We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Holiday Inn San Jose-Aurola, an IHG hotel

5th Avenue And 5th Street PO Box 7802-1000, San Jose 10101 Costa Rica
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (495)
Panoramas (17)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn San Jose-Aurola, an IHG hotel
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#37 of 97 hotels in San Jose
Welcome! Five-Star hotel offering a great location in San José, Costa Rica As the best 5-star hotel located in the historic city center of San José, Costa Rica, the Hotel Holiday Inn San José AUROLA offers discerning business and leisure travelers a chic, stylish home away from home in the heart of it all. Step inside and experience the glamorous yet cozy lobby featuring an eye-catching mural reflecting the natural beauty of Costa Rica.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Casino and Gambling
Kids stay free
Airport transportation
Valet parking
Paid public parking on-site
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Sun umbrellas
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Private bathrooms
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Park View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Italian
1087Reviews27Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 332
  • 373
  • 241
  • 85
  • 56
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Juan C wrote a review 11 Jan
Las Vegas, Nevada370 contributions97 helpful votes
There are many negative comments here and I think many are unfair. It is true that Aurola Holiday Inn San Jose needs a refurbish (room furniture and carpets change), but it is still a clean, safe hotel with a very good location. I spent seven days in this hotel, and I have no complaints. I found a clean and spacious room with a decent size bathroom and a beautiful view of the city surrounded by mountains. Even though we did not request daily maid service, we always had clean towels available and in very good condition. The safe in the room worked adequately. We had no problems with air conditioning or hot water in the shower. We always had hot water with very good pressure. Yes, the carpet in the bedroom and hallways needs to be replaced. Every area of the hotel that I visited was clean (lobby, gym, pool, restaurants, bar). It is true that they are in the process of recovering from Covid, which includes certain limitations and lack of personnel. It's understandable, I think the whole world experiences the same thing. It may be one of the reasons why breakfast is not so abundant and varied, but it has enough to start the day (fruits, juices, cereal, toast, etc. and hot dishes in the Costa Rican style). For those who go on an excursion very early in the morning, a breakfast box is offered. Which is a plus. The restaurant on the 17th floor is not always open, but you can order food for dinner at the bar located above the lobby with a beautiful view of the park located in front of the hotel and the surroundings. For those interested in visiting museums and places of cultural interest in downtown San Jose, the hotel's location is excellent. Also, near it there are different restaurants, cafes and bars. There is a busines room with computers and a printer in case that is needed. Safe taxis are always available in front of the hotel, although I never had a need for them. But the most important thing and what makes Aurola Holiday Inn San Jose great is its staff, incredibly well customer oriented, very friendly and polite and extremely helpful. I definitely recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Sleep Quality
Response from Rafael Rojas, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Holiday Inn San Jose-Aurola, an IHG hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Juan C, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our brand to improve the guest experience. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Read more
ffay005 wrote a review Dec 2021
Helsinki, Finland189 contributions189 helpful votes
Check-in was a mess: I asked for a room with no connecting door to an adjacent room. Due to this, the receptionist changed my preassigned room, but when I got upstairs, there was a connecting door in this room, as well. The receptionist didn’t pick up the phone, so I went down and changed rooms – only to find a connecting door in the new room, as well! I didn’t want to try a third time after an 11.5-hour flight, so I just took it. And noisy it was, a kid screaming his lungs out behind one wall and a couple making love behind the opposite wall and that connecting door of mine. Fortunately, they checked out the next day, and as the hotel was fairly empty, they didn’t assign the room to anyone else during my five night stay, for which I was grateful. The room felt like any Holiday Inn in the US thirty years ago. Considering its age, it was in good condition, but there was for instance no socket by the bed for your phone – nobody needed that in the early 1990s. There were two sockets by the desk, though. Two lamps in my room were missing lightbulbs, so I had to screw one off of the lamps in the hallway. Oh well. The room was of good size, the bed was comfortable, there was a large desk, a coffee table and chair, lots of drawer space, a safe, a noisy, empty fridge and A/C that wasn’t very efficient. Wifi was free, fast and reliable. No problem watching videos. To my surprise, no complimentary water bottles were provided. The bathroom felt a bit aging and came with your typical US bathtub&shower combo, where the shower is wall-mounted and there is no handheld shower. The bathtub was low, not a soaking tub. Water pressure was good. The non-branded toiletries came in single-use bottles, which I prefer as it is more hygienic than those wall-mounted containers some hotels choose to put on their bathroom walls. Shampoo, conditioner, body lotion and bars of soap were available. The extremely modest and unpretentious breakfast (6:30–10) cost $9. Selection was narrow: some fresh fruit, yoghurt, toast, ham and local cheese, and a few daily changing local hot items. There is a nice restaurant with a view of San José on the 17th floor, but it is only open from Thursday to Saturday. The indoor pool was very cold, too cold to be enjoyed, sadly. The receptionist, as well as other staff members, were all friendly and polite, but perhaps not very polished. They spoke English well. If you need colones, the receptionist changes them at rates posted on the desk, not that much inferior to banks, saving you from a lot of queuing. The location is good. It’s a quick walk from Avenida Central and all the museums, and you can even walk to Escalante. There is a small shop, Musi, for water and snacks a few steps from the hotel entrance, and a larger supermarket a block away. The taxi from the airport took 25 min and cost $30. Outside, the hotel has a sign claiming five stars, which actually made me laugh out loud. It’s not a bad hotel at all, but by European or American standards, it might be worth perhaps 3.5 stars, definitely not more than four even by Latin American standards. I didn’t find it overpriced, though, and would consider staying again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn San Jose-Aurola, an IHG hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hello ffay005, Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to leave us feedback. We're determined to make all aspects of your stay pleasant, and I am sorry to learn that the room allocation and the noise level in the room allocated for you fell below expectations. I have alerted the hotel management regarding your comments, and I am positive that the measures that will be taken will avoid similar issues from reoccurring in the future. I hope you choose us again! Best regards, Clayton G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
RDG66 wrote a review Dec 2021
Racine, Wisconsin116 contributions94 helpful votes
Although I had read several reviews indicating water issues, I decided to give this place a try because there are almost no chain hotels in this area. And since I am a business owner and MUST have good internet, I don’t usually stay in local hotels due to so many bad past experiences with poor internet (truthfully, I would prefer local hotels if I could count on good connections). Like many older hotels (past their glory days), the lobby is kept up beautifully while the rooms are not maintained well. While most of the staff were wonderful (Luis at the front desk was superb), I found the manager Rafael Rojas to be inflexible and void of understanding. It was a shock to find the staff to be far better than the manager - that is very unusual. The first room problem I found was that the minibar was absent. I went down to the desk to ask why it was missing since I triple checked at booking time that the room had a fridge. They immediately sent someone to my room with one – well done! The hallway carpet was in poor condition, as is the carpet in the rooms - all well past due for replacement. I noticed much wear and tear in the room, but that did not bother me. What did bother me was the condition of the bathroom. The pictures illustrate the broken toilet seat, falling shower shelf, disgusting shower head, and VERY poor water pressure. Additionally, after 4 days here I discovered that indeed the hot water is very inconsistent. Hot water was available in the mornings, but in the late afternoons or evenings it was often unavailable. I learned fast to shower and shave in the mornings only. But even with hot water it was uncomfortable to shower and difficult to shave due to almost no pressure! Another treat was the presence of mosquitoes and other flying insects in the room. Not really sure how they got in since the windows do not open. There is no heat in the room, but that seems to be normal in San Jose because I don’t think any of the 6 hotels I’ve stayed at in the past actually had heat. Never used the AC, so I cannot comment on that. Lighting in the room is poor, but I’ve seen worse. The one thing I loved about the room was the beds. They were SO comfortable! Best hotel beds I’ve experienced so far in San Jose. So to sum up: beautiful lobby, mostly excellent staff (excluding manager Rafael), extremely comfortable beds, rooms badly in need of renovation (especially dilapidated bathrooms), virtually no water pressure, inconsistent hot water, annoying insects in my room, no heat in rooms, may or may not have minibar/fridge, and overall simply a poor experience in my opinion. I will never return, nor would I advise others to book here. The Radisson Park Inn is not too far away and a FAR, FAR better property. If you want to be in this exact area like I did, the Sleep Inn is just across the park and is mostly excellent, although the beds are extremely hard! You can read my review of that property here also.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn San Jose-Aurola, an IHG hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello RDG66, We want a pleasant and comfortable stay for our guests at all times. I am sorry that this was not met, from the serviced received from management, carpet in poor condition, broken toilet seat, falling shower shelf, poor water pressure and no heat in the room just to name a few. I have alerted the hotel management regarding your concerns. I know they appreciate your sharing your experience, and I am confident they will take steps for further improvement and make sure this doesn’t happen again. I am hopeful that your future stays with us will be pleasant. Thanks for bringing this to our attention. Best, Ronald R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Owe wrote a review Dec 2021
Dublin, Ireland136 contributions65 helpful votes
I don't expect much from airport hotels, just a bed and a good nice sleep. This hotel is fine, rooms are basic but do the job my only issue was that i was in the room nearest the reception and dining area and I could hear everything. Experience has shown me to bring earplugs to every hotel so I did manage to sleep, but it was noisy. Breakfast was pretty good and staff were helpful. R
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Christina P wrote a review Nov 2021
Amsterdam69 contributions66 helpful votes
Disgusting 5 stars hotel. Very old, most rooms have problems with hot water and air-conditioning. Poor and bad service. Lack of towels, poor quality food, they serve you like you are in a prison. They didn't have any white wine in the whole hotel. It's a no!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Response from Rafael Rojas, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Holiday Inn San Jose-Aurola, an IHG hotel
Responded 16 Nov 2021
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We are truly sorry for if for the inconvenience you had with our service All your observations are taking in consideration to implement all the correspondent corrective actions We hope that we will be part of you lodging choice during your next visit to Costa Rica it will be a pleasure to host you again
Read more
US$82 - US$122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
holiday inn san jose aurola hotel san jose, san jose holiday inn
Costa RicaProvince of San JoseSan Jose MetroSan Jose
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn San Jose-Aurola, an IHG hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn San Jose-Aurola, an IHG hotel?
Nearby attractions include Carpe Chepe (0.4 km), Galeria Namu (0.09 km), and Teatro Nacional Costa Rica (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn San Jose-Aurola, an IHG hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn San Jose-Aurola, an IHG hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn San Jose-Aurola, an IHG hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn San Jose-Aurola, an IHG hotel?
Yes, free parking, paid public parking on-site, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn San Jose-Aurola, an IHG hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Rojo, Restaurante Silvestre, and Tenedor Argentino.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn San Jose-Aurola, an IHG hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Holiday Inn San Jose-Aurola, an IHG hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Holiday Inn San Jose-Aurola, an IHG hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Holiday Inn San Jose-Aurola, an IHG hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of San Jose.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn San Jose-Aurola, an IHG hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn San Jose-Aurola, an IHG hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.