We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Matriki Beach Huts

210 reviews
Save
Traveller (208)
Room & Suite (73)
Pool & Beach (50)
Overview
  • Excellent79%
  • Very good13%
  • Average3%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“tree house”(16 reviews)
“other guests”(22 reviews)
“garden unit”(8 reviews)
Free Parking
Beachfront
Airport Transportation
Kitchenette
Paid Wifi
Breakfast included
Pool
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (210)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Matriki Beach Huts
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
147
26
7
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
147
26
7
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstree houseother guestsgarden unitfishawesome hostsgas stovehermit crabsboat tripcook islandsone foot islandgreat snorkel spotwho run the placean excellent lunchcommercial touroutdoor showerthe managersmosquito net
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
51 - 55 of 189 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2016

I absolutely loved my stay at Matriki Beach Huts! The island of Aitutaki is the most beautiful island I've ever been to and staying at Matriki was the perfect location to explore the island. I stayed in the newly renovated Beach Hut with a beautiful...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CamillaAshworth
Response from Paul_Lisa_Matriki, Manager at Matriki Beach HutsResponded 18 June 2016

Kia Orana Camilla Thank you for your lovely review of us here at Matriki; we know that you're travelling and internet is always limited so to stop and take the time to mention us is very thoughtful. I knew before you even arrived that you...More

Reviewed 17 June 2016

Staying at Matriki was a really unique experience. The beach huts are small and are located on the beach. You can see the water from your hut. There are so many thoughtful touches, for example a foot bath out the front to wash the sand...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ellen T
Response from Paul_Lisa_Matriki, Manager at Matriki Beach HutsResponded 17 June 2016

Kia Orana Ellen & Brad Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely and informative review of Matriki. You were on the island for such a short time and the weather really wasn't kind to you which always disappoints me...More

Reviewed 15 June 2016

We did not stay in the huts but went to snorkel from the beach in front of the huts. The hosts, Lisa and Paul , were welcoming and helpful and incredibly hospitable. The snorkeling in front of the huts was very good and also easy....More

Thank Jenjud
Response from Paul_Lisa_Matriki, Manager at Matriki Beach HutsResponded 17 June 2016

Kia Orana Jennifer Wow ... to say that your visits to snorkel at Matriki were the highlight of your trip is a huge compliment, considering you were staying at one of the exclusive resorts on the island, so Thank You (Meitaki Atupaka) very much! It...More

Reviewed 16 May 2016

We had the opportunity to stay in the newly renovated Beach Hut right on the beach (they are all with in steps of the beach). The new renovations gave the hut a classy update. I loved the new square shower head in the outdoor shower...More

Thank Flwrgrl89
Response from Paul_Lisa_Matriki, Manager at Matriki Beach HutsResponded 17 May 2016

Kia Orana Kristine and Bryce! Thanks for your awesome review of Matriki Beach Huts; I honestly don't think I could have worded it better myself! Don't worry - we're on to updating/adding to the plates and cutlery so by the time you come back we...More

Reviewed 13 May 2016

forget 5 star this is where it's at. bring it back to basics and go barefoot on such a stunning strip of beach with the keeping it real hut hosts. lisa and paul. if appreciating Aitutaki without the expensive frills then this cheap and cheerful...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mcoopercreative
Response from Paul_Lisa_Matriki, Manager at Matriki Beach HutsResponded 15 May 2016

Kia Orana Melanie Thank you for your lovely review of Matriki Beach Huts. It's our absolute pleasure to host your stay whether on business capturing beautiful island Weddings, or for pleasure, when in Aitutaki. We're very happy that you chose to come back and stay...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
191011121338
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Beachfront
Free Parking
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Airport Transportation
Details
Price range
US$89 - US$92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Kitchenette
Details
Price range
US$89 - US$92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Kitchenette
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (208)
Room & Suite (73)
Pool & Beach (50)
Dining (10)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
ge0rge1981
26 December 2017|
Answer
Response from Knowles1 | Reviewed this property |
George all the Matriki Beach Hut information you need is on their web page including their email address which is on the bottom of the page and yes Aitutaki is the right airport
0
Votes
35freeflyer2017
2 December 2017|
Answer
Response from Erica G | Property representative |
Kia Orana! We have cleaned it up a lot since we took over management 1 month ago. It wasn't so much in need of renovation - it needed a freshen up, paint here and there and a good clean, and a bit of an upgrade with some of... More
0
Votes
AndyLosAngeles
29 December 2014|
Answer
Response from Anna B |
Each bungalow has its own outdoor (enclosed) shower, and they all share 2 toilets in a mini toilet block. It's not far from the bungalows, and there is a sensor light for night time. The toilets have lights in them and are... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Front rooms on the beach"
Read review
"The Reef hut has great views and is pretty private, I would recommend."
Read review
"The Beach, Reef, and Tree House are all right on the beach."
Read review
"Rooms are basic but very clean and I love staying in the beach hut"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing