We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hostel Casa Colon

TravelocityUS$35*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$45*
US$35*
US$45*
US$35*
US$45*
US$35*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

282 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hostel Casa Colon
See the most recent reviews
Showing 168: English reviews
Sandnes, Norway
Reviewed 26 December 2016

San José was not a city of my taste. Therefor I finished my trip here just before my morning flight the next day. Case Colon is a very good hostel. It's big, clean and has a nice friendly staff. They also offer an airport shuttle. It´s located centrally in the city, and was only a 10 minute walk from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ptByrkjedal
HostelCasaColon, Front Office Manager at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this review

Hello! We are pleased that you qualified very well the services offered. We try to improve every day each one of our services. Thank you for your comment!

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Casa Colon is a hostel with it's own restarurant. I was in the restaurant and was GREATLY disapointed. I was here for a cooffe during the day to check the place out. and it seemed nice. However I asked for a menue to order lunch - I got the menue but then no one wanted to take my order for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaos M
HostelCasaColon, Front Office Manager at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this review

We regret the bad service received, was a shame that you dont communicated directly with the manager, we would have tried to immediately resolve it. We regretted that you had to spend a bad time in our restaurant. Never something similar will happen again. We really apologize!

Freehold, New Jersey
Reviewed 5 December 2016

I read the reviews of this hostel that left me with the impression that it would be mediocre. That was all I really needed for one night in San Jose anyway. However, I had a private room. When I unfolded the sheets, there was dirt and pubes everywhere. It was disgusting. I've stayed in some gross hostels, but that was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Alexandra S
HostelCasaColon, Front Office Manager at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this review

Breakfast is served from Monday to Sunday from 6:00am to 9:30 am. If there is a guest that leaves before we leave a sandwich at the reception. It has never happened that the restaurant is closed and we do not offer breakfast. We did not have any complaints about the bathroom in that room of other customers and when any...

Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

This is a great little hotel in the heart of San Jose, the staff are very warm and friendly and the attached restaurant served basic but delicious food. Our room was very big with a massive bed and ensuite bathroom. I would definitely recommend staying here for a night or two

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank philmaynard
HostelCasaColon, General Manager at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this review

We really appreciate your review, hope to see you the next time.

Abbotsford, Canada
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

We had a great time on our first night in San Jose. Close to bus terminal, 3 blocks away. Costs $9 US to go to playas del coco. The place was friendly and safe. Nice Italian restaurant beside the hostel. They even had a hair dryer. Breakfast was ok. Egg, bread, cheese,jam n tea and juice. So happy the location...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank grace f
HostelCasaColon, Front Office Manager at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this review

It is really good to know our Hotel was a good choice for you. Thank you very much for your comments! Best Regards.

Antigua, Guatemala
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Clean and spacious hostel with really nice carved beams and comfy seating area. It was a little soulless when I was there, but it was low season. I stayed in the dorm at the back of the hostel and couldn't hear any noise from the road, 3 good nights sleep. The breakfast was a bit of a poor, possibly should...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tetlstone
HostelCasaColon, Front Office Manager at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time and give us your review. We are really glad to hear your stay here was a good experience. Best regards!

Hamilton, Canada
Reviewed 15 October 2016

My partner and I began our two week adventure at Hotel Casa Colon. We took a taxi from the airport, having made reservations here. When we arrived, we were offered a larger / more private room upstairs. We politely turned the room down, as we were happy with our original booking. It was close to the shared bathrooms, so the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nikki W
HostelCasaColon, Front Office Manager at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this review

First at all, we are very thankful with you for taking the time to give us your detailed review. Thank you for the comment about the hand-dryer, we are really going to take it in count. And finally, is great to hear that your experience was comfortable. Best regards!

Kingston, Jamaica
Reviewed 10 September 2016

This is a great place to stay...my go-to place in San Jose. The location can´t be beat - you will be close to the market, as well as the bus station to Turrialba. The airport will just be a 20 to 30 minute car drive away - it will be easy to flag down a Taxi and you should not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Johanna R
HostelCasaColon, Manager at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this review

Thanks for your recommend our Hostel, Hope to see you the next time. We really apreciate the recommendation for the toilets Greetings!

Reviewed 1 August 2016

We stayed here for just one night before a flight out of San José. It's a $5 taxi ride from the Tica bus stop. It was the perfect choice because it feels more like a hotel. Our dorm was clean with comfortable beds and there are hot showers so we got a good night's sleep and were refreshed for a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cleo P
HostelCasaColon, Director de Recepción at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments! We are happy to hear our Hostel was a good experience for you and our staff was friendly! For us is very important to keep all the areas as clean as possible. Your review is very important for us, and help us to know what we need to improve and put our attention. Best regards!

Cambridge, Massachusetts
Reviewed 22 July 2016

I stayed here for a night before departing San Jose. Pros: -This place has a great location - just a short walk to the main shopping area in San Jose. -The staff was nice - and pointed out the safe areas to walk around in the city. -The rooms were very clean - it felt more like a hotel that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephanie Lynn D
HostelCasaColon, Director de Recepción at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments! We are happy to hear our location was good for you. Also is great to know our staff was helpful. For us is very important to keep all the areas as clean as possible. Your comment is very important for us, and help us to know what we need to improve and put our attention. Best...

223 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (68)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (119)
Viewed
Deluxe Private Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Second Deluxe Private Room (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.5 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 84 in San Jose
930 reviews
1.3 km away
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
#57 of 84 in San Jose
487 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#41 of 84 in San Jose
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#12 of 84 in San Jose
266 reviews
4.6 km away
Colours Oasis Resort
Colours Oasis Resort
#30 of 84 in San Jose
236 reviews
1.3 km away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 84 in San Jose
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hostel Casa Colon is a beautiful colonial house in the 50s, with an architectural design typical of the period, with artisan hand carved cedar. We are a boutique Hostel with excellent quality, higher standards of each of the services Located in an excellent tourist and commercial area with easy access to services (banks, ATM machines, supermarkets, bars, restaurants, gas stations, shops, transport, etc) We offer private and shared rooms, bar and restaurant, security, excellent customer service and tourist information, free parking, TV room with flat screen cable TV. The comfortable private rooms have flat screen, cable TV, wireless internet access and housekeeping. (In addition sofa in Junior Suite) The dorms have bunk beds, free lockers, shared bathrooms spotless. The bar and restaurant offers delicious dishes for breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostel Casa Colon

Address: Paseo Colon, Calle 24 Norte | Contiguo a Torre Mercedes, San Jose 1255-1200, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Price Range: $25 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Casa Colon 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hostel Casa Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Casa Colon Hotel San Jose
Hostel Casa Colon Costa Rica/San Jose
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostel Casa Colon staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from Hostel Casa Colon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Definitely choose a room in the back away from the busy road”
oxford2017, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't get a taxi from ticabus, walk! it is about 300 metres away at most.”
tetlstone, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs may get you a quieter sleep :)”
45nikkiw, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you are a light sleeper and are in a private room, perhaps ask for a room a bit further from the dorm rooms.”
jricha06, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“if you're booking a dorm ask for one upstairs, you wont get any sleep downstairs!”
F4229JDmattl, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$35* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$35
Hotwire.comUS$35
Hostelworld.comUS$45
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates