We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Alaskan Hotel & Bar

Expedia.comUS$80*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
See the most recent reviews
Showing 124: English reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Do not stay here. People are nice, but there is a bathroom down the hall, no TV and the room leans. Antique furniture in room. No fan. Place should be condemned. I would leave but I'm too tired spend a few dollars and stay somewhere else.Band playing downstairs will keep me up all night Although they're not bad.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark R
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Sorry we were not quite what you had in mind. I will work on making it clearer on teh web page exactly what we have and what we do not have. Half of our rooms have private baths, kitchenettes and Tvs , while the other half have shared baths whic are down the hall. Most...

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 3 August 2016

I made a reservation that I had to cancel but I misinterpreted the cancellation policy so I ended up cancelling too late to get a refund. I explained my situation to the hotel staff and they generously granted me a refund anyway. Since I didn't end up staying at the hotel I can't comment on the rooms, etc., but I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PJ_Travels_37
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive review. Bettye Adams

Wanaka, New Zealand
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

Nice, rustic hotel with a bar underneath. Old rustic charm give this hotel a great feel and the bar had live bluegrass/blues/country music every day. If you want peace and quiet, then this is not the place for you. The doors and walls are thin and you can hear the music from the bar. So your best bet is to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marc B
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad tht you enjoyed your stay. I would like to know what room that you were in so I could close the hole and stop the mouse. I you have time send me a note through my web page. Thank you again, Bettye Adams

Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

Stopped by for dinner after a long drive and wasn't driving anywhere after, ordered the long island iced tea. I was not disappointed, from my experience it was one of the better long islands I've had. The western burger that I ordered was also very well made. This will be on my list of stops every time I come through...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith C
Corvallis, Oregon
Reviewed 25 July 2016

The Alaskan is an interesting bit of history that you might want to experience but it (as another review said) isn't for everyone. The general state of repair and cleanliness is less than you would find in almost any other hotel available to tourists in the US. In my room the chair leg was broken, the wood work was grimy,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DBH20
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I have looked for a room with a broken chair and have not been able to find it. It does sound like you did not get one of the better rooms. I am happy that you found the staff helpful. It is challenging to keep the oldest hotel in Alaska running at all let alone...

Columbus, Mississippi
Reviewed 25 July 2016

On the night of 14-JULY-2016 my rucksack was taken from room 221 while I was asleep. (POLICE REPORT 2016-029300). I lost my passport, pilot's license, car keys, Swiss army knife, suntan creme, empty bottle of OFF, affinity cards, PARKS CANADA pass, US parks pass, rain coat, clippers, gloves, & other personal items, These were probably of little value to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rwhite1066
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

As I comunicated to you on the phone I am so sorry for your misfortunate experience. I called the police and tracked down the officer in charge ( it had dropped through the cracks) and had her come over and view the tape and do a more thorough report. We did search everywhere even the trash. The cleaning crew comes...

Cape Coral Fl
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

Although I don't believe the Alaskan is for everybody, it certainly is an experience on its own. Staying here is like stepping back to the beginning of the 20th century. The hotel is furnished just as I imagine it was in that period of time. Velvet wallpaper, antique furniture and radiator heat. Not all rooms have private baths ( shared...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pennyless2013
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for the 4 stars and our positive review. We have owned the hotel for 40 years and have been restoring ever since. It is on the National Reguster and the oldest operating hotel in Alaska. Thank you aain, Bettye Adams

Sunshine Coast, Australia
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

I was attracted by the chalkboard advertising a bluegrass band later that afternoon & went back to see them. The bar had great atmosphere & the staff were pleasant. I really enjoyed the music & would recommend this place as worth checking out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cwalker71
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your positie review and 4 stars. We havebeen voted by the locals as the best music bar in Juneau. Thank you again, Bettye Adams

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 18 July 2016

We recently stayed at this hotel and were very disappointed. No fan or air circulation in the rooms and very loud. Everything seemed like it was not cleaned very well and the hotel staff seemed very unfriendly. No elevator, just and FYI. Would not recommend this place. Pay the extra money and enjoy a room somewhere else.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vloverti
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is true that the Alaskan is not for every body. We are the oldest hotel in Alaska and have the lowest prices in Juneau. Also the was the hottest summer in 69 years so normally we are not asked for fans. I did buy extra fans this last week however. Thak yo again, Bettye...

Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Everyone goes to the Red Dog Saloon but on the advice of a local we visited the Alaskan Hotel and Bar for a drink. The place is over 100 years old and it has all the character of a turn of the century watering hole. It's a neat place to visit and certainly not a tourist trap. They have live...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StevenLee13
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. Bettye Adams

176 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (27)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (140)
Viewed
201 (20)
Viewed
207 (22)
Viewed
212 (28)
Viewed
322 (20)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Juneau hotels
0.6 km away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#7 of 16 in Juneau
314 reviews
1.2 km away
Juneau Hotel
Juneau Hotel
#5 of 16 in Juneau
135 reviews
0.1 km away
Westmark Baranof Hotel
Westmark Baranof Hotel
#6 of 16 in Juneau
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 km away
Best Western Grandma'S Feather Bed
11.7 km away
Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel
0.6 km away
Prospector Hotel
Prospector Hotel
#8 of 16 in Juneau
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
The Alaskan Bar
The Alaskan Bar
Cuisines: Pub
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An historic hotel located in the center of downtown Juneau, the Alaskan is on the National Register of Historic Places. It was opened as a hotel in 1913. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Alaskan Hotel & Bar

Address: 167 S Franklin St, Juneau, AK 99801-1321
Region: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Price Range: $122 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Alaskan Hotel & Bar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Alaskan Hotel & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alaskan Hotel And Bar
Alaskan Hotel Juneau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Alaskan Hotel & Bar staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Alaskan Hotel & Bar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms in front overlook the busy street. There is some level of downtown noise. The front bay windows however are very cool.”
cptdjc, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back”
SHEILSA_12, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with a bath.”
luv2vacaywt, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for quieter room”
DBH20, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms on the street side of the note due to noise and sidewalk cigarette smokers,”
rwhite1066, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$80* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$80
Orbitz.comUS$80
TripAdvisorUS$80
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates