We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Alaska Funny Moose

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Soldotna
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Alaska Funny Moose
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Alaska Funny Moose
See the most recent reviews
Showing 58: English reviews
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewed 13 January 2009

Our stay at the Funny Moose Lodge was exactly what we expected. Truly a trip of my life time! It had always been my father's dream to go to Alaska and fish for salmon and halibut. So I brought my 72 year old dad and three friends to George's spot on the Kenai River. Upon our arrival we were met...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank VisionDoc
New York
Reviewed 29 December 2008

Our long awaited Alaskan fishing trip was horrible. My husband booked thetrip directly with George. He never told us that we were staying down the road at the Buddha Lodge, he never told us that all the fishing trips were a minimum of 20 miles away, or that the halibut trip was 100 miles away, and that we had to...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank catieb
JimDicken, Asistant to the Owner at Alaska Funny Moose, responded to this review

I am sorry that the people did not have a good time. As to the vehicle they rented, well you get what is available in Alaska. George has made arrangements with a rental agency to keep the costs down. He gets so many vehicle rentals per summer, and if you book late then you are stuck with what is left....

OC, California
Reviewed 20 August 2008

My dad and I stayed at the Lodge at Funny Moose and had a fantastic first trip to Alaska. George really set us up with a great package. All of the excursions we went on where great and priced well. All we had to do was show up and fish!!! Jim was great and always willing to give us advice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank spacerbrit
Surprize,Arizona
Reviewed 19 August 2008

We just returned from our 3rd stay at the Funny moose. the fishing was great and George had all the trips with the gudes booked each day and goes over them on your arrival. This is not a 5 star hotel, but for the price it is the best deal in Alaska. As a bonus we got to view bears...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ebass773
New Jersey
Reviewed 15 August 2008

Just returned from The Funny Moose Lodge (August 2nd through 9th) and it was everything it was advertised to be. I found George to be knowledgable, pleasant and hospitable. Jim Dicken who was our unofficial "concierge" offered help with whatever we needed. The folks at Funny Moose Lodge are the best. As for the lodging, the cabins were exactly that,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MooseKnuckles007
Cambridge MA
Reviewed 27 July 2008

My friends and I where booked to stay at the Funny Moose Lodge the second week of a 2 week vacation in Alaska... the 1st week was great , all the accomadations were as descibed. When we arrived at the Funny Moose we were met ( not greeted) by Jim who talked to us like children telling us the rules...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Theresa47
JimDicken, Assitant to the Owner at Alaska Funny Moose, responded to this review

Funny Moose Lodge is not for everyone. The cabins are as described. Plain Plywood Cabins on Cinder Blocks. That is why the price of the trips is so low. After all most of the time you are here you are out fishing... so what do you need the Hilton for. Funny Moose is a Hard Core Fishing Camp. It is...

Sacramento
Reviewed 24 July 2008

The Funny Moose fishing lodge had the worst lodging facilities that I have ever seen. Plywood boxes built on 3ft high cinder blocks. and filthy inside. There was mold in the shower all over the floor and walls, multiple blankets and sheets had stains and the smell was discusting. The owner of this lodge George conducts business over the internet...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Eagleye1
JimDicken, Assistant to the owner. at Alaska Funny Moose, responded to this review

I am the Jim in the description. I regret that these folks felt that I thought they were an encumbrance on my day. I work at the lodge because I love to help people have a good time fishing. In this particular instance I went out of my way to help these folks even loaning one of the ladies in...

newry, ireland
Reviewed 13 November 2007

george was very friendly and helpful, our accomodation was good, our trips were good, compared to ireland the fishing was fantastic. we caught halibut to 165lb and king salmon to 65lb. we had a very enjoyable 10 days and even though our trip from ireland was very tiring, we hope to do it again. the newry anglers.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jonNewry
Idaho falls Idaho
Reviewed 9 September 2007

Just got back from our trip to Soldotna and had a great time. I don't usually write reviews but after being scared by a couple of the reviews i wanted to share my opinion of the place. 1. George is not what many people consider friendly...He can be short at times but if i had the same 20 questions posed...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank gccIdahofallsIdaho
san antonio, Texas
Reviewed 15 August 2007

Just returned from a trip to Funny Moose Lodge. The week was to be remembered forever. The quaint little cottages were more than comfortable and just what a group of nine men, needed after a long day on the water. George set up all of our trips for us and we had a "killer" week. Plenty of fish to take...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Mainer50

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
9:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soldotna
19.1 km away
Kenai River Lodge
Kenai River Lodge
#2 of 8 in Soldotna
72 reviews
20.4 km away
Salmon Catcher Lodge
Salmon Catcher Lodge
#4 of 16 in Kenai
52 reviews
18.8 km away
Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 km away
Soldotna Inn
Soldotna Inn
#8 of 8 in Soldotna
33 reviews
17.9 km away
BEST WESTERN King Salmon Motel
18.3 km away
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
Aspen Hotel Soldotna
#3 of 8 in Soldotna
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Funny Moose Lodge is a lodge directly on the Kenai River. We have fishing right on the property and staff will clean and package your fish. There is a fee for vacuum packing your fish. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alaska Funny Moose

Address: Sara Street, Soldotna, AK 99669 (Formerly Funny Moose Lodge)
Region: United States > Alaska > Soldotna
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Funny Moose Hotel Soldotna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Alaska Funny Moose staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Roswell, New Mexico
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Alaska Funny Moose staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bring clothing layers and a good rain outfit.”
 of 5 bubbles Piscataquog, 9 Sep 2013 | Read review
“we took what we got and didn't fuss a bit”
 of 5 bubbles 160IanG, 14 Aug 2012 | Read review
“All are ther same.”
 of 5 bubbles Don9368K, 12 Aug 2012 | Read review
“Bring your own cleaning supplies”
 of 5 bubbles RussS230, 18 Jul 2012 | Read review
“Bring towels soap etc”
 of 5 bubbles Fishingfoo, 17 Jun 2012 | Read review
5 of 5