We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mpongo Private Game Reserve

PricelineUS$50*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$77*
US$50*
US$63*
US$61*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Mpongo Private Game Reserve
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Mpongo Private Game Reserve
See the most recent reviews
Showing 67: English reviews
Clearwater, Florida
Reviewed 1 February 2016

My wife and I landed in East London, South Africa to start our honeymoon along the Garden Route. Mpongo looked like a nice place to relax for a couple nights before pushing on to more expensive game reserves in Amakhala and Addo. We were very surprised by the value you were able to get at Mpongo compared to the other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
Rodney G, General Manager at Mpongo Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Paul Thank you for your wonderful and positive feedback. We are thrilled that the two of you had a memorable time here at Mpongo Private Game Reserve and trust that we may serve to be part of your happy memories for many a year to come. I trust that you arrived back safely in Florida and working hard at...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 27 January 2016

Everything going for them, great staff, individually, just unattentitive and have no worry in the world on what goes on in the facility!! The facility is great and can be 5 star with double the rate but management needs a lot of work and more care!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grant R
Rodney G, General Manager at Mpongo Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Grant Thank you for your constructive feedback. I would sincerely appreciate it when next you have an opportunity to provide me personally with further feedback and input on your experience here at Mpongo Private Game Reserve. Please feel free to contact me on my email rodney.g@premierhotels.co.za as I would value your input. Thanks again for taking the time to...

Benoni, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 24 January 2016

While I found the reserve and animals viewing of a good standard , I was extremely disappointed by the Sunday lunch which was unimaginative, the meat was tough, and the price for what was offered, exorbitant

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Garth R
Rodney G, General Manager at Mpongo Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Garth Thank you for making the effort to provide us with constructive criticism of your recent visit to Mpongo Private Game Reserve. Disappointing to hear of your experience with regards to lunch especially and herewith invite you to return when next it suits you to enjoy a lunch which has become known for its fresh, wholesome goodness. We would...

Berea
Reviewed 28 December 2015 via mobile

On the 23rd of this month my fiance and myself had our wedding at Mpongo and with me being a previous employee I thought I knew all the tricks and there would be no surprises but was I a fool. The staff and management went out of there way to make our day a truly memorable experience so all I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jsutin P
Rodney G, General Manager at Mpongo Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Justin Thank you for your kind and constructive feedback. We are thrilled to have been part of your wedding and well pleased that it went well for you all. Thank you for having your wedding at Mpongo Private Game Reserve and look forward to hosting you and your wife again in the near future. Wishing you and Mrs Pohlman...

Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Reviewed 26 December 2015

We stayed for one night in Mpongo and it was a dream. First there was the beautiful cottage with a spacious room and a very comfortable bed. There was even an outdoor shower. We did the game self-drive and saw many different animals real close. The restaurant is beautifully located with a view on the pond with two hippos. The...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacques S
Rodney G, General Manager at Mpongo Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Jacques Thank you for your kind and positive feedback. We are most pleased indeed that you had a great time here at Mpongo Private Game Reserve and thank you for choosing Mpongo Private Game Reserve as a destination of choice. It really is a gem a mere stones throw from town and I will be sure to share your...

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 20 December 2015

Room was good with well lined curtains ensuring a good nights sleep. Service at breakfast was awful. We arrived in the restaurant at 0810 and did not get our breakfast until 0850 despite telling the waiter we had to be out by 0845 for a booked game drive. Cooked breakfast had to be sent back as no time to eat...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank W1661QQsusank
Rodney G, General Manager at Mpongo Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Good morning I would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention not only on the day but again through your constructive feedback provided herewith. Again I offer our sincere apologies for the poor service provided both at breakfast as well as with regards to your room. Both respective departments have been informed and imperative corrective measures have...

Port Elizabeth
Reviewed 19 December 2015

It was a very relaxed, cool and perfectly satisfying experience with best views of nature both geographic and wild life!I strongly recommend it for family and couples vacation.It was just awesome!!!!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 500ntombim
Rodney G, General Manager at Mpongo Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Good morning Thank you for choosing Mpongo Private Game Reserve as your choice of destination for your time away. We are thrilled to learn of your enjoyable stay and thank you for the positive feedback. We will be sure to convey it to all the staff concerned. Wishing you a happy, safe and enjoyable festive season. With kind regards Rodney...

Kampala, Uganda
Reviewed 23 November 2015 via mobile

An imposing entrance gate augurs well for the arriving visitor. An enthusiastic welcome and an immediate free upgrade to a room 3x bigger than the original also meant we were off to a good start. The big room with separate toilet and shower/jacuzzi equipped bathroom were clean and decorated to a high standard. The bed was super king size and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank number1acorn
Rodney G, General Manager at Mpongo Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Good afternoon A hearty thanks to you both for choosing Mpongo Private Game Reserve as a choice destination as part of your vacation. It was a pleasure meeting you both and sincerely appreciate the constructive feedback provided. All your valid points have been duly noted and will be followed up on imminently. Our beautiful reserve is a far cry from...

Jhb
Reviewed 22 November 2015

Thank you for a great weekend. Id go back again. Received world class ed till we left. Accomodation perfect & food was the best. Would appriciate more wifi though since your area is poor with cellphone network.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joshua D S
Rodney G, General Manager at Mpongo Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Joshua Thank you for your constructive feedback. We are pleased indeed that your time with us was an enjoyable one. Your kind request or suggestion has been duly noted and we are in the throws of researching how we are able to improve on connectivity for all guests alike, being sure that we will find a solution that would...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2015

Very smart and very well designed lodge. All wood and straw roof with central fireplace in the lounge and dining area. Felt very warm and inviting. Rooms were spacious with sunken bath in the bathroom. and separate shower. All rooms had a patio area with plenty of chairs and a settee. Some had separate villas in the grounds. Deer/boks roamed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HandyAndyLondon_UK
Rodney G, General Manager at Mpongo Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Andy Thank you for your positive and constructive feedback. We are thrilled that you had an enjoyable time and thank you for the opportunity of hosting you. We are pleased and appreciate that you chose Mpongo Private Game Reserve as a choice of destination on your travels. We trust that the rest of your time here in South Africa...

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these East London hotels
7.1 km away
Premier Hotel EL ICC
Premier Hotel EL ICC
#3 of 13 in East London
515 reviews
4.5 km away
Quarry Lake Inn
Quarry Lake Inn
#1 of 13 in East London
205 reviews
7.2 km away
Premier Hotel Regent
Premier Hotel Regent
#6 of 13 in East London
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 km away
Inkwenkwezi Private Game Reserve Safari Lodge
7.0 km away
Areena Riverside Resort
Areena Riverside Resort
#2 of 42 in East London
112 reviews
0.7 km away
Fish Eagle Manor
Fish Eagle Manor
#9 of 138 in East London
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mpongo Private Game Reserve, only 35km from the popular coastal city of East London, offers visitors a one-of-a-kind experience of game viewing and true South African hospitality. Home to elephant, lion, buffalo, hippo, giraffe, numerous antelope and bird species, Mpongo Private Game Reserve offers a unique blend of luxury and wild life experiences on more than 3500 ha of conservation land. Enjoy a day, weekend or a whole week at this magnificent reserve in the heart of the Eastern Cape. With its rolling hills, river valleys and luscious surroundings, it caters to the heart of even the keenest eco-tourist. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mpongo Private Game Reserve

Address: N6 National Road, East London 5201, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > East London
Price Range: $78 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mpongo Private Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mpongo Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mpongo Private Game Reserve Hotel Mpongo Private Game Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mpongo Private Game Reserve staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Port Elizabeth, South Africa

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Mpongo Private Game Reserve staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 8 , Definitely”
bucketlist500, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the River Lodge”
DeeDee749, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“I stayed at the river lodge--”
Nic352, 31 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Stay in the River Lodge”
pauldH3625KO, 1 Feb 2016 | Read review
“The Lodge in the reserve is fantastic”
Bredenoord, 18 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$50* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$63
Hotels.comUS$61
HotelQuicklyUS$77
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates