We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

La Chosa del Manglar

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
La Chosa del Manglar
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 36: English reviews
Heredia, Costa Rica
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We chose La Chosa del Manglar due to the excellent location. When we arrived. Liliana sent one of the staff to the airport to assist us with our luggage and escort us to the hotel. That was a really nice touch. The resort has several options from renting a house, remote cabins on the beach, individual rooms and a bunkhouse...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth7228
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for five nights. Room was basic, very clean and with air con so very comfortable. Wildlife around the gardens was amazing saw 3 types of monkey, racoon, red macaws, and very big lizard. That had a show with local children dancing national dances one evening, the meal of the day was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 786lesleyw
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here two nights before hiking Corcovado in the double and one night after in the Palapa hut. It's conveniently located next to the airport, the plane noise wasn't bothersome at all. A/C in the rooms were great. The locks are a little jenky but I never felt it was an issue. There is a new burrito/smoothie hut nearby...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank forestrrr
Chosadelmanglar, Owner at La Chosa del Manglar, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your great review. We've just opened the restaurant, bar, outdoor garden and tour operations areas for this season so we're still trying to find our groove so that we can eventually reach their potential. I have no doubt we will continue to improve our offering. As an example we host a folkloric dance and art exhibition...

Ghent, Belgium
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Chosa! The room was nicely decorated and it was big. The kitchen that you can use is fully equiped, so we used it a lot! Use the hammocks to relax and spot some Ara's and other wildlife, it is very nice! It is the perfect location to go to Corcovado. Ideal for backpackers but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank famphilippeth
Reviewed 22 March 2016 via mobile

It ' was very very very bad . The worst place I have tried here in Costa Rica. On booking.com they say are 13% more on the price , but it is not clear that there are also 12dollars more per night ! The staff was having fun of us , and it was really unpolite. The room was too...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Roberto B
Chosadelmanglar, Owner at La Chosa del Manglar, responded to this review

Wow Roberto, it sounds like you had a truly horrible experience!! And now you are on a second sight leaving your nasty remarks once again. It's amazing what a $12.00 property usage fee can induce in some people. I even had one guy tell me it was illegal and he was gong to the police for the same thing. Even...

Reviewed 12 March 2016

We have been visiting Costa Rica for 6 years now and found this little gem last year. We have stayed there twice (this year included). La Chosa del Manglar is an ideal stopping point for the Osa peninsula. It is a good location for moving about. It is well located in the town, not too central, making it a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaun H
Chosadelmanglar, Owner at La Chosa del Manglar, responded to this review

I am so happy you have returned two years running and we look forward to having you return whenever you wish. Nuestra Chosa es Su Chosa. Muchas gracias de Familia Gray Ortega and the while gang at la Chosa.

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 6 March 2016 via mobile

This place is absolutely incredible! Never have I felt more excited to share about an experience. The property of La Chosa is rich in beauty, with exotic flora and fauna everywhere you look and a team of people working hard to make your stay pleasant and enjoyable. We have had the pleasure of interacting with a spunky spider monkey, white...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa T
Chosadelmanglar, Owner at La Chosa del Manglar, responded to this review

It's always nice to read that other people can feel the same way about La Chosa as we do. Thanks for visiting. Pura Vida!

Odenton, Maryland
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

A group of about 23 of us rented out this place for a friends Group Honeymoon! It was the perfect place!! They have lots of space, friendly staff, clean private rooms, great proximity to the beach and lots of activities that you can book. The scenery was beautiful and we draw lots of animals on the property: 2 different types...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kellimarie31
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 1 October 2015

Cabinas on large place, a lot of trees arrond, birds, friendly owner. Perfect kitchen equipment, you can prepair everything you want. Good place for start trips on peninsula Osa. Its not low cost, but its very nice and comfortable accommodation.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pavel O
Reviewed 24 August 2015 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay here and saw a lot of wildlife in the beautiful garden: carrots, little crocodile and racoons! We were welcomed by the nice and funny owner and the nice staff. The beds are good. Definitely worth the money and time.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lars G

106 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (76)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (43)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
2.9 km away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
283 reviews
1.9 km away
Las Islas Lodge
Las Islas Lodge
#4 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
176 reviews
19.4 km away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
#1 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
461 reviews
0.3 km away
Oro Verde Hostel
Oro Verde Hostel
#7 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
24 reviews
3.0 km away
Iguana Lodge
Iguana Lodge
#2 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At "La Chosa del Manglar" (or "The Mangrove Hut" if you prefer the English version) you are GUARANTEED to see WILDLIFE. How certain are we? Well, have you ever sat in a Tropical Lounge and seen a Scarlet Macaw, a Monkey or a Kinkajou? You will at "La Chosa". Many guests have said they see more wildlife at "La Chosa del Manglar" than at any other location during their Costa Rica vacation. We just reopened in February of 2014 after being closed for the best part of the last five years. We built some new rooms during that time which we are sure will now offer our guests greater variety and comfort while visiting La Chosa. Come and stay with us, whether for just a few days or a few weeks. We are only a five minute walk to downtown Puerto Jimenez and only 300 meters from one of the nicest beaches here. Gentle waves will lull you on our beautiful chocolate sand beaches, cavorting Scarlet Macaws (Lapas) will fly and play throughout the gardens of "La Chosa". This is truly a birders paradise. You don't even have to leave your room or cabin to see these impressive Macaws and the many other varieties of exotic birds that visit here. Don't forget to spend some time in the lounge, decorated with beautiful hand painted murals that showcase the "Intimate & World Famous" Monkey Bar. The bar is yours to work as you please during your visit. It has been converted to a communal bar. We offer WIFI so bring your laptops, smartphones or tablets if you want or need to hook up. La Chosa now offers a funky beach hut on 13 acres with 150 meters of beach frontage with secluded sun bathing areas; a beautiful 4 bedroom, 4 bathroom tropical home in Puerto Jimenez & finally a secluded "Mountain Cabin" in the interior of the OSA overlooking Corcovado National Park for the truly adventurous. ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Chosa del Manglar

Address: | 150 meters west of the Airfield, Puerto Jimenez 60702, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Price Range: $44 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Chosa del Manglar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your La Chosa del Manglar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Chosa del Manglar staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from La Chosa del Manglar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is the original house which is available for rent with amazing rooms, great lounge and rooftop terrace.”
 of 5 bubbles shaunh640, 12 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Quiet, a lovely Costa Rican wildlife area with all the amenities.”
 of 5 bubbles Efreken, 22 May 2015 | Read review
“Rooms at the back of the hotel don't have wifi, but rooms closer to the road do.”
 of 5 bubbles RyanMe, 28 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Don't expect luxury bedrooms, just wonderful tropical gardens.”
 of 5 bubbles pattyford, 20 Feb 2014 | Read review
“The website says that the cabins in the back have the best wildlife viewing, but they also are without air conditioning, and with the heat and humidity the air conditioning was really a necessity. There are plenty of places to stand or sit to view wildlife throughout the property, and you can easily walk to any part of the property, so I'd go with one of the air conditioned rooms. Room six is the largest of the air conditioned rooms (it's where we stayed--actually a two-room suite); others are described as quite small, although I didn't see them.”
 of 5 bubbles slands2000, 25 Mar 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay