We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Peaks Motor Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Peaks Motor Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Peaks Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 162: English reviews
Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night at this motel in the midst of the ski belt. Good clean modern establishment in pleasant surroundings A short distance from the Ohakune town centre. An enjoyable one night stay. Would definitely return in future. Helpful friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lujamesm
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks! We're glad to make your work stay an enjoyable one, look forward to seeing you again.

Bunnythorpe
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Nice place to stay, very helpful managers, all amenities required for stays. Not to far to find all the excellent restuarant's and cafes. Conference room is available and has excellent facilities on offer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank B N
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your review. Yes we are very lucky with the location here -far enough off the main highway to lose the traffic noise, but on the way up to the ski fields and the Tongariro National Park just a short walk away. Restaurants, cafes and village are 1 km away.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 5 June 2016

We have a corner room with good view of the snow cap mountain, unfortunately it was raining most of the time during our stay and our view was block by thick cloud. The weather is cold when we are in Ohakune, the heater unit in the room is not enough to keep us warm (we are from Singapore, summer for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChoonTiong G
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Yes winter in Ohakune can take visitors from hot countries by surprise. At 600 m above sea level this is an alpine climate with quite severe temperatures and a lot of rain in winter. As this converts into quite a lot of snow up on the ski fields we will put up with it! however I...

Grand Junction, Colorado
Reviewed 4 June 2016

Clean modern motel with the most helpful of many friendly staff that we've seen during our three weeks in New Zealand. Ohakune is a very small town. The motel is near to either of the two "business" districts and also near the entrance to Tongariro NP. We'll plan to stay here again when we return for additional hiking in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank williamhS4270EY
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your review, looking forward to having you here again. We're currently working to promote some lesser known walks around this side of Mt Ruapehu and look forward to sharing them with you next time you're here.

Gillingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 May 2016

Location - great. Accommodation - great. Peace and quiet and able to sit outside of patio doors or lie on the grass in your own space. Owner really helpful and there is a Spa pool - not a fast frothy one but a slow therpeutic soak. There is a gym and sauna as well. We decided to stay 2 nights...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geraldine t
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks very much for remembering to do us a review. Also thanks for taking the time to enjoy our area and our motel, we often hear guests say that they wish they had allowed more time to do the same thing. One night just doesn't cut it!

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Nice clean motel, good facilities, great views. Loved the outdoor spa which looks at the mountains. Good kitchenette and spacious living area. Friendly and helpful staff. A nice distance from the main part of town, so very quiet and peaceful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alanh453
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks!

Rosebud, Australia
Reviewed 23 April 2016

Beautiful clean room with a full kitchen! After traveling on the road for 10 days it was great to cook a meal in our room. Bed the best we had slept on in our travels, soft, warm so comfortable. Bathroom roomy and with all facilities you need. Lovely outside sitting area with lawn and views to the mountains. Walking distance...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank helken2014
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for such a descriptive review, and the comment on the beds: they are an upgrade on the usual motel beds which many people comment favourably on to us. We installed a new VDSL wifi system in March which seems to be working well, no complaints so far, so I presume you were here before that as we don't have...

Reviewed 19 April 2016

The room was spotless and the bathroom was very clean and fresh. Bedding was spotless and the kitchen had all the essentials. The paintwork was in a very good state throughout-not tired or scratched as you often find in motels. The spa was basic but did the job, and spa towels were provided. Good location. The owner could have been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne T
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your review, we would love to see you again and promise to be a bit more cheerful by then, as we are taking regular breaks after this extremely busy summer.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 April 2016

I booked this motel attracted by the 'mountain views from all rooms' and a mention by a reviewer of a cooked breakfast being served in the room, Oh, and the spa poor. We got there late because of a crash on the Taupo road which left us queuing for two hours. Altho I had phoned ahead, there was no one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 450frances21
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Many of the points you have raised are simply not true. - We have never advertised 'mountain views from all rooms", only from some. Often the mountain is wreathed in cloud and nobody sees it at all so we don't make a big deal of mountain views, in order to avoid disappointment. On the other hand no rooms look out...

Germany
Reviewed 15 April 2016

The Peaks Motor Inn is just between the 2 major parts of Ohakune. You can take a beautiful stroll along the little stream towards the village with restaurants etc. The room is comfy, you have an outside sitting place - so just fine.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank doroPfalz
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your review, which sums up the attitude of most people as they leave every morning nicely.

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
1.0 km away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
26.0 km away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,420 reviews
26.1 km away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel
0.8 km away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
26.5 km away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Peaks is the perfect base for visiting Mt Ruapehu summer or winter, with a great location on the main road to Turoa ski area, halfway between town and the Junction. The property features 23 Studio & 1-Bedroom Units, 2 Outdoor Spa Pools Sauna, Gym, Guest Laundry and a Drying room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Peaks Motor Inn

Address: 128 Mangawhero Terrace | Cnr Mangawhero Tce & Shannon St, Ohakune 4625, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Price Range: $118 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Peaks Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Peaks Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Peaks Motor Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Peaks Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a mountain view!”
 of 5 bubbles 450frances21, 15 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a mountain view”
 of 5 bubbles hughbdo, 20 Mar 2016 | Read review
“By main entrance with a spa bath!”
 of 5 bubbles Narziss, 23 Feb 2016 | Read review
“ask for the room with bath tube”
 of 5 bubbles PHG1811027, 21 Jan 2016 | Read review
“All looked good to us.”
 of 5 bubbles 186Steve, 5 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5