We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,209 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 526: English reviews
New York City, New York
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort The hotel is okay and it is close to small convenient store. Our room was okay as well but it had a smell of humidity. The way they do their check in is not adequate. They sit all the passengers that just arrived on the boat on a common area and they do it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LuciaDel
Paris, France
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel has the perfect combination of comfort and Luxury. This is the place where you get one of the best overwater bungalows in the island for a very reasonable price. They are bigger than the usual ones, offer you your own area for taking the sun, the stairs directly to the lagoon as well as a glassed floor to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank fur312
H0564GM, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review

Iaorana and thank you for sharing your experience in Sofitel Bora Bora ! We are very delighted that you had a Magnifique and unique stay in our little piece of paradise. We hope to welcome you back soon ! Mauruuru !

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We spent 5 out of 10 nights for our Honeymoon in a Lagoon view bungalow at the Sofitel. We had booked our trip though Costco Travel and they recommended this hotel. The first evening we arrived late and decided just to eat at the Hurricane Bar. The hamburger I ordered was so terrible I did not eat it but we...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank KG56789
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Got a great deal for Sofitel bora bora through Costco travel where breakfast and lunch were included everyday. The food was excellent everyday, I enjoyed the buffet breakfast every morning which was very tasty and the variety between buffet and plated dinners at night (they really seemed to pay special interest with their food it really was great!) We stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah S
H0564GM, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review

Iaorana and thank you for sharing your experience in Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort !

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We did bora bora on a budget and this hotel fell into our budget. Upon arriving we were shocked at how amazing of a deal we got on this beautiful place. We enjoyed a private over the water bungalow for the week and it was absolutely amazing. The hotel staff could not have possibly been any friendlier. The whole stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
H0564GM, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience ! We are very delighted that you have found your Paradise in Sofitel Bora Bora. All our teams would like to thank you for such a fantastic feedback. Maururu maitai and come back soon !

Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After 10 days aboard a chartered catamaran exploring the waters of Raiatea, Tahaa and Raiatea, we decided to end our trip in a beach resort. We decided on the Sofitel for it's location on Matira Beach, the price and that we didn't want to be on a remote motu. The property is older but the staff was great, our beach...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PaddlerSimone
H0564GM, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review

Iaorana and thank you for sharing your Magnifique experience at Sofitel Bora Bora! We were very delighted to host you and we look forward to welcome you back again !

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Besides the premisses are presenting some indication of aging, it is cozy and the over water bungalows delivers. It costs more than the others but are more wide and even the quality of the shampoo is better. Nespresso machine inside with 4 complimentary capsules. The food is excellent (the steak is huge!!) and surprisingly, affordable, comparing with the other places,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Marcos F
H0564GM, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review

Iaorana from the Sofitel Marara Bora Bora Beach Resort. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay in Bora Bora in our establishment. Our Ambassadors are pleased and proud of your comment. We have taken into account theremarks you mentioned, so we can improve the experience of our...

Reviewed 28 October 2016

The facilities here are very good but not very fancy, The hurricane bar is very nice atmosphere especially the music(Summer beach dance) the restaurant serve you mostly buffet for the dinner(difference style in each day such as Italian, French and Polynesian) just some day would be a la carte . The staffs are very nice and helpful. If you want...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Krisna T
H0564GM, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review

Iaorana and thank you for sharing your experience in Sofitel Bora Bora ! We are very delighted that you had a Magnifique and unique stay in our little piece of paradise. We hope to welcome you back soon ! Mauruuru !

Yorkville, New York
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

We visited Bora Bora for an anniversary trip. The Sofitel was a very nice friendly resort. The setting was beautiful and the facilities were good. The beach and the infinity pool were very nice. We had a beach bungalow and it was nicely decorated with flowers on arrival. The restaurant was good and the breakfasts were extensive. They have a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Connie S
H0564GM, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review

Iaorana from the Sofitel Marara Bora Bora Beach Resort. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay in Bora Bora in our establishment. Our Ambassadors are pleased and proud of your comment. We have taken into account the remarks you mentioned, so we can improve the experience of...

Tempe, Arizona, United States
Reviewed 26 October 2016

The staff in this hotel is superb, helpful and friendly. The shows at night are very nicely done and the food was very decent also. What disappointed us was the condition of the property. It appears neglected and lacking capital investment. Let me give you an examples.....the door on our "in room small fridge" fell off completely. The maintenance man...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Burgh-Birdman
H0564GM, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and thoughts in your comment.. We're very sorry to hear of the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We do appreciate your feedback, as it allows us the opportunity to review the occurrences in an effort to improve the guest experience. We hope to have the chance to welcome you...

1,677 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1488)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (197)
Viewed
Room/Suite (185)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
View from Room (161)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (188)
Viewed
Dining (95)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
0:21
Videos (8)
Viewed
Other (624)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (92)
Viewed
Beach (8)
Viewed
Lagoon King (40)
Viewed
Pool (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (97)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (48)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
0.9 km away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
#10 of 17 in Bora Bora
1,000 reviews
1.4 km away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
4.9 km away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Sunset Hill Lodge
Sunset Hill Lodge
#9 of 17 in Bora Bora
249 reviews
9.6 km away
Blue Heaven Island
Blue Heaven Island
#15 of 17 in Bora Bora
106 reviews
7.0 km away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort is located on the island of Bora Bora in the heart of the exceptional Matira Bay. The island of Bora Bora is encircled by a protective necklace of coral. Breathtaking lush mountains provide a dramatic backdrop for the luminous turquoise, lapis and aquamarine of the sheltered lagoon. There is something truly unique about Bora Bora, with its sugary sands, rugged mountains, vivid blues, lush greens and soothing lagoon waters that make it the most romantic destination in the world. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort

Address: BP 6, Nunue, 98730, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Price Range: $374 - $537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Prestigia, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach And Private Island Hotel Bora Bora
Sofitel Bora Motu Private Island
Accor Bora Motu Private Island
Bora Bora Sofitel
Sofitel Motu Bora Bora
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
43 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (43)

Questions? Get answers from Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Always choose over-water bungalow or lagoon view bungalow”
 of 5 bubbles krisnat2015, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go out in the water further for more quite bungalows.”
 of 5 bubbles Burgh-Birdman, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you want to sleep in and not hear ukuleles get a bungalow further along the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles jillj531, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bungalows 49 and lower are located closer to the center of the hotel and their activities”
 of 5 bubbles EZTravelGIG, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay in over water bungalow #45!!”
 of 5 bubbles R081n8, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay