We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Palma Real Hotel & Casino

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Palma Real Hotel & Casino
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

351 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 176: English reviews
Start your review of Palma Real Hotel & Casino
 Click to rate
Illinois
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have been to San Jose, Costa Rica several times and I decided to stay away from the busy downtown area. At first, I did not think I would like the place because I arrived at night and it looked like the neighborhood was not safe. However, the next morning I was surprised to see it was rather nice. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 777Tahoe
Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank your for giving us the opportunity to serve you while you were visiting San José. We are happy to see that you had a great stay and that our services, facilities and staff helped make this happen. We´d love to serve you again when your travel plans bring you to San José Best regards.

Crowborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First impression is that this is a well furnished and good hotel. The public area is certainly well maintained and attractive. The rooms are spacious but seem tired. The bedding did not smell particularly clean and the bathroom had some mould around the shower area. There was a very limited selection at breakfast. Staff were mixed; some like the concierge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Andy Thank you for selecting us during your visit to San José and giving us the opportunity to serve you. All observations and recommendations from our clients are welcome, we work on them to be able to offer a better service. We have taken note of the details in the room and have already discussed and corrected with our...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The staff is really good and always friendly, when there for a medical appointment and it was perfect cause it's located near all the important areas, super easy access to hospitals, malls, restaurants, ect. . Will recommended 100%

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carla P
Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Carla We are glad to see that everything went well during your visit and that our location was ideal for your travel plans. La Sabana, which is where we are located, is like a starting point to any plan our clients might have. Easy access to downtown, business and commercial areas and also main highways. Our staff will always...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The original room we got was average. The a/c wasn't working so they put us in a better room which was bigger. Bed was fine but the hotel feels old. The breakfast buffet was decent. It's not one of the hotels that is close to the airport. It's right near City Centre and it feels that way.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shawnacey R
Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Shawnacey Thank you for reviewing us and sharing details of your stay here on TripAdvisor. We are glad you had a good stay and that our services and facilities were of your liking. Is good to see that our staff helped to correct the A/C problem inmediately and this didn´t affect the overall enjoyment of your stay. We listen...

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Stayed for one night too many. There are so many poor things about this Hotel it would take too long to list. The best thing is the staff, both reception and the bar staff are really the most helpful you could wish for. However I would not recommend this Hotel. (enough said)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Alan We are sorry to see that you had problems during your stay. All our clients observations and recommendations are welcome, we listen and take actions to correct them and be able to offer our future guests a good service. We apologize for the noise during your stay, though is an external issue we have spoken to the person...

Texas
Reviewed 11 March 2017

This property was above average. We had a problem with the A/C and it was immediately addressed. We were there to go to the dentist and it was within walking distance. The buffet breakfast in the morning was superb and included in the the price There were quite a few good restaurants within walking distance. The lunch and dinner menus...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara V
Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Barbara Thank you for selecting us during your visit to San José and giving us the opportunity to serve you. We are glad our services and facilities exceeded your expectations and also that our staff helped make this happen. We value all our customers suggestions and observations, we work on them to offer a service of quality and make...

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 5 March 2017

it is located ca. 40 minutes walking from down town, near a park. Rooms are big and clean, but very dark. Breakfast is very good. Staff are not freindly or helpfull. They ignore you toatally. There is a construction beside hotel, but we were on the other side so we did not hear any thin. There are few restaurants around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fershtet
Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for selecting us during your visit to San José. We are glad you had a good stay and that our services and facilities were of your liking. All comments and suggestions from our clients are very important to us, we work based on your recommendations to be able to offer a better service every day. We...

Reviewed 26 January 2017

Have stayed at this hotel in the past due to the free transportation from the airport to the hotel. This time, the transportation from the airport was wrong and would only allow 1 person and not the 3. Thankful for my friend who lived there to help translate. We ended up taking a cab to the hotel. Prior to leaving...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dakeita R
Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for your preference and giving us the chance to serve you again. We are sorry to see that there were some problems with your reservations, but are glad that everything worked out fine. We offer free transportation from the airport to the hotel, we recommend to schedule this service in advance with our reservations department, also...

San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Jennifer Zuñiga was so helpful and friendly during our stay. She went out of our way to ensure that we had food that was vegetarian. Her excellent service is the reason we will remember this place. Thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank allatdanz
Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for selecting us during your visit to San José. We are glad to see our staff could make the difference and make your stay unforgettable. The satisfaction of our clients is very important to us, we work based on your suggestions and recommendations to offer a better service every day. Among our services our guests can...

Lund, Sweden
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

Great hotel, we just stayed one night before leaving for our next location, but we liked it. There is a construction site outside so if you want to sleep through out the night make sure to get a room facing another way.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linnea K
Humberto A, eCommerce Manager at Palma Real Hotel & Casino, responded to this review

Dear client Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel here on Tripadvisor. We can see that you had a great stay and that our services and facilities were of your liking. It is of the utmost importance for us to hear of our clients’ stays. We use all the comments and suggestions to help us improve in order...

208 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (107)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (101)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel is just a 5 minute walk from San Jose center, the capital of Costa Rica, and only 15 minutes by car from Juan Santamaria International Airport. Furthermore, it provides easy access to the main business, shopping and leisure areas in the capital. In 2010 the hotel was renovated and presently boasts very modern facilities and many services, especially for guests visiting San Jose on business. The hotel has a fully-equipped business center with internet access, photocopiers, fax, messenger service and plane ticket confirmation service. In addition, it has comfortable and spacious rooms that will make your stay relaxing and pleasurable. The Palma Real hotel has obtained the Sustainability Certificate, which helps to preserve one of the most virgin destinations in the world. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Palma Real Hotel & Casino

Address: AV 9 Calle 50 | Sabana Norte, San Jose 250, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Price Range: $98 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palma Real Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palma Real Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Palma Real Hotel San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
Palma Real Hotel & Casino Costa Rica/San Jose
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#22 Business Hotel in San Jose
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Palma Real Hotel & Casino staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Palma Real Hotel & Casino staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some rooms have outdoor balconies but might be pricey. I was on the 2nd floor which was quiet and met my needs.”
777Tahoe, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Cannot recommend”
alanh88, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the 4th floor seem more updated.”
Dimerid, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There is currently major construction across the street, but it was not disturbing or problematic at all.”
klw00, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“far a way from the casino”
vromeo56, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5