We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Dunn Inn

Show Prices
#17 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Dunn Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

383 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Dunn Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 351: English reviews
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 12 July 2016

This hotel is very centrally located in San Jose! The outside of the establishment does not do the interior justice. It has very nice decor in this hotel. They offered and delivered on creating a laminated wallet sized version of my passport for me so I would not have to take my passport with me throughout the city. The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Parrish451
Laura B, General Manager at Hotel Dunn Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our hotel as your place to stay in San Jose. It's great to find out you enjoyed your stay with us. We will be honored to welcome you back in your next visit to Costa Rica

Kettering, Ohio
Reviewed 29 June 2016

I stayed here for three nights. It is still pretty central to downtown and the Jade museum. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They called around to help me with tours and transportation. The hotel offered free breakfast composed of orange juice, coffee, toast, plate of fruits, and a slice of cold and cheese. Breakfast wasn't filling. You are across...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank waterdance
Laura B, Gerente at Hotel Dunn Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our hotel as your place to stay in San Jose. I'll make sure to share your nice comments about staff and location. Also, I want to thank you for your feed back. It help us improve the service we offer our clients.

Reviewed 13 June 2016 via mobile

paid for a deluxe room in an empty hotel checked in and wasn't happy so I asked to see a regular room guess what they're identical I asked what did I pay more for a deluxe room for feeling very deceived at this point and was lied to and was not given an answer asked what is the difference many...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jake Z
Laura B, Gerente at Hotel Dunn Inn, responded to this review

We want to thank you for taking the time to give us your feed back. Hotel is an old mansion of Barrio Amón. We are sorry we didn't fulfill your expectations during your check in. However, money was refunded to you the same day of your check in. We value our clients and will never try to take advantage of...

Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

Customer service was excellent. Our room was small as we expected but very clean. The breakfast in the morning was great. The wifi was reliable and there was free parking. They do have breakfast to order as well so you can ask the waitress for a menu if you want eggs or other breakfast items. It was a bargain!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MariselaHazzard
Laura B, Gerente at Hotel Dunn Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your recent experience during your stay with us. We are glad to find out that you enjoyed it. We hope to welcome back in the near future.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 25 May 2016

Stayed a Hotel Dunn Inn with my boyfriend for 2 nights at the end of our vacation before flying back. There were many choices in San Jose but we were looking for something a bit more upscale to finish off our trip and Dunn Inn had very good reviews. Upon arriving, the walked into a small corner hotel that actually...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank foodBlogette
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewed 24 May 2016

I originally had a reservation at a competitors property. Unfortunately, there were some issues with renovations. I was referred to Hotel Dunn Inn. I arrived and was very surprised with Hotel Dunn Inn. My room was the deluxe and had all the amenities needed...refrigerator, TV w/cable, WiFi, access to a desktop computer with internet, pretty comfortable bed, clean bathroom and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jrcnr
Laura B, Gerente at Hotel Dunn Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice comments about your experience at Hotel Dunn Inn. We will love to welcome you back in your next visit to San José

Maui, Hawaii
Reviewed 19 May 2016

I live in Maui, Hawaii and come to San Jose, Costa Rica yearly. I have always had a relaxing and great time staying at the Hotel Dunn Inn located in historic San Jose, Bario Amon. The staff at the Hotel Dunn Inn is very friendly and helpful. My room is always clean and well looked after. I would recommend the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mauimo70
Laura B, Gerente at Hotel Dunn Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice comments about your stay at the Dunn Inn. Some clients become family as your case. We will be honored to welcome you back next year. Aloha and Pura Vida

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 14 May 2016

I have been here a number of times and the staff and rooms are still a charm. It's in a nice neighborhood and close to downtown and major attractions. Rigo, the on site taxi driver has always been the best source of information and transportation. He has been here for many years and has made many friends among visitors. Profession...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Whitecat11
Laura B, Gerente at Hotel Dunn Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice comments about your stay at the Dunn Inn. We are proud of the staff we have. I'll make sure to share with Rigo your review about his service.

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Reviewed 5 May 2016

We have been staying here for 14 years , several times a year , the staff have always been very helpful ! The down town location is the best , close to good restaurants and shopping . The rooms are clean and very comfortable

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrew b
Laura B, Gerente at Hotel Dunn Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Dunn. Also, thank you for all these years as our client. It's pleasant to find out you enjoyed your stay with us.

Green, Ohio, United States
Reviewed 5 May 2016

Hotel was clean and convenient. Free Breakfast was 2 pieces of toast/butter/jam, a piece of ham, some cheese, and fruit (Pineapple, watermelon, banana, papaya) and juice or coffee. You can add eggs to your breakfast for $1 USD per egg. There is also a paid menu. We did not know before we got to Costa Rica that the water is...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff Y
Laura B, Gerente at Hotel Dunn Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Dunn. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to our hotel. Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

99 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 85 in San Jose
911 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
1,355 reviews
2.8 km away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 85 in San Jose
1,158 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
1.5 km away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#29 of 85 in San Jose
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are happy to help you while in San Jose, Costa Rica, if you don't speak Spanish or in case you want to feel more at home. This charming 1929 mansion is known for providing exceptionally friendly service and is a favorite among many locals. From the moment you arrive you will experience firsthand the warmth of Costa Rican hospitality and enjoy the benefits of a full service hotel with excellent value. The New Standard for San Jose Costa Rica Hotels...The 28 guests rooms are attractively decorated with warm, rich woods, original brick, hand-painted native artwork, colorful quilts, and have indigenous BriBri Indian names. All are equipped with quality linens, cable television with over 60 channels in English and Spanish, mini bar, direct telephone service, ceiling fan, private bath, clock radio, hairdryer, fresh flowers, local information and a free map of Costa Rica. The hotel has wireless internet in all rooms, two Internet stations, parking, 24-hour security, car rental and tourist information, laundry service, business services, safe deposit boxes, room service, and an onsite barbershop. The hotel offers complementary services of tea and coffee 24 hours a day and a late 1pm check out. You will also enjoy breakfast, lunch and / or dinner in the beautiful tropical restaurant and Tropix bar that is truly an oasis in the city; brimming with bromeliads, ferns, orchids and other tropical plants. The daily happy hour from 4pm - 6pm is sure to provide fun and interesting conversation. New to our long list of services is free in-house medical emergency assistance and reasonable medical insurance. Every effort is made to ensure an enjoyable visit and every one of our long term bilingual staff will gladly assist you in any way possible. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Dunn Inn

Address: Calle 5, Avenida 11, San Jose 11681-1000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Price Range: $76 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dunn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Dunn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dunn San Jose
Hotel Dunn Inn Costa Rica/San Jose
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in San Jose
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Dunn Inn staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Henderson, Nevada
5 months ago
Greeley, Colorado
10 months ago
Baltimore, Maryland
11 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Dunn Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 11 is windowless and located next to a busy staircase that is noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles Jarko2015, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Any room other than 27”
 of 5 bubbles PaulT146, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We had a first floor room that was very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Tbosgreen, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Make sure to request a room with air-conditioner. Each has fans and remain cool primarily with or without the A/C.”
 of 5 bubbles Parrish451, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Just ask the front desk to help you with your needs before you arrive.”
 of 5 bubbles mauimo70, 18 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5