We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Robberg Beach Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Robberg Beach Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

622 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Robberg Beach Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 510: English reviews
Plettenberg Bay
Reviewed 28 October 2016

We were all very pleased with our stay at the Roberg. The position of the hotel, especailly the wonderful sea view. The staff, food and the rooms, especially the cottage Pie rooms, were excellent. The area around the hotel was great, giving the opportunity to explore the area.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank S9709KNteresac
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us, we are so pleased to hear that you have enjoyed every second of your stay and that you were satisfied with your accommodation. We hope that we will have the pleasure of seeing you again soon! Best wishes, The Bailey Family & The Robberg Team

Reviewed 26 October 2016

My husband and I enjoyed our two night stay at The Robberg. We had a non-sea view room but upon telling them that we were a honeymoon couple, the promptly upgraded us. The staff was very polite, breakfast was basic but great and the property is right on the beach so it's great for early morning or evening walks. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank architat2014
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us - and for choosing to spend such a special occasion with us too! congratulations to you both. We are so pleased to hear that you were well looked-after during your stay, and that you have had a pleasant experience. We wish you both all the best...

Oxfordshire
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Our first stop on 3 week trip.Loved the spaciousness of the room and bathroom. Very clean.Could just glimpse the sea but balcony in shade all day so ask if this is important to you.Our TV did not work properly and although we reported it was not fixed during our 3 night stay.Food good quite simple but well cooked. Staff friendly....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruern
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at The Robberg Beach Lodge, and for making us part of your Garden Route adventure! We apologize for the inconvenience of your TV not being seen to during your stay, however we appreciate that you have brought this to our attention to look into. Thank you for making...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 24 October 2016

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Robberg the staff was welcoming friendly and very helpful. The facility is top quality very clean and neat. The view from the Lodge is to die for. I will recommend this lodge to any looking for quality accommodation in Plett.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 322shereend
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your experience at The Robberg Beach Lodge, nothing makes us happier than hearing our guests have enjoyed every second of their stay. We are also pleased to hear that our wonderful staff have been a highlight for you, as excellent service is something we pride ourselves on at our lodge. Thank...

St. George's, Grenada
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We had a very comfortable overnight stay. The staff were very friendly and the atmosphere relaxed. Stayed in Robberg House and the room was large and comfortable. Our view was inland but lovely and the view from reception beautiful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience with us, we are so pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at The Robberg Beach Lodge. Thank you for making special mention of our wonderful staff, and for highlighting how spacious and comfortable you found our accommodation. We hope that we will have the pleasure...

Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 21 October 2016

The service was really good, we had a great welcome with a nice glass of wine and an explanation of all the activities in the area. The staff was always willing to help out. The breakfast was very good. You could order a la carte or enjoy the buffet with cold cuts, fruits, cereals, breads and pastries. Too bad we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank poncerc
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience at The Robberg Beach Lodge, we so pleased to hear that your stay with has been memorable, and that our wonderful staff have been a highlight for you during your stay. We make sure the quality of our breakfast options meets the high standard of quality that we...

Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Excellent service, room spotless, staff friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were also delicious and plentiful.For us the downside was the location of our room . It was very dark as it never received any sunshine and opened out onto to dark enclosed courtyard. I appreciate everyone can't have a sea view but having seen the hotel on the internet I...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Penelope S
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide valuable feedback on your experience, it is greatly appreciated and we are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We apologize for any inconveniences caused by the location of your room, and we appreciate that you have brought this to our attention for us to avoid...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Sorry but we were privileged to be staying at 5 star guest houses & found this lacking in that category. We had a nice welcome from the Manager & our suite was huge but not being Summer yet we found it very cold. My main problem was at the entrance to Robberg House (there are several buildings with in Hotel)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Veysey2013
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016

The hotel comprises adjacent properties both with views of the wide expanse of beach at Plettenberg Bay. We were in the main building in a corner room so had two different views. The rooms are large and very comfortable and all the staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is a little way from the main town; it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of your stay, and for your recommendation :) Our lodge is well known not only for the beautiful views of the pristine beach, but for our excellent service too, thank you for highlighting these qualities in your feedback. We hope that we will have the pleasure of having you stay...

Reviewed 15 October 2016

We were heading West on our Garden Route Tour and looking for a place to stay the night on a short decision in Plettenberg Bay. The reception by the welcoming staff was the best ever received traveling in RSA. The polite and well trained receptionist explained the amenities to an unexpected detail as well as the outdoor activities. The spacious,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelExtreme66
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience with us at The Robberg Beach Lodge, and for making us part of your Garden Route adventure. We pride ourselves on excellent service in everything we do at the lodge, and nothing makes us happier than hearing that this has been a highlight in your review :) We...

181 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (139)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
2:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
2.6 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
478 reviews
5.8 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
481 reviews
9.1 km away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#3 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
726 reviews
2.0 km away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
115 reviews
7.4 km away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set right at the middle of Robberg Beach in Plettenberg Bay, The Robberg Beach Lodge offers twenty-nine rooms in four adjacent villas in a remarkable location. With our wandering garden pathways, two pools, two guest lounges, two honesty bars, and spectacular rooftop terrace, we offer a luxurious and tranquil accommodation experience right on the beach. We welcome children of all ages (book a Suite to enjoy reduced rates for children sharing)and we just love making romantic memories for couples. And don't worry if you've just broken up with your boyfriend: solo travellers get a single-occupancy discount. With its 29 rooms, the Robberg can also cater for larger groups. Our family has been gathering here for nearly twenty years, and we're proud to be able to share our special place with you. Set at the heart of the world-famous Garden Route, Plett is a must for all travellers in South Africa. Its ever-changing sky and seascapes, the unspoilt beauty of its lagoons and beaches, its great restaurants & coffee shops and fabulous nature reserves and sanctuaries will soon have you booking your return trip. Look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Robberg Beach Lodge

Address: 89 Beachy Head Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $99 - $526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Robberg Beach Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Robberg Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Robberg Beach Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Paisley, United Kingdom
Spokane, Washington
4 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Robberg Beach Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for front or pool facing room.”
 of 5 bubbles travelerinbklyn, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room B3 has spectacular sea views”
 of 5 bubbles JMcC83F, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Sea view is a must”
 of 5 bubbles LouLou8519, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Avoid Room B1”
 of 5 bubbles Pets10, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you have to stay do not stay in block C”
 of 5 bubbles TDownes, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay