We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gaudy's Backpacker Hostel

209 reviews
Save
Traveller (42)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (5)
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good33%
  • Average16%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“private room”(13 reviews)
“social areas”(2 reviews)
“costa rica”(20 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Kitchenette
Multilingual Staff
Free Parking
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (209)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Gaudy's Backpacker Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
58
53
21
12
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
58
53
21
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate roomsocial areascosta ricagrocery storefree coffee all daytica buscommon areaswhole weekshuttle service to the airportcommunal kitchenother travelersroad noiseevery morningthe wi fiwalking aroundsabana parkquiet street
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
41 - 45 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2016

We stayed in the hostel for a couple of nights, each morning we woke up to a very good breakfast. The level of english spoken was very high and my group was very fortunate for this. The owner (andres) was extremely helpful when we turned...More

Thank Ben C
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

Gaudy's Backpackers hosted me 4 times. I have stayed in both - dorms and private rooms and I'm super satisfied with all of my visits. Rooms, beds and bathrooms are clean, kitchen- always tidied up and comfortable to use. AND STAFF IS JUST AMAZING!!! They...More

Thank Gabija P
Reviewed 30 June 2016

On my first time staying here last year as a solo trip in Nov 2015, I was told this would be a good place to stay by my dentist as it is nearby, I thought it was okay (2*) ... I wasn't supplied with a...More

Thank Matt L
Response from Andres G, Manager at Gaudy's Backpacker HostelResponded 13 July 2016

Here we go agan! You are just making all this up just because we couldnt change yuor booking...you came to the front desk 3 hours after check out to try to change the reservation you hade for that day, we told you the reservation software...More

Reviewed 25 June 2016

I travel often to San Jose, Gaudys, its always the place to go, the staff is always there for you, the location its great, as you are close to the main areas and you are 15min walk from downtown. Its safe and comfortable.

Thank ale8910
Reviewed 24 June 2016

We stayed in this Hostel a few times during our travels through Costa Rica. The rooms are clean and the atmosphere is calm and lovely. We felt very welcomed and the staff is so nice! The super market, the bank and the park are really...More

Thank sarahC4002VB
View more reviews
PreviousNext
1789101131
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Multilingual Staff
Details
Price range
US$11 - US$39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Kitchenette
Details
Price range
US$11 - US$39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Kitchenette
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (42)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (5)
Family and Play Areas (5)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
HappyVacationer710
1 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from John S | Reviewed this property |
As far as shuttle to airport, none specifically for Gaudy's. There is taxi service but you can take the bus much cheaper both ways.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"The dorm room at the back of the building is further from the door and quieter."
Read review
"Balcon room is very noisy at night with the traffic light!"
Read review
"Private rooms have en suites"
Read review
"Rooms in the back my be quieter, but not sure how the wifi will be."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing