We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Alaskan Hotel & Bar

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 120: English reviews
BALLINA
Reviewed 8 September 2016

The Alaskan was built in 1903 and has old world charm, the steep steps up to the first floor were a bit of a challenge but it had charm. The room was small and clean and beautiful cotton sheets on the beds. There was a sink in the room but the bathrooms were down the hall; don't get lost as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SHEILS A
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you ever so much so your positive review. Many people only write a review when tghey have a compiant. It takes a special person to take time to write a positive one. Thank you again, Bettye Adams

Lyons, Michigan, Usa
Reviewed 7 September 2016

If you are in Juneau and have a night to spend here, it is worth it. It is reasonably priced and old! It is not a luxury hotel, but it has a lot of charm. Don't expect service, at least in the summer. They have kids working that are not helpful. The room was really cool but didn't have air...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lori B
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Like i have said before to write a positive review takes a special person. It really makes my day when I get a good one. thank you again, Bettye Adams

Hanoi, Ha Noi, Vietnam
Reviewed 3 September 2016

We booked the room with price $100/night. The room is very old with tiny bathroom. The staff was super slow and not very helpful. This is the wost service that I've ever experienced though I have stayed at budget accommodation such as hostels, guest houses a lot! I dont think the service here is called hotel service. Receptionist is not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PhanAn
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to give the Alaskan a review. I will work on the staff being more attentive to the needs of the guests. Try us again and see that we have improved.

Wodonga, Australia
Reviewed 3 September 2016

Dropped in for drinks when in Juneau. Old , historic timber interior with no windows. Really worth a visit. Only 1 waitress covering a fairly busy bar but she was more than up to it. The bar itself is beautifully decorated and carved.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CDAussie
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. Bettye Adams

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

The place is pretty affordable for Juneau...thus it is very pricey for what you get! Room was tiny and smelly. Shared bathrooms were not super clean. The hotel itself was noisy at night, we could hear everything that was going on in the other rooms The kitchenette in the room was not equipped at all and did not work well...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anne D
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is a good idea to ask housekeeping for any item for the kitchen that you need as they have extras. By smelly do you mean cigaretted smoke? We do our best to monitor that. I wish that I knew what you mean by "not work very well" and what room number. Thank you again,...

Durham, North Carolina
Reviewed 21 August 2016

We only went to the bar. 5 stars for maintaining the old saloon feel. 3 stars for service and selection 2 stars for whatever "band" was playing while we were there (Irish honky-tonk?) It is worth going in, enjoying a pint. Then move along ...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 150hotelnightsayear
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you ever so much for your positive review.

Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Do not stay here. People are nice, but there is a bathroom down the hall, no TV and the room leans. Antique furniture in room. No fan. Place should be condemned. I would leave but I'm too tired spend a few dollars and stay somewhere else.Band playing downstairs will keep me up all night Although they're not bad.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark R
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Sorry we were not quite what you had in mind. I will work on making it clearer on teh web page exactly what we have and what we do not have. Half of our rooms have private baths, kitchenettes and Tvs , while the other half have shared baths whic are down the hall. Most...

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 3 August 2016

I made a reservation that I had to cancel but I misinterpreted the cancellation policy so I ended up cancelling too late to get a refund. I explained my situation to the hotel staff and they generously granted me a refund anyway. Since I didn't end up staying at the hotel I can't comment on the rooms, etc., but I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PJ_Travels_37
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive review. Bettye Adams

Wanaka, New Zealand
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

Nice, rustic hotel with a bar underneath. Old rustic charm give this hotel a great feel and the bar had live bluegrass/blues/country music every day. If you want peace and quiet, then this is not the place for you. The doors and walls are thin and you can hear the music from the bar. So your best bet is to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marc B
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad tht you enjoyed your stay. I would like to know what room that you were in so I could close the hole and stop the mouse. I you have time send me a note through my web page. Thank you again, Bettye Adams

Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

Stopped by for dinner after a long drive and wasn't driving anywhere after, ordered the long island iced tea. I was not disappointed, from my experience it was one of the better long islands I've had. The western burger that I ordered was also very well made. This will be on my list of stops every time I come through...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith C

177 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (27)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (140)
Viewed
201 (20)
Viewed
207 (22)
Viewed
212 (28)
Viewed
322 (20)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Juneau hotels
13.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed
0.1 km away
Westmark Baranof Hotel
Westmark Baranof Hotel
#10 of 16 in Juneau
393 reviews
0.6 km away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#6 of 16 in Juneau
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Goldbelt Hotel Juneau
Goldbelt Hotel Juneau
#5 of 16 in Juneau
127 reviews
0.7 km away
Prospector Hotel
Prospector Hotel
#8 of 16 in Juneau
154 reviews
11.7 km away
Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
The Alaskan Bar
The Alaskan Bar
Cuisines: Pub
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An historic hotel located in the center of downtown Juneau, the Alaskan is on the National Register of Historic Places. It was opened as a hotel in 1913. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Alaskan Hotel & Bar

Address: 167 S. Franklin, Juneau, AK 99801
Region: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Price Range: $125 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Alaskan Hotel & Bar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Alaskan Hotel & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alaskan Hotel And Bar
Alaskan Hotel Juneau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Alaskan Hotel & Bar staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Alaskan Hotel & Bar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room at the back”
 of 5 bubbles SHEILSA_12, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with a bath.”
 of 5 bubbles luv2vacaywt, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for quieter room”
 of 5 bubbles DBH20, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms on the street side of the note due to noise and sidewalk cigarette smokers,”
 of 5 bubbles rwhite1066, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“"standard" room has no bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles highspirits3, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay