We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Robberg Beach Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Robberg Beach Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

623 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 511: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here for 5 nights in January and were expecting 5 star luxury and service. There seems to be quite a discrepancy between the standard of rooms, the rooms shown on the website were far superior than our room which was, unbeknownst to us, in a portion of the development, quite separate to the lodge itself, called Cottage Pie....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cl0DAL
Plettenberg Bay
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our first time to Robberg Beach Lodge. The Lodge has a stunning location as Robberg Beach is by far the best beach. Long walks and even some surfing for the kids. We are a family of 4 and stayed in Cottage Pie, the self catering unit. The accommodation was well equipped and suited us perfectly. Unfortunately no balcony or sea...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 183ursulad
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Only gets 2 stars because of our room. No.4 Cottage Pie !!! Everything else would get 4 or 5 star. The cottage Pie part of the complex is terrible, it would struggle to call itself a 3star. All the other rooms in main house etc. are modern and 4star plus. Our room smelled of damp, had no natural light, a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BerEng82
Sandton, South Africa
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Nice location and friendly staff, the room was very spacious and also enjoyed the breakfasts. Ideally located for Robberg 5 beach. Though I thought the price was a little on the high side, I guess it's the season

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank charlespY1309QK
New York City
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The location of the lodge is absolutely excellent - directly across the street from the beach. The hotel is also only a short drive away from a beautiful nature reserve and hiking area. There are no restaurants, stores or cafes within walking distance, but are a short 3-4 km away. We booked our reservation many months in advance but were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelerinbklyn
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience with us at The Robberg Beach Lodge. We are pleased to hear that the location of the lodge and the short distance to the beach has been a highlight for you during your stay. We appreciate that you have taken the time to share your feedback on what...

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed there 4 nights with my mother and brother. We had 2 beautiful rooms in robberg house. The day we arrived we went to have lunch there and it was disastrous. We ordered one ham and cheese sandwich and two salads. We waited for over 45 minutes until I approached the staff and asked how much longer it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marina I
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us at The Robberg Beach Lodge, we appreciate that you have taken the time to provide feedback on what we are doing right and where we need to improve on our guests experience. We apologize for the inconveniences caused by the meals served to you and lack of warm...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Family of 5 visited for 3 nights over the festive season. We had 2 rooms in the Cordovan block. The 2 bedroom family suite housed our 3 young adult children, the suite was well laid out but unfortunately the air conditioning unit it the 2nd bedroom was broken and our son had to be moved to another room for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Robberg Beach Lodge, we appreciate your feedback on what we are doing right and where you feel we can improve on our guests experience in future. Thank you for making special mention of our staff and service too, as excellent service is something we...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Room B3 has spectacular sea views. We weren't aware before arrival that dinner is available if ordered before 4pm. Menu looked very interesting but we had already made a dinner reservation in town (Fat Fish - excellent). Good breakfast, particularly enjoyed eggs benedict with mushrooms, excellent fresh fruit salad and buttery croissants. UK plug socket available in the room and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JMcC83F
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us at The Robberg Beach Lodge. We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your accommodation and breakfast spread during your stay. Our view rooms truly do offer spectacular views of the Robberg 5 beach, and we are thrilled to hear that your views from...

North Wales
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A real gem of a place. A spacious room with a seating area, a large balcony and a huge bathroom. All immaculate and modern. There were two pool areas although we only had enough time to try one out during our stay. The position of the Lodge is what really makes it. Walk across the road and you are on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HildaNorthWales
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience with us at The Robberg Beach Lodge! Nothing makes us happier than receiving such wonderful, positive feedback as you look back on your stay. We hope that we will have the pleasure of seeing you again soon and we wish you all the best for the year ahead!...

Preoria
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a fantastic stay at Robberg Beach Lodge. Room was fantastic, clean and had everything we needed. Breakfast was divine. Staff were pleasant and welcoming. Parking was a bit of an issue with not enough space for all the guests.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theresa B
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback and for taking the time to share your experience with us. Nothing makes us happier than hearing that our amazing staff have been a highlight for our guests. We hope that we will have the pleasure of having you stay with us again soon in the new year! Best wishes, The Bailey...

181 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (139)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
2:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
2.6 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
478 reviews
5.8 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
481 reviews
9.1 km away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#3 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
726 reviews
2.0 km away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
115 reviews
7.4 km away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set right at the middle of Robberg Beach in Plettenberg Bay, The Robberg Beach Lodge offers twenty-nine rooms in four adjacent villas in a remarkable location. With our wandering garden pathways, two pools, two guest lounges, two honesty bars, and spectacular rooftop terrace, we offer a luxurious and tranquil accommodation experience right on the beach. We welcome children of all ages (book a Suite to enjoy reduced rates for children sharing)and we just love making romantic memories for couples. And don't worry if you've just broken up with your boyfriend: solo travellers get a single-occupancy discount. With its 29 rooms, the Robberg can also cater for larger groups. Our family has been gathering here for nearly twenty years, and we're proud to be able to share our special place with you. Set at the heart of the world-famous Garden Route, Plett is a must for all travellers in South Africa. Its ever-changing sky and seascapes, the unspoilt beauty of its lagoons and beaches, its great restaurants & coffee shops and fabulous nature reserves and sanctuaries will soon have you booking your return trip. Look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Robberg Beach Lodge

Address: 89 Beachy Head Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $99 - $526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Robberg Beach Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Robberg Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Robberg Beach Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Paisley, United Kingdom
Spokane, Washington
4 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Robberg Beach Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request that you be put in main Lodge and avoid Cottage Pie (which they don't tell you about at booking stage)”
 of 5 bubbles Cl0DAL, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for front or pool facing room.”
 of 5 bubbles travelerinbklyn, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room B3 has spectacular sea views”
 of 5 bubbles JMcC83F, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Sea view is a must”
 of 5 bubbles LouLou8519, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Avoid Room B1”
 of 5 bubbles Pets10, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay