We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Stanley Island

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plettenberg Bay
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Stanley Island
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

40 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Stanley Island
See the most recent reviews
Showing 39: English reviews
Durbanville
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2015

We thought this will be a great idea to stay on an island for 3 days and enjoy the surroundings. From the beginning it was disappointing. We booked in beginning October and when we arrived beginning January we were transferred to another place to stay. The reason they are not finished in clearing party equipment from the island. We then... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 346esras
StanleyIsland_Plett, Owner at Stanley Island, responded to this review

Our sincere apologies for your disappointing stay, we are aware that this was an extraordinary circumstance out of our control which we tried to resolve with alternative accommodation. Please email events@stanleyisland.co.za for further correspondence. More 

1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2014 via mobile

Thank you so much for such a wonderful stay. We had the best time!! The cruise and picnic were highlights of our stay. We got to truly relax because of such a tranquil setting. The staff were always polite and eager to assist.. what an awesome honeymoon destination!!

Helpful?
Thank Cursti W
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had an amazing time at Stanley. Just the setting and the serene beauty of nature, it was wonderful. Management and staff were absolutely fantastic, the friendliness and personal service was incomparable. The knowledge and expertise of Management regarding the history of not only Stanley Island but also it's surrounding areas was refreshing and extremely interesting. The accommodation was great,... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nico_Hilda
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We arrived with the rain which wasn't the best arrival as we had to get to the island accommodation by boat and it was quite miserable. The evening meal was very late but great when it did eventually arrive. The accommodation was very comfortable though I'm not sure I would give it 5 stars as the bathrooms do not have... More 

Helpful?
Thank paulsa60
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We were only able to stay one night, but wish we could have stayed for more, very unique self catering experience, with 5 star quality rooms and service awell as a beautiful location in the middle of Keurbooms rivier surrounded by milkwood trees. Couldn't have asked for more!

Helpful?
1 Thank jonoc c
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Stanley Island over the Easter Weekend.  We are very familiar with this area of the Garden Route and have stayed at many establishments around Plett and Knysna.  Stanley Island, however, stands out as one of a kind.  The need to take a ferry to reach the Island added a touch of adventure... More 

Helpful?
Thank worthitsa
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Fantastic location, awesome facilities, friendly outgoing staff! We felt well rested and it is so easy to relax on Stanley Island. Peace, tranquillity and unobtrusive staff will definitely make us return here!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

What a fantastic experience. Couldn't believe it was so secluded. Felt like I was miles from civilisation. Great service, awesome to wake up with Zebra on the stoep & the stars were incredible! Felt like one of the family!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sean V
Sedgefield, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Had a wonderful time. Pity it was only 1 night. Very friendly and helpful staff. Even the Zebras were friendly. Would suggest door on toilet for more privacy. Look forward to going back and spending a few more days. Lovely setting.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Buckets2014
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The Island Resort was so very pretty and I would have had an amazing time had it not been for the Property Manager "Cyril" A moment that came to mind was when the group was sitting down waiting for dinner. Cyril sat down with us and proceeded to tell his tale of how he enjoys hunting lions and elephants. Needless... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa T
StanleyIsland_Plett, Owner at Stanley Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor. As management we accept that client interaction is of a personal nature and understand that misunderstandings can occur. Stanley Island is a private nature reserve and we spend every effort to conserve wildlife. We by no means condone elephant and lion hunting but it is part of our african history. Culling of animals... More 

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
6.5 km away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
62 reviews
2.1 km away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
114 reviews
5.6 km away
Emily Moon River Lodge
Emily Moon River Lodge
#7 of 65 in Plettenberg Bay
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 km away
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
#4 of 65 in Plettenberg Bay
307 reviews
0.0 km away
Alkantmooi Self Catering
Alkantmooi Self Catering
#9 of 65 in Plettenberg Bay
106 reviews
3.5 km away
Sunshowers Beachfront B&B Guesthouse
Sunshowers Beachfront B&B Guesth...
#28 of 85 in Plettenberg Bay
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The only private island in South Africa – the 28 ha Stanley Island is situated in the spectacularly beautiful Plettenberg Bay Keurbooms Lagoon ,the jewel of the Garden Route. The island features a private landing strip, four guest lodges with 12 en-suite four star rooms, an indigenous milkwood forest, private beaches, abundant birdlife over our protected wetlands. The Island is an ideal honeymoon or family vacation destination only 5km from Plettenberg Bay. Spend your days canoeing up the Keurbooms river, fishing, lazing in a hammock or exploring the island. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stanley Island

Address: Keurbooms River, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $58 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley Island 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Stanley Island staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms does not look anything like pictures advertised. Do not fall for it”
 of 5 bubbles dwol2015, 12 May 2015 | Read review
“The Honeymoon self-catering units are a MUST! Gorgeous views, luxury french bath and fab fully equiped kitchen.”
  •                   Gorgeous bath
 of 5 bubbles Snymans, 17 Jan 2013 | Read review
“preferably request the honeymoon suites if available , but then again all the suites are just as impressive . you wont be dissaoppinted with any”
 of 5 bubbles maimunga, 5 Jun 2012 | Read review
3 of 3