We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Irazu Hotel & Studios

Save
Share
Autopista General Canas Robledal, La Uruca, San Jose 10107 Costa Rica
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
US$119
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/02/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
eDreams
Orbitz.com
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (338)
360
Panoramas (3)
Room & Suite (79)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 08/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Irazú Hotel & Studios
Updated 08/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#22 of 97 hotels in San Jose
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Silver level
This full-service San Jose, Costa Rica hotel offers convenient access to many local attractions including the Costa Rican Art Museum, the Braulio Carrillo National Park and the Poas Volcano. Whether traveling on business or just taking a trip for fun, the Irazu Hotel & Studios offers all of the amenities and conveniences to ensure a worry free and enjoyable stay. This full-service San Jose, Costa Rica hotel provides comfortable accommodations, superb customer service and a centralized location, all for a great value. The hotel is ideally situated just a few minutes from the heart of downtown San Jose and a short distance from the Juan Santamaria International Airport. Each of the 194 well-appointed guest rooms features cable satellite television, unlimited international IP calls (small fee applies) and free wireless internet access. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast buffet, served daily from 6:00 a.m. to 10 am at The Terraza Irazú.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Casino and Gambling
Game room
Children's television networks
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Kids' meals
Airport transportation
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Hammam
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Green
Languages Spoken
Spanish

Location

Full view
54Somewhat walkable
Grade: 54 out of 100
20Restaurantswithin 1 km
0Attractionswithin 1 km
1153Reviews29Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 391
  • 437
  • 192
  • 77
  • 56
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Jim wrote a review Mar 2020
Cutchogue, New York56 contributions16 helpful votes
I stayed at this hotel with my son using points, when I arrived I was told I had to pay for my extra guest $22.60. The A/C took hours to get cold, the front desk was sketchy. Now I check this months credit card statement and I have been charged $72.00 on 3/6/2020 fraudulently. I now have to get a new credit card and have lost all trust in Bestwestern.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Irazú Hotel & Studios
Responded 24 Mar 2020
Dear IslandJimmy, thank you for sharing your comments. We are very sorry to learn about what happened to you; please accept our most sincere apologies for it, we assure you that it was a mistake and we will see to it that the extra charge is refunded to you as soon as possible as soon as you contact the hotel directly to provide them with all the data we need for us to be able to do that. Never has our hotel been fraudulent or sketchy, both, our hotel and our brand are reliable and reputable businesses so we are truly distressed that you called us like that. Honest mistakes happened and they can be solved when there is direct communication between both parties involved . We will be looking forward hearing from you soon so you can speak to our manager on duty and provide him with all the infomration he might need because there is nothing we want more than our guests' total satisfaction. It was a pleasure being at your service. Warmest regards. Marjorie Espinoza. Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Tonypacifica wrote a review Mar 2020
3 contributions
Been staying at this hotel, Always very nice. Edgar and Juan Carlos have been very helpful. My only complaint is that I wish I could reserve a specific room - the computer system doesn’t allow it. Otherwise I always have a great experience while I am there- breakfast buffet is excellent, please keep it.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Irazú Hotel & Studios
Responded 20 Mar 2020
Dear Tonypacifica, thank you so much for sharing your fabulous review. We are very happy and proud to learn that you have been staying with us for quiet some time because besides showing us how much you like our hotel, it makes you part of our extended global family. Also, that this time as well as all the previous ones, your stay was a wonderful hotel experience. We are very lucky to have a staff with people like Edgar and juan Carlos that ruly embodies everything that our brand and our hotel stands for and represents. It is always a pleasure being having you as a guest. Thank you for making us your hotel of choice. The entire team will be looking forward to your next visit. Warmest regards. Marjorie Espinoza. Guest Relations Manager.
Read more
Arcilio L wrote a review Mar 2020
Miramar, United States5 contributions
Good for low cost travellers looking a standard hotel with the basics for a short term stay and spend the night while being out most of the day working or touring. Amenities are limited and breakfast is not confortable. Restaurant is good.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Standard room. Bring your own shampoo, conditioner and soap.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Irazú Hotel & Studios
Responded 13 Mar 2020
Dear Arcilio L, thank you for sharing your comments about your stay with us. We hope that it was very pleasant and that you got all the rest you needed. We are very sorry that our complimentary daily breakfast was not up to your expectations so please accept our most sincere apologies. We are also sorry that you found that the amenities we offer are limited. We would really appreciate if you could let us know what we could do to improve so that we can take your advice into account and see to it as soon as possible. It was a pleasure being at your service. Thank you for staying with us. Warmest regards. Marjorie Espinoza. Guest Relations Manager
Read more
7TravelDude wrote a review Mar 2020
Irvine, California1 contribution
The property is nice, however the lobby employees were not very helpful. They didn’t provide me the room I reserved and I overheard one of them tell the other to just give away other people’s reserved rooms which explains why they didn’t have my room. They ended up giving me a room similar to the one I reserved. The room wasn’t very clean and when we brought it to their attention they were able to address it. The highlight of the hotel was the staff in the breakfast area, they were delightful. Area is pretty safe. Water pressure goes out from time to time and it takes a minute or two to come back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Irazú Hotel & Studios
Responded 10 Mar 2020
Dear 7TravelDude, thank you for sharing your kind review. We are very glad that in general, you had a pleasant hotel experience since you liked our facilities and was very pleased with our Food & Beverages Staff customer service. We are truly sorry and very embarrassed about the way our front desk staff personnel treated you, not providing you with the room you had reserved and not being very helpful; we ask you to please accept our mos tsincere apologies. We assure you that this is something completely unacceptable since it goes against our hospitality philosophy and against our customer service standards which are very high and strict. We are going to share your comments about it with our Management so that they can take the according measures and ensure that this never happens again. We are also very distressed to learn that your room was not clean enough, one again, please accept our most sincere apologies; lucklily the problem was solved as soon as you informed our staff about it. We would also like to apologize for the inconvenience you epxerienced with the shower's water pressure; we really appreciate your comprehension. It was a pleasure being at your service. Thank you for staying with us. Warmest regards. Marjorie Espinoza. Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Annika Soderfelt wrote a review Mar 2020
Villanova, Pennsylvania23 contributions4 helpful votes
A lovely stay. Quiet and comfortable, and conveniently located near good food(in addition to the denny's attached to the hotel). We only stayed one night, but it was a good stay, and we got a free drink at the hotel bar, so that was fun! It was a bit out of the city, so if you have a car that helps with the location. The breakfast is yummy and has a lovely view. It was a solid way to start our trip
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Irazú Hotel & Studios
Responded 10 Mar 2020
Dear Annika-Soderfelt, thank you so much for sharing your sweet review. We are delihgted that your stay with us was so lovely since you felt really comfortable, liked our complimentary breakfast so much and found our location very convenient (we are about 15 minutes away from the airport, 10 minutes from downtown and from the country's best commercial and entertainment areas plus we are surrounded by very nice bars and restaurants). We really do everything we can to ensure that our guests have everything they might need right at the tips of their fingers because nothing is more important than their total satisfaction. It was a pleasure having you a s aguest. Thank you for making us your hotel of choice. We hope to see you again in the very near future. Best regards. Marjorie Espinoza. Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$81 - US$113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western irazu hotel san jose, best western hotel irazu, best western san jose, san jose best western
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Best Western Plus Irazu Hotel & Casino
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of San JoseSan Jose MetroSan Jose
NUMBER OF ROOMS
194
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Irazú Hotel & Studios
Which popular attractions are close to Irazú Hotel & Studios?
Nearby attractions include Cueropapel&tijera (1.1 km), East Park (1.0 km), and Savanah House (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Irazú Hotel & Studios?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Irazú Hotel & Studios?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Irazú Hotel & Studios?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Irazú Hotel & Studios?
Conveniently located restaurants include El Novillo Alegre - Sabana, Furca, and Sash Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Irazú Hotel & Studios?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Irazú Hotel & Studios have airport transportation?
Yes, Irazú Hotel & Studios offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Irazú Hotel & Studios?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Irazú Hotel & Studios offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Irazú Hotel & Studios?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Teatro Nacional Costa Rica (3.9 km), Ruinas de Ujarras (5.5 km), and Chepeteando/ San José a pie (3.8 km).
Is Irazú Hotel & Studios accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.