We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Colonial

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Colonial
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

187 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Colonial
See the most recent reviews
Showing 104: English reviews
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 5 August 2016

A recommended choice to stay in San José city centre. All facilities you need are available, a small pool included. Good location to start your explore of the city. Centre and musea within walking distance. Good price and quality, especially because travelling in Costa Rica is not really cheap.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marion B
SilviaVargas, Gerente at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por sus lindos comentarios. Es siempre un placer saber que nuestros huéspedes tienen una experiencia placentera con nosotros,...

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Stayed here for a couple of nights to kick off our tour of CR. Most people who stay here seem to be doing the same thing, a short stay to settle after a long flight before moving on. It's a clean hotel in a convenient location for the city centre. It's a 3* hotel, you get what you pay for,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
SilviaVargas, Gerente at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review

Thank you in taking your time to rate us. It is very significant for us to have the feedback of our customers, because that allows us to give a better service every day. About the breakfast, we include 5 different options of breakfast for our customers, so they have options; but we will consider to include some additional things to...

VANCOUVER
Reviewed 9 July 2016

Staying here as part of an Intrepid Travel tour. What a place! What a location! Best of all worlds. Clean comfort and nice beds. Just check the restaurant list against this locale and you'll be ready to go. Great staff. Walk this way. Walk that way. You'll be back in the rest zone here at Hotel Colonial.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerry C
SilviaVargas, Gerente at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review
Google Translation

Para nosotros es un gusto que haya salido satisfecho con los servicios prestados, pues eso es por lo que nos...

Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

I would recommend this place for a good value stay. The location is very convenient, walkable distance to the theatre and various museums, with the added perk of being literally directly opposite two of the best Argentinian and Asian Restaurants in San Jose. The team at Hotel Colonial are awesome too, Ina in particular, who went the extra mile in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Phil E
SilviaVargas, Gerente at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your nice comments. For us is a every day mission to give our guests the best experience while they are staying with us; your message shows us that we are in the right path.

Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed 15 June 2016

Unfortunately I have to review this hotel very poorly. I was very excited about my room and very happy with it in fact. I liked the balcony overlooking the street and the wood floors and cabinetry in the room. Everything was fine until my friend who was in town from Panama came back to the hotel that afternoon after lunch....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy M
SilviaVargas, Gerente at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are really sorry for this situation, as we told you in the message before. However, we have strict policies for the visits in the room; since you made the reservation and the check in for 1 person, we could not make an exception. I totally understand your disconfort, but as a bussiness, for law,...

San Jose, CR
Reviewed 11 June 2016

The location was amazing. Central to almost everything, we had a car but walked everywhere during our 3 day stay. Shops, food, and even the local zoo were all within comfortable walking distance. The room was simple but nice, and clean. The hotel itself was beautiful on the inside, the pool is kind of small and has a bar built...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam G
SilviaVargas, Gerente at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. It really helps us improve, and give our guests the best experience. It is nice to know that you have a wonderful stay with us, and that you found everything you need. We hope to have you in our hotel, some other time.

Benfleet
Reviewed 8 June 2016

Good breakfast, friendly, helpful staff, but very limited area around the pool & no bar/restaurant for lunchtime or evening drinks/meals. Its convenient position near city centre (& opposite the best restaurant in town!) is unfortunately also close to the railway lines with trains sounding horns from around 5am & local church bells being rung at all times of the night!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank russbost
SilviaVargas, Gerente at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review

We really apprecciate your comments. It is good to know that you found our hotel atractive in general. We understand your discomfort about the food services inside the hotel, but for those reason we are now planning on a coffee shop, so our customers have more options. About the noise, unfortunately we are in a very central location, and sometimes...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 2 June 2016

Cute property, excellent location and value for the price! Great coffee. The tour company they use though, Marbella tours is not good. The pool is a little cold but with the weather in San Jose that it is a great welcome!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heathk7
SilviaVargas, Gerente at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments. It is a pleasure for us that you feel good staying in our hotel, because that is our goal every day. We are going to check the situation that you tell us about Marbella, because we do not want that our guest have any disconfort.

new york
Reviewed 2 June 2016

It´s not my first time at this hotel, everytime I get there it´s an improvement. Pay attention to detail and customer satisfaction.is without question mandatory here. Great stay, in the heart of San Jose, great price and great restaurants and shop close by.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tuanis9
SilviaVargas, Gerente at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review

We really apprecciate that you take the time to rate us, because that make us improve every day, and keep on working to make our guest stay as comfortable and nice as possible. We hope we can keep on receiving you every time you need a place in San Jose.

Carson City, Nevada
Reviewed 2 June 2016

Rooms are very nice. Breakfast was relaxed and pleasant. A very nice variety (Asian, Italian, Argentine, Costa Rican) of restaurants for dinner within a 10 minute walk. A short walk to the Jade Museum.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ejc307
SilviaVargas, Gerente at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review

It is good to hear that you find us a good option to stay, and that the rooms and breakfast were of your like. We try every day to do our best and make our guest as if they were at home, and with such comments as yours, we motivate to keep on that track.

111 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (90)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Dunn Inn
Hotel Dunn Inn
#15 of 84 in San Jose
375 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Hotel Fleur de Lys
#21 of 84 in San Jose
440 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#6 of 84 in San Jose
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Posada Del Museo
Posada Del Museo
#45 of 84 in San Jose
49 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Don Carlos
Hotel Don Carlos
#26 of 84 in San Jose
398 reviews
0.7 km away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#35 of 84 in San Jose
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We're your perfect hosts for a restful vacation in cozy surroundings, a restored neocolonial building nearly a century old. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Address: Calle 11, Avenidas 2 y 6 | Behind La Soledad Cathedral, San Jose 10106, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Price Range: $84 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel San Jose
Hotel Colonial Costa Rica/San Jose
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in San Jose
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Colonial staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Colonial staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only four of the 17 rooms have a/c...rooms facing the interior courtyard avoid noise from the very busy street.”
 of 5 bubbles BBinSEA, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Perfect room. Bedding was great, the views from the balcony were amazing”
 of 5 bubbles 961olgar, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“No elevator, if it is difficult for you to climb the stairs with the suitcase, ask for a room on the first floor. It is a 3 story hotel.”
  • View from the 3rd floor.
  • View from the 3rd floor.
  • Good thick blankets. Clean room. Bad pillows.
 of 5 bubbles , 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Third floor.”
 of 5 bubbles KerryCraig, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The rooms on the top floor have the best view of the mountains”
 of 5 bubbles 708sallyl, 1 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay