We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Whalesong Bed and Breakfast

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Whalesong Bed and Breakfast
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

12 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 12: English reviews
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2016

My stay at the Whalesong B&B was so pleasant that I was hesitant to leave. The B&B is located right in the heart of downtown Homer within walking distance of shops, restaurants, museums, and art galleries. With its ornate woodworking and maritime-themed artwork, the most fitting word for the Whalesong is quaint. This B&B's selling point is definitely its hospitality.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SDRoamingLizard
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2016

My experience at the Whalesong B&B was phenomenal. Located just above the center of town, all of the shops and restaurants are an easy walking distance. With all of the handmade woodwork and beach décor, the atmosphere of the bed and breakfast is comfortable and quaint. Everything was clean and orderly and the beds were very comfy. Carole’s hospitality was... More 

Helpful?
Thank mammamia666
CaroleAxeHamik, Owner at Whalesong Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Your visit was immensely enjoyed with us. We also loved how much you showed so much appreciation for even the smallest things we did for you. Can hardly wait for to come back! And thank you for taking the time to write a review. More 

Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Whalesong B&B is a unique adventure, perfect for adventurous folks who appreciate small town hospitality and center-of-the-action proximity. The host is a lovely Alaskan whose encyclopedic knowledge of Homer and the surrounding area has particular focus on how to make any visit fun, no matter your interests. This B&B is the perfect launch pad for a Homer experience!

Helpful?
Thank Memry S
CaroleAxeHamik, Owner at Whalesong Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for the really nice review. It was great of you to take the time to write. Can hardly wait until you return! More 

Garmisch
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2015

The ads do not do this place justice. They promise a cozy little B&B, however, my room was cold, the flannel sheets with covered with nubs, and the simple cotton curtains could not block out the light, Breakfast was a muffin fresh from the freezer, granola and yogurt. Booking that room was an expensive mistake.

Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle055
CaroleAxeHamik, Owner at Whalesong Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

I am sadly disheartened by this untrue review. First off, the rooms have a heater and a fireplace in each. I point it out to the guests, why they would not turn it on is quite puzzling and then to complain....??? I make 6 muffins each night and if they are frozen- it is just fine, they defrost the next... More 

Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2014

The website is so lovely, and months ago, my sister booked the whole guest area for our party of three. We confirmed mid-summer. On the day of reservation, we could not reach the owner by phone to advise we would arrive early evening, so left two messages. When we arrived , we roused the owner upstairs who greeted us by... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank fancyfree28805
CaroleAxeHamik, Owner at Whalesong Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

I am so sorry to have overbooked the rooms! It was an extremely busy summer for the bed and breakfast, the likes of which I haven't seen in almost twenty years of doing business, and I feel terrible that I made that mistake with the booking. Luckily I have since created a streamlined, organized system that will help prevent that... More 

Wasilla, AK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2014

My wife and I stayed two nights, and were quite comfortable. Our hostess was charming and knowledgeable, assisting with all our needs. Her husband, was gone commercially fishing, but left his mark throughout the B&B with artistic and well made woodwork. The rate, at the height of Halibut season, was better than the name brand motels/hotels.

Helpful?
Thank cw2ret
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Hostess charms by phone and does not deliver. Once in her heyday place was probably great in the 70's she hasn't changed the decor bedding or carpet since. A nightmare for those allergic to dust, mold or drapes. Never use a Murphy bed that hadn't been cleaned or pulled out for god knows how long. No home cooked eggs or... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Swahil
CaroleAxeHamik, Owner at Whalesong Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

I am sorry that your stay was not to your expectations. I thought that you would be a no-show as you had not phoned regarding your late arrival and did not show up until 11:30pm. Once you arrived I followed you to your accommodations to verify that you would be comfortable. The murphy bed that you mentioned in your review... More 

Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Whalesong Bed and Breakfast. It's located just off Pioneer Ave., a main throughfare; shops and restaurants are within walking distance, though the Spit would be a bit far. The owner, Carole, is an excellent hostess. She had recommendations for restaurants (for lunch and dinner), things to do, places to visit, and scenic spots.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Sam S
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We traveled to Homer at the suggestion of our adult daughter, who joined us at the Whalesong B&B, which I had found - online. This was her 3rd visit to Homer, our 1st. During her previous 2 visits - she & friends had camped out on the "Spit." The town is first rate - well worth the trip - off... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Qbear57
Seward, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We are always looking for comfortable homey lodging in Homer for a reasonable price...we travel here often for birding. The Whalesong checks the boxes for us. The owner and hostess, Carole, is fun and friendly. The location is great...quiet, easy to find and close to the Homer amenities. The Whalesong has lots of charater with hand crafted woodwork adding a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank MsBirdman

10 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Homer hotels
1.2 km away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
1.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Bidarka Inn
1.6 km away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Homer Stay and Play
Homer Stay and Play
#12 of 40 in Homer
16 reviews
0.2 km away
The Spyglass Inn B&B
The Spyglass Inn B&B
#11 of 40 in Homer
46 reviews
0.9 km away
Pioneer Inn Homer
Pioneer Inn Homer
#9 of 40 in Homer
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Shuttle Bus Service

Additional Information about Whalesong Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4002 Kachemack Way, Homer, AK 99603
Region: United States > Alaska > Homer
Price Range: $206 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Whalesong Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Whalesong Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Whalesong Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I stayed in the Delaine Room and it was very cozy.”
 of 5 bubbles SDRoamingLizard, 10 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Do not book here.”
 of 5 bubbles Danielle055, 4 Jan 2015 | Read review
“With a small number of rooms, reserve long enough in advance to receive your choice of bed arrangements.”
 of 5 bubbles cw2ret, 2 Sep 2014 | Read review
“not relevant”
 of 5 bubbles Qbear57, 7 Jul 2013 | Read review
“Both rooms are equally nice. If you are traveling as a family or with two couples, renting the suite is the way to go! The spacious sunroom offers plenty of living space for relaxing and visiting, as well as for enjoying breakfast. TV, microwave and mini frig are provided. Hostess also allows laundry to be done on premises for a modest fee.”
 of 5 bubbles elizabetht291, 16 Sep 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay