We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Beacon Island Resort

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Beacon Island Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

813 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Beacon Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 800: English reviews
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 5 February 2017

When we checked in we were place in a room on the first floor facing the Robberg which was not to my satisfaction. On complaint we were moved to the second floor facing the lagoon, which was OK but still not the one I wanted. On the third day there we were moved once again to the 5 th floor...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 492larainec
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear 492larainec Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. Beacon Island Resort doesn't own any units/rooms. The only units that we may change or make use of are units that have been placed in the...

Paradise Beach, South Africa
Reviewed 5 February 2017

The Beacon Isle Hotel is one of the oldest in the Tsogo Sun Group, but it still has a very modern look and feel. The setting situated upon a rocky island which juts out into the sea is absolutely awesome. The views from both sides of the hotel are magnificent. One side looks along the beach with mountains in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peterdwood
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear peterdwood Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to welcome you back soon. Should you require any further...

Boksburg Johannesburg
Reviewed 4 February 2017

Beacon Island Hotel is wonderful, we last visited the hotel ten years ago and we were so happy to see all the new furnishings and fittings, the rollings lawns and views of the sea, the staff were brilliant as well as the management, the views are fantastic and the shuttle transports you to quite a few destinations including a daily...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AvonRdGuestHouse
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear AvonRdGuestHouse Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and for giving us the opportunity to live out our Tsogo Sun values which...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Best hotel for service and value. Perfect location for a complete holiday, made even better by such helpful staff. The pool area and beaches accessed directly from the hotel are pristine and this provides for a great, relaxing holiday.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sf743
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear sf743 Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and for giving us the opportunity to live out our Tsogo Sun values which...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 February 2017

The location is amazing because you are right on the beach. The hotel has an interesting architecture and the staff are super friendly. We stayed one night but next time we'll stay a few days. I definitely recommend this hotel!

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank bicoljeans
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear bicoljeans Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and for giving us the opportunity to live out our Tsogo Sun values which...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Wonderful resort for everybody. So much to do if you want or totally relaxing if that's your preference. Lots for the children to do and they are supervised. The beaches are magnificent Beautiful setting.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rwiles2016
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear rwiles2016 Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and for giving us the opportunity to live out our Tsogo Sun values which...

Cape Town
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Was time well spend. The visit to the Birds of Eden and the Monkeys was very entertaining. The entertaining in the Hotel was good the best was on Thursday night the guys from George - I really enjoyed their music.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank marinabot
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear marinabot Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. I am delighted that you enjoyed Thursday nights entertainment. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and for giving us the...

Welkom, South Africa
Reviewed 30 January 2017

We celebrated our 33rd wedding anniversary at the resort as well as incorporated our holiday into this occasion. It was great and relaxing and the service was also exceptional, the food was good and value for money. We also received a nice bottle of champers on the house and wishes for our anniversary with made it special. Great stay and...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ronnied467
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear ronnied467 Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. Once again Congratulations with your wedding anniversary. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and for giving us the opportunity to...

Potchefstroom, South Africa
Reviewed 27 January 2017

We stayed at the Beacon Isle Resort in Plettenberg Bay from 26 Nov- 3 Dec 2016. We stayed in a 4 sleep bedroom overlooking the ocean (East view) Personally I think those rooms overlooking the ocean are the best, believe they have the biggest balconies, although all the views are magnificent. We stayed on the first floor. The facilities are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colette M
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Colette M Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and for giving us the opportunity to live out our Tsogo Sun values...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 26 January 2017

2 years ago we decided to try the Beacon Isle for our summer holiday as we had a 6 month old baby and didnt want to travel overseas with her. We were hooked from day 1 and have been back a few times since. Our latest stay was in January this year and we had the best holiday there. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeoraIsrael
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear LeoraIsrael Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and for giving us the opportunity to live out our Tsogo Sun values which...

260 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (231)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (80)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:37
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.8 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
533 reviews
1.9 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
678 reviews
5.9 km away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
516 reviews
1.1 km away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#11 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
103 reviews
9.6 km away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in Plettenberg Bay, one of the most visited of the picturesque Garden Route towns, the Beacon Island Timeshare Resort is a favourite amongst travellers to this region. Boasting spectacular ocean views, endless leisure activities a host of nearby attractions and beautiful bedrooms this is the perfect resort for you. Drive to Knysna to feed the elephants, shop till you drop or spend your days luxuriating alongside the pool just enjoy your stay! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Beacon Island Resort

Address: Beacon Isle Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $42 - $698 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beacon Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Beacon Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Island Hotel Plettenberg Bay
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Beacon Island Resort staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Beacon Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“6th Floor facing the Pool area. Sunny view”
B8721BUjanetc, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with numbers between 11-19 get full sun in the afternoon”
lisakellyrigg, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Request balcony with ocean views”
JenniK488, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“You can request sea facing or rooms with a balcony... what ever your preference.”
lynnebodoh, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We overlooked Robbery beach and it was perfect.”
Thesavages, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5