgeous. The tours were lots of fun with plenty to see like the stunning macaws, howler monkeys, dolphins and spider monkeys. Just to listen to nature- the many different calls of all the birds, the soothing waves, the early morning monkeys is so relaxing. The Crocodile Bay fishing tours were awesome with many sailfish, a blue marlin, several rooster fish, a needle fish and more. The staff was very accommodating and the food was delicious. We can not wait to return.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dedicated Management, Owner at Botanika Osa Peninsula, Curio Collection by Hilton
Responded 14 Feb 2023
Hola Happiness773559, We appreciate your glowing review! It was a pleasure to welcome you, and we’re elated to know that you took full advantage of our surreal setting. From embarking on fishing tours to exploring the rainforest, we’re glad every excursion was phenomenal. We hope to welcome you again soon for another immersive experience. Muchas Gracias, Diego Oviedo General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sar1088 wrote a review Feb 2023
Kennesaw, Georgia21 contributions8 helpful votes
We went to the Botanika so the guys could fish. The girls relaxed by the pool and enjoyed the spa. We had great excursions.....from zip lining, to the river ride, visiting the chocolate factory and hiking the beautiful coast and rain forest. We had a great time doing these! The people who took us were wonderful! We had so many people who stood out that were so helpful and friendly....Pamela, Mama, the Chef, Dave Kanski at Costa Rica Fishing Adventures. Eduardo and Jose who took us on our adventures. It was a wonderful trip!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Dedicated Management, Owner at Botanika Osa Peninsula, Curio Collection by Hilton
Responded 9 Feb 2023
Hola Sar1088, What a wonderful review! We are delighted to hear about your incredible getaway to our secluded paradise. It’s always exciting to know when guests take full advantage of our rainforest environment, and we’re so glad you could experience an array of our thrilling excursions. Our team works incredibly hard to ensure every Botanika guest has an unforgettable escape, and we are so happy to hear about the superb service you received throughout your stay. We will be sure to pass along your kind regards. It was a pleasure welcoming you to our Costa Rica home, and we look forward to creating more memories together in the future. Muchas Gracias, Diego Oviedo
General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
acostajorge44 wrote a review Feb 2023
Miami, Florida757 contributions109 helpful votes
We have been to Costa Rica about 8 times and this is by far the best place we have stayed at. It was very clean and comfortable. The pool is large and amazing. They even provide sunscreen dispensers and nice towels. The grounds are kept meticulously and very well-landscaped. The food was amazing; from the large buffet breakfast to the excellent dinners. We felt like the staff was trained at the Ritz Carlton. They were all cordial and very friendly. Olympia (Team Momma) is a joy and she overseas that the staff delivers. There is plenty of wildlife to see on the property and the marina is just 3 to 5 minutes away. We caught Marlin, Sailfish, Dorado, and Roosterfish. The boat captains are excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony facing towards the sunrise or sunset.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dedicated Management, Owner at Botanika Osa Peninsula, Curio Collection by Hilton
Responded 8 Feb 2023
Hola acostajorge44, Thank you for the wonderful review! We’re thrilled to hear about your incredible Botanika experience, and we’re honored to be among your favorite places to visit in Costa Rica. It’s exciting to know that every aspect of your stay was phenomenal, from going on wildlife excursions to relaxing in our spacious pool and mingling with our welcoming team. We appreciate your kind words and will certainly share your warm sentiments with everyone. Whenever you’re dreaming of another rainforest adventure, know that our doors will be open. Muchas Gracias, Diego Oviedo General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rogi8 wrote a review Jan 2023
New York City, New York264 contributions205 helpful votes
The first morning we were here we thought we would have to leave early. The construction was completely destroying the peace at the pool and before we switched rooms we were overlooking it as well. Oddly they seemed to just be doing construction early in the morning and then the rest of the day was more peaceful. Then the next day it just stopped. We are guessing because the high season started then. The new buildings meant the rooms were very nice and spacious and this is the only luxury property nearby. The pool was awesome since the property is only half built and wasn’t at capacity even for that. Could get a bit tighter with four buildings. Also a minor suggestion, don’t have the pool bar and speakers around pool playing different nuance. The battle of the bands thing isn’t relaxing. Food was good for the most part with the exception of breakfast. They charged full fare for kids at what was one of the worst breakfast buffets we had seen in recent memory. Also as much as it’s nice to eat outside and you can still do that, setting up the buffet inside would probably be better so no bugs were on food. We skipped breakfast after the first day and bought some stuff at supermarket in town and used the nice kitchen in the room. We stayed for a week so options can get a bit old on food. Did order pizzamail.it delivery one night which was good. Also Marisqueria Corcovado was really good down by the water. The staff were extremely nice everywhere but still definitely working out the kinks. They forgot dishes at the pool restaurant often and service took awhile. One day they offered free drinks as an apology and then forgot the free drink. We did a couple tours through Osa Wild and a couple through Crocodile Bay. All were excellent. The Crocodile Bay guides Diego and Eduardo were both really dynamic. Diego found us all four types of monkeys on the Eco tour and Eduardo found us a variety of animals at night.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$126 - US$247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of PuntarenasOsa PeninsulaPuerto Jimenez
NUMBER OF ROOMS
43
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BOTANIKA OSA PENINSULA, CURIO COLLECTION BY HILTON: UPDATED 2023 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 188 Photos (Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Botanika Osa Peninsula, Curio Collection by Hilton
Which popular attractions are close to Botanika Osa Peninsula, Curio Collection by Hilton?
Nearby attractions include Artes de Osa (0.7 km), Los Higuerones (0.9 km), and Corcovado2,5 (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Botanika Osa Peninsula, Curio Collection by Hilton?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Botanika Osa Peninsula, Curio Collection by Hilton?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Botanika Osa Peninsula, Curio Collection by Hilton?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Botanika Osa Peninsula, Curio Collection by Hilton?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Botanika Osa Peninsula, Curio Collection by Hilton?
Conveniently located restaurants include Soda Jimenez, Pizzamail.it, and Marisqueria Corcovado.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Botanika Osa Peninsula, Curio Collection by Hilton?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and an outdoor pool during their stay.
Does Botanika Osa Peninsula, Curio Collection by Hilton have airport transportation?
Yes, Botanika Osa Peninsula, Curio Collection by Hilton offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at Botanika Osa Peninsula, Curio Collection by Hilton?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Botanika Osa Peninsula, Curio Collection by Hilton offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Botanika Osa Peninsula, Curio Collection by Hilton?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.