We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Homestead Lodge Motel

Expedia.comUS$80*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$82*
US$80*
US$82*
US$80*
US$82*
US$80*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Homestead Lodge Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 44: English reviews
Start your review of Homestead Lodge Motel
 Click to rate
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The road noise is unavoidable here but the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. If you want a convenient room without taking a detour off your route this is the place to consider. We were only here one night but were welcomed like we were here for a week. Very helpful management

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CaravannersDandK
homesteadlodgemotel, Owner at Homestead Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Hello CaravannersDandK We were excited to read that you found our service and welcome so great, we enjoy our role operating Homestead Lodge and really appreciate that you have recommended us to other travellers. Thank you. Kind Regards Debbie

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights, whilst it's nothing flash it is very clean and tidy and very friendly checkin. Close to restaurants, town centre and supermarkets. Choose a room down the back as the road is very busy all through the evening

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolk50
homesteadlodgemotel, Owner at Homestead Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Hello Carol, Thank you for your review. Really pleased that you found your room clean and tidy and that you received a friendly check in. Please feel free to contact in regard to room choice as we know our rooms well and can direct you to what will best suit. Kind Regards Debbie

Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

The studio unit has a comfortable double bed. Microwave, toaster and cutlery/crockery for making your own breakfast. While the decor is outdated it is clean and has all the usual amenities. It's on the main highway no1 so can be noisy but we were not disturbed at all. BBQ facilities, free wifi, free parking and close to the city. Walking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emjmeakin
homesteadlodgemotel, Owner at Homestead Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Hello Elizabeth, Thank you for your wonderful review of our motel, we really appreciate all your feedback and are happy to hear you are enjoying your stay. Kind Regards Debbie

Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

This is a nice and quiet place despite being on a main road. A little expensive but really well appointed with everything you need for a relaxing stay. Complimentary tea, coffee and hot chocolate. Good hot shower, king size bed, couch, fridge, etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Max B
homesteadlodgemotel, Owner at Homestead Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Hello Max, Really appreciate your fabulous review of our motel, happy that you had everything you needed. Thank you and all the best for 2017. Kind Regards Debbie

Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Stayed here for 3 nights in a 2 bed apartment in a property next to the main hotel. The facilities were ageing but everything was functional clean and tidy. Easy to park which was actually undercover below the apartment, Very friendly and helpful management as well. Would stay here again if in Timaru.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Digory
homesteadlodgemotel, Owner at Homestead Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Hello Digory, Really pleased that your enjoyed your stay so much you would come back again and glad that you found the room was just what you needed. Thank you for your positive feedback, we enjoy operating our motel. Kind Regards Debbie

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2017

This motel is located right on SH1 on a hill and a slight bend. Traffic noise is quite awful until well after midnight and begins again around 5.30 am. To add insult to injury the sound proofing between rooms is inadequate because I was able to listen to the dialogue on the TV in the adjoining room until it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Durleysteve
homesteadlodgemotel, Owner at Homestead Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Hello Steve, I am sorry that your stay was not adequate for you. We have many repeat customers stay with us all year round who enjoy our location, service and price. In our information books we list many items that may be of use to our guests which include fans for the Summer months. It is unfortunate that you were...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Stopped here for one night. Room was comfortable and with enough space for all our stuff. Good to park outside our room, though the place is tight for parking. Close to Caroline Bay and central Timaru. On the main road so easy to find,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margm50
homesteadlodgemotel, Owner at Homestead Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Hello Margm50, Thank you for taking the time to say how comfortable your room was and how close we are to central Timaru. Kind Regards Debbie

Mackenzie District, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Cheap and comfortable night spent here. Definitely dated, but everything was spotless and provided. Noticed the road noise quite a bit, no double glazing to reduce this. Worth considering this place if coming to Timaru. The kitchen was well stoked with enough stuff to cook a decent meal

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JustPlaneMad
homesteadlodgemotel, Owner at Homestead Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Hello JustPlaneMad, Really please to hear that your room was clean and of a great standard and that you had everything you needed. Thank yo for taking the time to write this review. Kind Regards Debbie

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

After calling up after 10pm, the team were very helpful and had us sorted for a room for the night. Location was easy to find and room was in great condition and would definitely recommend and stay again. Thank you very much!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Saffanz
homesteadlodgemotel, Owner at Homestead Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Hello Saffanz, Thanks for your awesome review. We pride ourselves on our service, glad to help and look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards Debbie

Australia
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a night while heading north. Selected because of reasonable price, but was pleasantly surprised by this. While a little dated, it was very comfortable, clean and tidy with good facilities. Great value for money and recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric W
homesteadlodgemotel, Owner at Homestead Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Hello Eric, Thank you for your positive review of our motel. We are glad you had a comfortable stay and were happy with our facilities. All the best for 2017. Kind Regards Debbie

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Timaru hotels
1.2 km away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#5 of 18 in Timaru
249 reviews
2.2 km away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#3 of 18 in Timaru
156 reviews
0.1 km away
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
#9 of 18 in Timaru
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Townhouse Motel
Townhouse Motel
#6 of 18 in Timaru
50 reviews
2.0 km away
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Timaru
94 reviews
1.1 km away
Timaru TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Homestead Lodge Motel and Timaru, gate way to the southern lakes and mountains. Ten ground-floor 3 star plus rated Studios and Family Units, 1 Homestead 3 bedroom Superior Apartment and two self-contained Budget Apartments. FREE Wifi and FREE Parking. Breakfast available and delivered to your room. Barbecue Area for Guests. We are located 5 minutes walk to beautiful Caroline Bay, recently voted in New Zealand as one of our top 10 beaches by the Automobile Association. Walk to town and explore our shops and boutiques. Walk to CBay Aquatic Centre and have endless fun in the water. Stroll to Restaurants and cafes, some of which have a view over Caroline Bay. Local Museum and Art Gallery. Experience Maori culture at Te Ana Maori Rock Art Centre and their Te Ana site tour. Check out the Little Blue Penguins at Caroline Bay, the smallest penguin in the world. We have a wealth of local knowledge to assist you during your stay in Timaru and look forward to showing you our little part of the world. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Homestead Lodge Motel

Address: 28 Evans Street, Timaru 7910, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Price Range: $101 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Homestead Lodge Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Homestead Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Homestead Lodge Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Give this a miss if at all possible.”
Durleysteve, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you are a light sleeper the units to te back of the property would be better as it is on the main road.”
Margm50, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Quieter rooms are furthest from the main road (obviously!)”
dee-em, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Self-contained rooms for those who like to self-cater.”
Benley11, 15 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Avoid Room No.1”
krapook, 30 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$80* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$80
TravelocityUS$80
Booking.comUS$82
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates