We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

334 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 308: English reviews
Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Would recommend this Lovely small hotel, great room excellent views. Compolmenty snacks,room will equipped. Breakfast was excellent, cafe was very good. Great position beach is superb 5 minute walk down hill 10 minute up.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise B
Garden Route, South Africa
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I took friends for lunch, and we had a cringingly bad experience. Our waitress had only been there a month, and was obviously not trained. I think her name was Nothando, but she made fun of one of our party because he mispronounced her name. We wanted to order wine, and the waitress brought 4 bottles to the table to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank m0zchick
Johannesburg
Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is decorated in a quite stylish way. The room stayed in, room 5, had a great view of beaches and the lagoon. One tip is to rnsure that you get inside parking. I was worried to park in the street. Ultimately the establishment found me some inside parking, which was a relief. Would get this aspect sorted -...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank justinbI2365PB
GrandPlett, Public Relations Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Justin, thank you very much for your kind words on our little Hotel in Plett as well as the restaurant. We will look further into your parking suggestions, thank you for that. Kindest regards

Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

There are fun quirky designer boutique hotels but unfortunately this one which is neither! Foremost we were assigned to room 4 which according to the wonderful & polite gentlemen who checked us in - "was a work in progress" and hence assumedly was missing a shower among many other things and unfortunately had only a tub with a hand held...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank guap0bumsies
GrandPlett, Public Relations Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Guap0bumsies, we thank you for taking the time to share this review with the Tripadvisor community and we regret that you did not have a pleasant stay with us. Rest assured that Room 4, our library room is most certainly not "work in progress", that said we perfectly understand that our Grand Hotel and its unique style is not...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a beautiful stay here for Xmas Eve and Xmas Day. We were in Room 6, which has an incredible view of the Bay and a very large room with dual showers and a freestanding bath. The decor is a little bit quirky but cool.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mel M
GrandPlett, Public Relations Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Mel, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor. You are absolutely right, the view from Room 6 is fabulous, isn't it... Have a happy new year and hopefully we will see you again some time. Kindest regards

Dublin
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I shall be the cat among the pigeons. Emailed and phoned the hotel from abroad multiple times to get information on Christmas day dining, never got a helpful response, sometimes none at all. Always seemed too busy to deal with it. While in South Africa I called again. The lady on the phone said she would email me that day,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank garvangallagher
GrandPlett, Public Relations Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Garvan, thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor. It saddens us that you were not satisfied with your stay at Grand Africa Café & Rooms but we most certainly take your feedback very seriously and will look into some of the points that you have raised. A few of those...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We decided to break up our drive from Franschoek to Port Elizabeth by stopping for one night in Plettenberg Bay at the Grand Cafe & Rooms. Our room was enormous with a great view, the decor was very quirky and eclectic. We loved the atmosphere of the place, all the staff were helpful and friendly and in the evening we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurence G
GrandPlett, Public Relations Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Laurence, that is fabulous news... We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so very much and we hope you had a great onward journey and you visit us again some time. Kindest regards

Haarlem
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

‘You can have the Bathhouse, very special’. So we went for the special, not knowing what to expect. The Grand Café & Rooms from the outside looks a bit like a Zanzibar Stone Town house. With a bit of Spanish/Arabic influences. The fairytale starts at the inside. Our Bathhouse has an entrance and patio of its own. Opening the doors...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marjolein W
GrandPlett, Public Relations Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Marjolein, thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor. We are so happy that you had such a wonderful stay with us and embraced our grand style. We hope that you had a safe onward journey and would love to have you back some time. Kindest regards

Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

This is also one of our favourite restaurants in Plett!! The decor is a bit Burlesque and Ecclectic which I absolutely love and its got a great view of mouth of the Keurboomsriver. There's a new chef in town and you can taste the difference! Two of us had the Fish cake starters with sweet patato chips, Yummy! But be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annieplett
GrandPlett, Public Relations Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Annie, thank you so very much for your kind words and compliments for our kitchen staff. We are delighted that you rate us one of your favorite spots in Plett and hope to have you back many more times... Kindest regards

Hitchin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

We had a great stay at the Grand Cafe and Rooms, staying in the Boadicea Suite. This is an amazing quirky place . Room was fantastic a throwback to Victorian times with its decor, amazing high King Size Bed and out door shower. Great service from the staff and a fantastic elevated view from the dining area over Plettenberg Bay....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dringo7
GrandPlett, Front Office Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Dringo, we are delighted about your feedback, thank you very much for sharing it with the Tripadvisor Community. Congratulations on your marriage and we hope to have the two of you back again some time. Kindest regards

135 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (122)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.5 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
481 reviews
2.7 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
623 reviews
6.5 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
212 reviews
4.8 km away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
66 reviews
1.4 km away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
There are few places that can transport you somewhere else in time & emotion. One of these is the Grand Africa Café & Rooms, where a sense of elegant and worldly charm reflects upon its setting over one of Africa's most beautiful bays - Plettenberg Bay. Grand Africa Café & Rooms, with her 8 uniquely styled rooms, presents a beautifully appointed deck, Leopard Lounge and Café to experience GRAND café-style dining. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms

Address: 27 Main Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $128 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cafe And Rooms Hotel Plettenberg Bay
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#7 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't get The Farm (Shed)”
  • Room / Bathroom
 of 5 bubbles garvangallagher, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The Bathhouse is more than special”
 of 5 bubbles marjoleinw547, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ultimate romantic experience: select "the bathhouse room" private splash pool, dining area and side-by-side bath tubs!”
 of 5 bubbles RichardHaubrich, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We didn't stay in the rooms but the restaurant was recommendable.”
 of 5 bubbles VanRowe1960, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“Bath house - if you can get it do - but beware the reputed ghost...actually was a bit spooky but fun....”
 of 5 bubbles 847nigelw, 19 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay