We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Robberg Beach Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Robberg Beach Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

592 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Robberg Beach Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 482: English reviews
Plettenberg Bay
Reviewed 15 September 2016

The room we were given was unlike anything depicted on booking.com We were stuck up in some loft in a new part of the porperty with building going on - noisy with little privacy. On arrival the service was slow. We experienced some issues with missing property. Checking out was again slow with nobody at the front desk when we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 120graemeh
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we appreciate your feedback on where we can improve our guest's experiences. We apologize for the inconveniences caused during your stay with the building developments, and slow service, and we appreciate that you have brought this to our attention. We hope that we will have the pleasure of...

Venlo, The Netherlands
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Located at the beach just out of city centre, very nice! Room 5 is spacy but that's it. Frontdoor always stucks and you have to kick it to open and close it. There are no electrical outlets in the bathroom, strange as they provide a hairblower. Free internet is too slow. (Very very slow) Breakfast is perfect. Possibility to eat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VorsVors
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience at The Robberg Beach Lodge. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay, and we hope that the lack of Wi-Fi connectivity has not caused any inconveniences. Thank you for making special mention of our service during your stay, as great , personal service is...

Plettenberg Bay
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Wonderful stay. Value for money. Great location. Staff are friendly and obliging. Breakfast was outstanding. Wifi is a bit slow but not to the point that it's a problem - you are on holiday anyway ....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank V9349FAjasong
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we are so pleased to hear that you have enjoyed every second of your stay with us at The Robberg Beach Lodge. Best Wishes, The Bailey Family and The Robberg Team. We are always pleased to hear that our friendly staff have been a highlight for our guests, as excellent service is...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Beautiful place to have had my honeymoon spent. Situated by the beach for fresh air and a short walk to the water. Absolutely gorgeous views from any angle. Phenomenal breakfast. Great activities in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aneurink2016
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, and for choosing to spend such a special occasion with us! We are so pleased to hear that you have enjoyed every part of your stay, from the views to the breakfast in the morning, these experiences are something we are proud to offer our guests :) We wish you and your...

Hoedspruit, South Africa
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Keep it up guys,you made me feel like a king. Thank you very much!! I'm looking forward to visit again next time and spend a pleasure weekend with my family. Your staff is so wonderful and very professional.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mogoboyat
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! Nothing makes us happier than hearing that our guests have been treated no less than royalty during their stay, and that our service and incredible staff have been a highlight for you during your stay. We hope that we will have the pleasure of seeing you again in future, and we wish...

Plettenberg Bay
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Very good stay, beautifull view over the oceaan. Very helpfull en gave us a lot of information About city, what to do in the area ect ect. Very Nice restaurants in the city !!! Goor price quality. Breakfast was very good !!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank renesZ5021JL
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review on your stay with us at The Robberg Beach Lodge, we are so pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the luxury experience we are so proud to offer our guests. We encourage our guests to explore the area, and we are happy to hear that you have found us helpful in...

Reviewed 10 September 2016

Although we only stayed here for one night, we were overwhelmed by the staff’s friendliness and excellent service. The hotel was quite busy, but as there was some availability, they upgraded us to a suite and offered us helpful advice on what to do in the area. The place is beautiful, located across the road from the coast, and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Myrto G
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, and for taking the time to share your experience with us at The Robberg Beach Lodge. Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated, as nothing makes us happier than hearing that our friendly staff and service have been a highlight for you during your stay. Excellent service, and an all-round luxury experience is...

Plettenberg Bay
Reviewed 8 September 2016

The room is huge, clean, comfortable bed, awesome bathroom .. Staffs are very friendly and they gave us complimentary wine and welcome drinks. Breakfast also very awesome.. And the view from the room also very amazing

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 584antonc
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are always pleased to hear that our guests have enjoyed every second of their stay, from check-in to check-out :) We pride ourselves on being one of the best hotels with a sea view, and we're happy to hear that this has been a highlight...

Oakham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2016

My wife and I stayed at the Robberg last week in a small tour group of seven. Gorgeous rooms and excellent location. Sadly the level of service let the guest house down badly. As a guest house they do not normally do evening meals but they did one for us which was a big mistake. It was awful. I ordered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John W
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience at The Robberg Beach Lodge, and for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for the inconveniences caused by the service you have received during your stay, as this is not the standard of service we pride ourselves on at the lodge. Please note that this has been...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 28 August 2016

This was our second stay at the Robberg Beach Lodge in the last 3 months. The Lodge is perfectly situated right behind Plett's best beach. No other hotel in Plett has a better position. We like the Lodge because it is furnished in a modern, unfussy and minimalistic way and because the service is excellent. The rooms are large, with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise T
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review and for returning for a second visit. Our location is perfect for the ideal seaside getaway. We're happy to hear that your second stay with us was as enjoyable as the previous stay. Thank you for making special mention of The Robberg Beach Lodge, what we have to offer and what you specifically favour...

174 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (132)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
2:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
2.6 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
464 reviews
5.8 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
470 reviews
9.1 km away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
114 reviews
1.9 km away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#3 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
710 reviews
2.7 km away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set right at the middle of Robberg Beach in Plettenberg Bay, The Robberg Beach Lodge offers twenty-nine rooms in four adjacent villas in a remarkable location. With our wandering garden pathways, two pools, two guest lounges, two honesty bars, and spectacular rooftop terrace, we offer a luxurious and tranquil accommodation experience right on the beach. We welcome children of all ages (book a Suite to enjoy reduced rates for children sharing)and we just love making romantic memories for couples. And don't worry if you've just broken up with your boyfriend: solo travellers get a single-occupancy discount. With its 29 rooms, the Robberg can also cater for larger groups. Our family has been gathering here for nearly twenty years, and we're proud to be able to share our special place with you. Set at the heart of the world-famous Garden Route, Plett is a must for all travellers in South Africa. Its ever-changing sky and seascapes, the unspoilt beauty of its lagoons and beaches, its great restaurants & coffee shops and fabulous nature reserves and sanctuaries will soon have you booking your return trip. Look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Robberg Beach Lodge

Address: 89 Beachy Head Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $144 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Robberg Beach Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Robberg Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Robberg Beach Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Spokane, Washington
2 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Robberg Beach Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid Room B1”
 of 5 bubbles Pets10, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you have to stay do not stay in block C”
 of 5 bubbles TDownes, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you are going to stay here. Book room B4. Stunning”
 of 5 bubbles wayne415, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 6 is shady”
 of 5 bubbles Bruern, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Main house with a room at the front provides the best views of the beach”
 of 5 bubbles andyp25, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay