We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cocoon Hotel

Hotels.comUS$49*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$69*
US$49*
US$69*
US$49*
US$52*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
Panoramas (3)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

484 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cocoon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 207: English reviews
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 13 June 2016

So much of this hotel is great! Excellent location, right downtown San Jose and seconds away from everything! Nice and spacious rooms! The staff was amazing. They remember our names and treat us like family! We would stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank KathWim
CocoonHotelCR, Director General at Cocoon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kath, Thank you very much for taking your personal time to write such a positive review about Cocoon Hotel.That will help for sure people to use the location of Cocoon as it is close to everything in the heart of San Jose and also to know that our customers do not have to take a cab for most of...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

The hotel DOUBLE CHARGED me for the two night stay and are STILL REFUSING to issue a refund. They FRAUDULENTLY took money from my card before I even got to the hotel without me knowing and charged me when I checked in. I was told to email them with a copy of my statement by JOSE and he has responded...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashbashcashmash
CocoonHotelCR, Gerente at Cocoon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ashbashcashmash, We are sorry for all the trouble you had,we understand very well how things went wrong and bad for you. It seems strange for us about the refund as normaly we never had a problem to refund our customers in case of mistakes or missunderstanding. For sure we will take care of that and pass your message for...

Buffalo, New York
Reviewed 9 June 2016

Fantastic location and hotel, the staff was very professional. They helped us planning things to do, like visiting the Gold Museum, or maybe it was the Jade Museum, walking distance from the hotel! Breakfast was delightful! We would absolutely stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank MartineMystere
CocoonHotelCR, Gerente at Cocoon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Martin, Thank you very much for this nice and positive review, we are glad that you were satisfied in our Hotel Cocoon and that you were happy with our staff. We hope to see you again. Thank you.

Albany, New York
Reviewed 9 June 2016

The staff was amazing, so nice and helpful. Tips on what to do, where to go, they helped us with everything! Welcomed us each and every time we stepped in the hotel. Would book again when we will come back!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank DebbiePeppie
CocoonHotelCR, Propietario at Cocoon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Debbi, Thank you very much for taking time to review our hotel Cocoon. Thank you for sharing your opinion which will help other customers to know about our location which perfect to walk to the center of San Jose and also easy to drive to the international airport without alot of traffic. Thank you once again and hope to...

San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewed 8 June 2016

I was there for a few days and all people were nice to me, I liked a lot my room, it was clean and comfortable, and the food was excellent, I'm happy with the experience , I recommend this hotel, it's cheap but at the same time comfortable

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
CocoonHotelCR, Guest Relations Manager at Cocoon Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Mary, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a nice review for us here on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate your comments and are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again one day soon, and thank you so much for the recommendation! Warmly, Lynn- Guest Relations at Cocoon

Lille, France
Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

I am very happy for my choice of Cocoon Hotel one more time.A 3 stars hotel with a very good rate including the breakfas,only 50$ for a very beautiful room, clean and equipied with everything you need for few days in San Jose. The hotel is located very close to the center and many bus stations. A very nice restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Siwar E
CocoonHotelCR, Gerente at Cocoon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Siwar, Waw what a beautiful review, thank you for rating us 5 stars and we have to tell you that you are also a 5 stars guest, we remember you well and we hope to see you again in Cocoon Hotel and San Jose. Thank you.

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewed 2 June 2016

First of all let us start of by saying that we have stayed at all types of hotels at different price points, locations, and categories. We have done plenty of budget hotels as this one and have had a great time in them. We are of the belief that a hotel is only to sleep in since you are supposed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ren-cas1
CocoonHotelCR, Guest Relations Manager at Cocoon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am so sorry to hear that you had such a disappointing experience at Cocoon. While it is never fun to receive a poor review, we welcome the opportunity to make improvements where needed. I will be bringing your comments to the attention of our general manager and I thank you for leaving such a lengthy, detailed, and...

Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 2 June 2016

Excellent hotel in downtown area, located near shops, museums, restaurants, etc. Superior room was comfortable, with good quality beds. Breakfast "a la carte" was included and it was good! WiFi was very stable and free.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrotherMinton
CocoonHotelCR, Manager at Cocoon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words and review of our hotel - we appreciate your business and very much enjoyed hosting you. Please come again soon! Warmly, The team at Cocoon

San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewed 14 May 2016

First of all its in the red light district so there are prostitues everywhere. Second the rooms were disgusting and smelled of mold. They didn't even provide towels. Given the location the hotel is very noisy and feels insecure.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 386elizabeth
CocoonHotelCR, Guest Relations Manager at Cocoon Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear you had such a disappointing stay in San Jose, Costa Rica; as with any hotel in any major city worldwide, there are always "good" areas and "less desirable" areas nearby. Ours happens to be within blocks of both- and I am certain you would find that to be true of ANY hotel in San Jose...

Reviewed 12 May 2016

The room was nice and clean. The breakfast was ok: you can choose if you prefer cereal and fruit or the typical breakfast "gallo pinto". The staff was friendly and helpful. Perfect location, near the center and Alfaro bus station.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zelen79
CocoonHotelCR, Manager at Cocoon Hotel, responded to this review

Hi There, Thanks so much for taking a moment to write us a review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate it! We're so happy you enjoyed your stay at Cocoon and found it to be conveniently located. We hope to see you again! Warmly, The Team at Cocoon

259 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (123)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (36)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (75)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Standard (18)
Viewed
Superior (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (21)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.3 km away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#27 of 85 in San Jose
280 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#44 of 85 in San Jose
106 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#35 of 85 in San Jose
152 reviews
2.0 km away
Boutique Hotel Casa Orquideas
5.7 km away
Colours Oasis Resort
Colours Oasis Resort
#33 of 85 in San Jose
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of San Jose, Cocoon Hotel comprises a unique experience of relaxation and comfort in a pleasant atmosphere. Our guests enjoy a combination of exceptional service, good price and quality facilities. It is a great place for business trips, or a quick stay to see everything the city has to offer before exploring the country. Cocoon Hotel is located walking distance from the most important sites in San Jose, such as The National Museum (6 min.), The National Theater (3 min.) And The Pre-Columbian Gold Museum (4 min.); Also very close to the major bus stations of San Jose. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cocoon Hotel

Address: Calle Central, Avenida 9, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Price Range: $73 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cocoon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cocoon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocoon Hotel Costa Rica/San Jose
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in San Jose
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cocoon Hotel staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Cocoon Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“second and third floors”
ric0b, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If money is not an issue, try to get private bathrooms.”
Dori_Yn, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose one with AC, Most of the room just have a Fan.”
633fernandog, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“No particular room to suggest ”
Mdegerman, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Close to the Caribbeano Bus station, if your going in that direction.”
239vincents, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$49* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$49
PricelineUS$52
TripAdvisorUS$49
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates