Chosa Manglar Nature Retreat

Chosa Manglar Nature Retreat

Aeropuerto Oeste 150 Meters West Of The Airport, Puerto Jimenez 60702 Costa Rica
Cheeky monkey that steals bananas from the kitchen.
Traveller (49)
Rooms are very comfortable with AC & are well thought out.
Room & Suite (15)
Outdoor colorful restaurant seating.
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#7 of 12 hotels in Puerto Jimenez
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
At "Chosa Manglar Nature Retreat" you are GUARANTEED to see WILDLIFE. How certain are we? Well, have you ever sat in a Tropical Lounge and viewed from your chair a Scarlet Macaw, a Monkey or a Kinkajou? You can at "La Chosa". Many guests have said they see more wildlife at "Chosa del Manglar Nature Retreat" than at any other location during their Costa Rica vacation.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bicycle rental
Boating
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Diving
Hiking
Horseback riding
Snorkelling
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Patio
Walking tours
Couples massage
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Laundry service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Aeropuerto Oeste 150 Meters West Of The Airport, Puerto Jimenez 60702 Costa Rica
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 78 out of 100
78
Puerto Jimenez Airport
Golfito Airport
18.6 km
See all flights
101Reviews3Q+A15Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 47
  • 28
  • 13
  • 5
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Bev C wrote a review Jan 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We absolutely loved it here. On the grounds we saw capuchins, scarlet macaws, toucans, raccoons, tiger herons and frogs.

The room was basic but clean with hot water and decent A/C.

What makes it though are the owners. They really cared about our stay. I took a bad fall and they cleaned me up and checked in on me.

We booked the Corcovado day hike through their guy. It was incredible. We paid a bit extra to get dropped at Drake Bay after the tour and to have our own guide. It was worth every penny.

Don't listen to any negative reviews. We have toured around Costa Rica and Panama for a month now. We're in our mid 30s so we avoid hostels and stay in places that are basic and clean.

All accommodation under $100 a night is basic in CR. If you can get A/C and hot water then you're winning. This place had a shared kitchen which admittedly was a mess but only because of a few younger guests. The poor hotel staff cleaned this up every night.

This place was everything we needed and had the added bonus of beautiful nature and great staff.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
harmen_1984 wrote a review Jul 2022
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This place lies in de mangroves, which makes this very good place to see a lot of animals which is nice. The staff is very pleasant and helpful! (They knew we wanted to see animals so when they saw something they pointed them out to us.) The rooms were very basic and ours a little damp. It was advertised as having a 'river view' but I wouldn't really call those mangroves a 'river but it was nice enough. We saw a racoon there :)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
travelfan1951 wrote a review Apr 2023
California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Andrew and Jackie have created a one-of—kind place in an amazing part of Costa Rica! They are eager to help you get the most out of your stay and provide great info on things to do. So glad we chose to stay here for our time in the Osa Peninsula! It was a unforgettable experience!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tiphaine C wrote a review Jun 2022
Reunion Island
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I’ll go straight to facts. When I checked in, the lady at reception took my payment for a room in Chosa Manglar. Then, AFTER THE PAYMENT, she told me that she has 2 rooms available, one at the back and one at the front. Of course, I thought it was 2 rooms in Chosa Manglar, which corresponded to the price I paid, so I answered : ok I will have the one in the front so I can be closer to the raccoons (never even saw one but that’s not the point). So I got the room in the front and was really disappointed, it didn’t look like what I saw on the pictures of my reservation. The room was ugly, the tap barely working, the decoration almost non existent. I would never have paid more than 70 euros for that. The day after, she told me that I actually stayed in Palapa hut and not the Chosa Manglar I paid for. Palapa Hut is half the price of what I paid. I felt scammed. Why didn’t she tell me that there was a price difference between the 2 available rooms? If I knew, I would obviously have chosen the Chosa Manglar room I paid for!!! But she never mentioned the price difference, she let me stay in that cheap room even if I had paid double the price. No compensation was offered, only a rude attitude when I asked about a solution to this problem. I should have trusted all the negative reviews I have read about them. This lady is dishonest and only cares about making money. The rooms are bad and way too expensive. I have stayed in 12 different lodges in Costa Rica, all of them amazing, and this place was the only disappointment. To avoid!!! Worst customer service ever
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew Gray, Owner at Chosa Manglar Nature Retreat
Responded 4 Nov 2022
Here's what you really need to know about the place. The quoted text below was written by a fellow traveler and left here on Trip Advisor, who really understands the essence of the place, unlike someone who is upset with room pricing and because the business had the nerve to NOT adjust the room price downwards after they asked the staff to move them to a section of the property where their friend was staying so they could be closer to each other. We did move the guest at no charge AFTER the guest asked us to do them a BIG FAVOR! Some Big Favour huh? "Don't listen to any negative reviews. We have toured around Costa Rica and Panama for a month now. We're in our mid 30s so we avoid hostels and stay in places that are basic and clean. All accommodation under $100 a night is basic in CR. If you can get A/C and hot water then you're winning. This place had a shared kitchen which admittedly was a mess but only because of a few younger guests. The poor hotel staff cleaned this up every night. This place was everything we needed and had the added bonus of beautiful nature and great staff." Pura Vida, Andrew
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lisamtravels003 wrote a review May 2023
East Gwillimbury, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I traveled alone but stayed with 4 strangers in a house, we had all signed up for a wildlife photography workshop. Loved Chosa Manglar and how authentically we were living. Its rustic but comfortable. NO tv...no distractions. We had a kitchen and all the necessities. The bedrooms are basic but comfortable. The beach is within walking distance which was perfect as there is no pool on the property. Nature though, is truly front and center stage here. You can see crabs, monkeys, macaws, iguanas and other countless species here. The rooftop observation deck is absolutely a peaceful way to start your morning, or end your day. There are other people around but its not very often you see them as everyone is out doing their thing. It's a great home base for exploring - surfing, or if you are planning a trip to Corcovado Park. This is NOT 5 star all inclusive resort where you are waited on hand and foot...but rather a rustic, authentic way of living the simple life. I absolutely loved it and the closeness to nature.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Find a good driver if you plan on going further, plan meals ahead if possible, there is a fridge...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew Gray, Owner at Chosa Manglar Nature Retreat
Responded 1 week ago
We are very happy you enjoyed what we offered. Pura Vida!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Storyteller29191 wrote a review May 2006
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We just returned from La Choza, and were very diasspointed. We are budget travelers, so we know not too expect much when paying reasonable prices, but this was pretty bad. First of all, although the grounds of the hotel are nice and quaint, the rooms are extremely damp and musty. We had mold on our sheets, for example. We switched rooms, and it smeeled just as bad as the first.

Second, the owners were very distrustful and they treated both their own staff and local workers poorly. For example, they recommended a guide for us to visit a nearby park. We were told we must pay the hotel for the service, but that they do not take any of the guide's profit. After returning from our tour, we witnessed a public altercation between the owners and the guide because they took part of his money. Also, one of the owners offered his bicycles to us so we could ride to the beach. We thought he was being nice until we were stiffed with a $40 bill.

I would be careful if you stay here.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gerjanne V wrote a review Jul 2015
Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay at La Chosa del Manglar turned out to be a complete nightmare! During our stay the night guard broke into our cabin several times. As a reaction to this theft we got insulted, treated very aggressively and accused of being frauds by the owners.

I came to Puerto Jimenez to do fieldwork for my master thesis. Before arriving my boyfriend and I had made a deal with Andrew Gray of staying at his place paying 300 dollar per month and working and helping out at the hotel. We noticed often how fast we were running out of money, but we were new in Costa Rica, getting used to the new currency and prices, we didn’t worry. Till one morning another couple staying at La Chosa del Manglar reported theft from their room. We checked the accounts of our expenses and soon realized we were being robbed too.

The night guard, Beningo Aleman, was immediately suspected by other staff members. He was called into the office and there he confessed he had broken into our cabin several times when we were out. We tried to contact the owners Jacqueline and Andrew Gray immediately, by calling, Skype calling, WhatsApp and email. When Jacqueline spoke to us on the phone she told us that they as owners of the hotel and employers of Beningo would be responsible for the theft. They would compensate the first bit by the rent, and give us the remaining part when arriving in Puerto Jimenez. We would not go to the police to keep the image of the hotel clean, and she told us the police would probably not help us anyways.

The next day Benigno, the thief, came to me in the hotel when I was alone. He said he wanted to talk with me on which I agreed since I wanted to hear his side of the story. He told me he had stolen the money to send it to his mother who was sick. Then he asked me for help. Jacqueline and Andrew had withhold his full month salary to pay the thefts back, and he didn’t had any money to eat or to take care of his daughter. I cried as I felt honestly bad for him, but I told him to ask other people for help, not me, as he had just stolen from me!

When we heard owner Andrew Gray would come to town we emailed both Jacqueline and Andrew that we expected our money at their arrival, since we were planning to leave soon. When Andrew arrived and we tried to start a conversation he exploded to complete rage. He always speaks with an extremely loud voice, but this was just monstrous. He was screaming he didn't owe us anything, that we had invented the whole theft to rip him off. I was completely shocked! He seemed to have just decided to turn the truth completely upside down, to save his image or “his” money, not caring a least bit about his guests. He became so aggressive that we directly went to the police. They accompanied us to gather our belongings and brought us to another place to stay.

Andrew Gray was lying full faced to the police, inventing that me and my boyfriend are frauds, thieves, liars, he later even made up we are druggies. He screamed at us he would sue us as we would post our experience on TripAdvisor when we were leaving this horrific hotel! It was bad enough being stolen from your hotel room by the night guard who is supposed to protect you in the first place, but having the owner take the money from the guard, and not returning it to the robbed guests, but keeping it in his own pocket, treating his guests in the most horrible way, is just hard to believe! Andrew didn’t want a conversation with us and the police 'because it would be too emotional for him' (!!!) meanwhile posting a Facebook message saying that the people of Puerto Jimenez and Costa Rica should look out for the Dutch couple G and J, frauds, cheaters, whatsoever. Leaving us in a position having to defend ourselves for something we were the victims of.

Puerto Jimenez is a lovely and beautiful town, of which I keep warm memories. It should not miss on your travel itinerary. Luckily there are many very nice other places in and around town to choose from. Just make sure you stay away from La Chosa del Manglar to retain yourself from such a nightmare.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chosadelmanglar, Owner at Chosa Manglar Nature Retreat
Responded 23 Jul 2015
I am not going to dignify this diatribe by responding in a public manner to something that is presently under police investigation, other than to say that things are not always what others would have you believe. Fraudulent activity by guests and or employees is never appreciated and will be dealt with aggressively, so if you think you can do it at la Chosa and get away with it please understand that you are wrong. We will not let you away with it and we will call you on it. In this case you received compensation for lost monies via your travel insurance company, which is how you should receive it. However you failed to pay your last 22 days of rental upon departure. That is theft. It is also very clear to me now why you waited to publish this until after you had left the country. I assume you thought i wouldn't pursue my claim in your home country. Little did you know that i am also a European citizen and have complete rights to file a claim against you in Europe for theft. Let me reiterate so there is no misunderstanding for any future guests. Fraudsters and/or thieves are NOT welcome at La Chosa del Manglar. Be forewarned.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eric L wrote a review Feb 2019
Terrebonne, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Did we like our experience at Chosa Del Manglar? We loved it! The staff was, by far, the nicest we met during our trip around the country. The owner, Jackie, along with her staff, have only one thing in mind: your happiness and well-being. If there is an issue, tell them and they will fix it in the minute, litterally.

The site, idillic, offers some of the best monkey watching of any site in the country. Hords of white-faced monkeys come a couple of feet from your cabin. In fact, sometimes, they were so close that we thought they would jump on us. A fantastic experience! But, do not think that you can only see white-faced monkeys, since we had the opportunity to observe upclose spider monkeys, tucans, parrots, hummingbirds and much more, right there on site!

We strongly recommend you take their Reserva Chimpol Tour through the primary jungle. Ask to walk the Mirador-La Ceiba Trail which will transport you into the deep peninsula jungle. That was one of the nicest trail we did in our life. In fact, the nature was so rich that we felt like it was going to engulf us. I would go as far as to claim that it was a mystical experience. Also, it’s very reasonably priced at 39$USD (compared to the outrageous 90-120$USD Corcovado one-day tours - see below for more on Puerto Jimenez). On the Chimpol Tour, you will see trees hundreds of years old, wild animals, spiders, countless ants colonies, hidden waterfalls, all this while you follow your guide opening the trail with a machete. Unreal!

Note that the entire walk is around 12 hours, so you have to be in good shape. If you go on the tour, which you definitely should, make sure you wear good walking shoes, flip-flops (for the 8 rivers crossings), a towel, a 1 liter watter bottle (that you can refill along the way in one of the many clean-water sources), sunscreen, some snacks and a sandwich, a headlamp (should you come back after sunset as it happened to us), and a hat to offer some shade on a very sunny day. The resort offers two guides, Rony and Benny, both very knowlegeable and friendly. We had a great time with Benny who only speaks Spanish. Rony speaks some English. If you take the tour, which leaves at 6am, ask them to keep you some breakfast for when you come back. As we mentioned, these guys are great!

Breakfast is offered for free each morning from 7am to 10am. You can have creamy eggs, pinto, bread, fresh fruits and jelly. Coffee is available all day for free. Also, they offer free filtered water (nice touch). There is a bar and they sell beer. For those who fancy a swim, they have two very clean pools. You can also use one of their campsites or rent camping equipment on site.

Walking around the site itself is an experience and the main strong point about this place. They even have a butterfly garden and marked trails. Gorgeous!

Should you wish to wash your clothes, there is a laundrymat accross the street. They charged us 5$USD for 3kg of clothes and they will wash, dry and fold your stuff.

The room cleanliness was acceptable and our cabin offered AC which was an amazing addition, especially during the heat wave we experienced at the time. Note that electricity cuts out a couple of times every now and then, but only for a couple of seconds. Our room offered a water tap outside to clean our stuff and feet. Also, the room had a shower, a toilet and a bahroom sink. A nice addition would be shelves, which we didn’t have in the room. There are terrasses and chairs outside each cabin.

On the downside, the Wi-Fi was very irregular and we often had difficulties simply uploading a picture on Facebook, which was frustrating. They were aware of the problem.

Should you decide to visit Puerto Jimenez, we cannot recommend this place enough. Amazing stay!

Puerto Jimenez and around

There is much to say about Puerto Jimenez, and most of it, in our experience, is not positive. Let us explain.

We arrived on the 12pm bus from San Jose at 8pm and, as it happens to most tourists landing there, we were approached by a very dodgy looking taxi driver, which we kindly refused. Then, there is the challenge to find the hotel which was not as easy as we thought. The town is oddly made and confusing, there were constructions on various streets and we had to ask to several people and correct our itinerary as we walked along.

On our first day, we tried to get organized and we explored the city. We went to most tour organisers and asked for prices and options to Corcovado. Most tour operators are offering the same products, only the prices vary, from 90$USD to several hundreds (for similar products!). So, for heaven’s sake, please do go around and shop your tour because these unscupulous people - more than anywhere else in the country - are only interested in one thing: your money.

As most travelers go to Osa to take a Corcovado Tour, which the local operators know too well, all the infrastructures are build around that activity. Know that you cannot enter the park without a guide. Solo exploration is therefore not an option here. Taxis will cost you around 80$USD per person for a 45 minutes drive, regardless of the number of people in the car. The cheapest fare we found, after 30 minutes of haggling, was 75$ for two, to both Carate and Matapalo with a private 4x4 (Tony : 506 83 31 57 81).

Most tours do NOT (let us emphasize NOT) include transportation and/or entrance to the park, so, again, do your homework and do not let convincing marketing get to you. Remember, all tour operators, regardless of their marketing skills, offer more or less the same experience. So, if you are adament about visiting Corcovado, regardless of the price, go for the cheapest.

One of the operators, Osa Dreams, offers a tour to Piro which is an interesting alternative to the Corcovado Tour, but it’s still 75$ per person (negotiated price) for a half-day. You will find their office on the main street under the Eco Tours banner near the police station.

Here are the lessons we learned from our 5 hours shopping tour and 5 days stay in town.

All operators will let you off in Carate. Then, you will have to walk 1 hour to the park’s entrance in La Leona. There, a guide will take you for a walk less than half-way to the Sirena ranger outpost. Know that the trail is along the beach, so you will not actually get into the jungle itself. You will follow other groups of tourists looking up - cameras in hands - and expecting to take pictures of animals. By the way, no operator guarantees that you will see any animal (which actually makes sense). Moreover, in the summer, it is very common that you will have to come back half-way through your planned walk if someone in your group has a heat-stroke, which we were told happens all the time because of the very hot temperature close to the beach. And, by the way, should this happen to you, do not expect a refund. They will not keep their promise, but they will keep your « plata ». Welcome to Puero Jimenez!

In our experience, sharing our impressions with many other outraged fellow travelers who came to Osa to visit Corcovado, we can confidently say that almost half of them changed their minds because of the inflated prices which verge on criminal extorsion. So, this is when the Reserva Chimpol Tour comes in as a great alternative (see above).

Renting a bike can also be a challenge. Do not be surprised to pay between 10$USD to 25$USD a day for a rental. Although it’s very expensive for bikes that are not all in good shape, it is still cheaper than taking a taxi. A piece of advice, try using Uber or offering some money to a fellow traveler with a rental car.

There is a collective minibus that leaves every morning at 6am for Carate (10$USD) and Matapalo (5$USD) for a reasonable price should you wish to go there. If you go to Matapalo, you may want to check out the King Louis waterfall. To find the « collectivo » office, ask around for the « collectivo » and locals will tell you where to find it. You can buy your ticket the day before to secure a place.

If you feel like bathing, you can take the road south east from the airport which will bring you to Playa Preciosa. The walk is around 6km and is nice. Watch out for small (but mean) dogs along the way. On the street before the Delphin Bar (coming from the airport), there is a small trail on the right (about 5 minutes walking from the bar) where you can see crocodiles at some times of the year. There is a small laguna of greenish still water.

We finally decided to rent some bikes at Ciclo Paniagua, on the main street (tel.: 506 27 35 58 36) for around 10$USD to go to Rancho Raices in Cañazo for a chocolate tour. That was a great experience that we enjoyed a lot, although accordingly priced at 40$USD for a 2:30 hours tour. The ride is 13km each way and you get to see plenty of palm trees plantations along road 245. Mora beach, is also accessible through a dirt road south of the ranch.For a nice meal, stop at Soda Denia which offer great food for cheap. Note that Ciclo Paniagua rents bikes with gears, not the usual « banana » bikes which are not good for long rides. The rental place in front of the BM supermarket only rents fat bikes for 25$USD a day. These are good for riding on the beach.

Should you want to eat well at a reasonable price, we found that Soda Valeria and Soda Sabroso were the best options.

The supermarkets are some of the most expensive we found in the country. Here, expect to pay 30% more for solar screen and 10-20% more for everything else. The Pali supermarket, next to the bus statio, offers a little bit better prices, but still high.

Puerto Jimenez has slowly took the title as the main doorway to Corcovado from neighbouring Drake, but prices have become inflated to the point of extorsion. If you have the money, be their guest. However, my wife and I like to pay fair prices and we were not willing to be screwed that hard. Instead, we chose to keep our money to go to Disneyland, which is (astonishingly) still cheaper than the « Corcovado Ripoff », not to mention that our friend Walt does keep his promise and shows us animals!

Would we go back to Puerto Jimenez if we would have known this beforehand? Yes, probably. But we would stay only 3 nights at Chosa Del Manglar. The reason being that we kind of lost two days just making sense of this confusing and overpriced place. This also explains why we wrote this extensive review to help other fellow travelers not to fall into the trap.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dave B wrote a review Sept 2014
Brussels, Belgium
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a great trip in Costa Rica and to honoust, there was only one place that we almost left instantly, La Choza del Manglar in Puerto Jimenez...

The place looks like a wasteland.. It was the only place where we had to pay for the room upfront which is not normal at all. But when we got to the room we knew why we had to pay upfront. Everything was dirty and the receptionist didn't speak a word English.

We stayed there because we were making a trip from Manuel Antonio to Carate and were affraid that the trip would take to long. We learned that the trip from Puerto Jimenez to Carate only takes 1 / 1,5 hour because the roads aren't perfect but a 4x4 will take you there with no problem at all.

If you can, skip this place!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lachozadelmanglar, Owner at Chosa Manglar Nature Retreat
Responded 3 Jan 2015
La Choza del Manglar has been described many ways over the years but this is the first time that it has been called a wasteland. I have no idea how this word was chosen but it is not accurate in the least. Read the rest of the reviews to get an accurate idea of what La Choza is all about, namely proximity to flora and fauna extraordinaire. Sorry the guest missed the essence of the place, but it happens sometimes and there is nothing one can do to change the loss.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Grogbox wrote a review Jan 2015
London, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Happy with the stay ... red lourde parrots and guan in the trees, capuchin monkeys doing high-spirited stuff. Grand murals everywhere, including throughout the cabin. Service is minimal and 'not even bread' is the stated provision for breakfast (there's a pot of coffee, and water for tea comes hot from a tap). Handy for the airport and there are provisions an easy walk away in town. Broke us in to jungle living.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica11 contributions3 helpful votes
Thee is no resort fee. Some rooms have safe deposit boxes in the room and others have use of front desk safe for free
Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica11 contributions3 helpful votes
You can travel by bus, car, taxi, plane or boat to PJ. Yes we have single rooms for $25 per night. Yes we can organize hikes with local guides. We can recommend a number of restaurants and bars for our social activity. The weather is hot.
Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica11 contributions3 helpful votes
Sorry for the late answer Margaux but with hopes of helping other travelers i will answer now. We are located a two hour drive to the end of the road in Carate as are all hotels in Puerto Jimenez. Yes we can help arrange guided tours. Costs of guides vary but budget $100 per day per person for park tours. Cheers, Andrew
lisamtravels003 wrote a tip May 2023
East Gwillimbury, Canada116 contributions91 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Find a good driver if you plan on going further, plan meals ahead if possible, there is a fridge and NO oven. Enjoy!"
Read full review
Arnd wrote a tip Jul 2021
6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Look for the big signs naming the hotel, google maps isn’t leading to the main entrance"
Read full review
Carla P wrote a tip Jul 2019
13 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Wifi works well in large common area."
Read full review
Slothful1 wrote a tip Feb 2019
Ontario, Canada67 contributions62 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go far from the reception."
Read full review
Jacek J wrote a tip Feb 2019
10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"You pay more, You get better room"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Puerto Jimenez area.
PRICE RANGE
S$94 - S$163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of PuntarenasOsa PeninsulaPuerto Jimenez
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CHOSA MANGLAR NATURE RETREAT: See 63 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 131 Photos (Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica)

Frequently Asked Questions about Chosa Manglar Nature Retreat
Which popular attractions are close to Chosa Manglar Nature Retreat?
Nearby attractions include Artes de Osa (0.3 km) and Los Higuerones (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Chosa Manglar Nature Retreat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and meeting rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Chosa Manglar Nature Retreat?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, an additional bathroom, and blackout curtains.
Is parking available at Chosa Manglar Nature Retreat?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Chosa Manglar Nature Retreat?
Conveniently located restaurants include Italian Restaurant Y Pizzeria Carolina, Hellen's Chill House, and El Rinconcito Saboroso.
Does Chosa Manglar Nature Retreat offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Chosa Manglar Nature Retreat?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Is Chosa Manglar Nature Retreat accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Puerto Jimenez HotelsPuerto Jimenez Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Puerto JimenezHotels near Chosa Manglar Nature Retreat
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire