We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Thanda Vista

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Thanda Vista
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

176 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 146: English reviews
Start your review of Thanda Vista
 Click to rate
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at Thanda Vista earlier this month, & were very happy with everything about it. What stood out for us was the attention to detail from our hosts JP & his lovely Wife. We arrived a day late, due to my mistake, but JP made us feel very welcome when we walked through the door. He recommended good restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice bed and breakfast in Plettenberg. Very friendly host who likes to give advice about what to do an where to go. Great view from the breakfast room. Not very centrally located so it is better to have a car.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 517lydia
ThandaVista, Owner at Thanda Vista, responded to this review

Dear Lydia Many thanks for your kind review. It is true that you need a car as we cannot be close to the beaches and all other amenities. Very glad to learn that you enjoyed the breakfast and the views and also the activities in our area. Kind regards JP and Petro

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Comfortable guest house with thought to detail. Comfortable bed and lovely soft pillows. Plenty hot water for showering and bathing. Super breakfast with freshly cooked eggs and bacon etc. Great location. Near some lovely beaches and restaurants.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Y2289YTpamelaw
ThandaVista, Owner at Thanda Vista, responded to this review

Dear Pamela Many thanks for your kind review and we are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Thanda Vista. We are also glad that you did notice the detail (small things that make a big difference!). Hope to see you again some time in the future! Kind regards JP and Petro

Tallinn, Estonia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

You need to visit this lovely guesthouse. Theroom is very clean, with a nice balcony with a good view to the sea. To the beach it is about 5 min. walk. You will get a good breakfest like at home. And the lovely owners are surprising you with small things, that makes you feel really welcome in this house.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 214anua
ThandaVista, Owner at Thanda Vista, responded to this review

Dear Anu Thanks for the kind review and it was a pleasure having you and Trond staying with us. We are also very glad that we could make your stay with us an enjoyable one. Hope to see you again sometime in the future. Kind regards JP and Petro

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Our hosts were very friendly and helpful. They offered a very personal touch with great attention to details. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order and served in a wonderful dining room overlooking the lagoon. As we were arriving on New Years Eve, they kindly recommended and booked a nice restaurant on our behalf.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole K
ThandaVista, Owner at Thanda Vista, responded to this review

Dear Nicole Many thanks for the review and we are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay here at Thanda Vista and Plettenberg Bay. Please come again some time in the future and make sure you book a room with a sea view! Kind regards JP and Petro

East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Top class property and hosts. JP and Petra you could not have made our stay in Plett any more pleasant. The service you both provide is undoubtedly above and beyond what we would have expected. JP your knowledge of Plett and the surrounding area is second to none and made our choice of what to see on our short visit...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
ThandaVista, Owner at Thanda Vista, responded to this review

Dear Tom Many thanks for your kind review and we take proud in serving our guests to the best of our abilities. Very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and please come back again some time in the future! Kind regards JP and Petro

Centurion, South Africa
Reviewed 25 September 2016

What a special treat it was to stay at Thanda Vista. Every room, with it's own theme, is clean , well furnished with excellent quality bedding and towels. The hosts of Thanda Vista really go that extra mile for their guests,. The breakfast, served in the breakfast room with a beautiful view, is 5*****

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 627bettied
ThandaVista, Owner at Thanda Vista, responded to this review

Dear Bettie Many thanks for your kind review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for choosing Thanda Vista! Kind regards JP and Petro van der Walt

New York City, New York
Reviewed 7 July 2016

This was their winter period & unfortunately the heating system didn't work for 2 nights. Warm blankets& heater were provided. Electrical pblms happened so we don't fault them. JP & Petra did all the right things and we were very pleased with our stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 305beverlyt
ThandaVista, Owner at Thanda Vista, responded to this review

Dear BJ and Carmen - New York! Yes, electrical problems sometimes happens at the wrong time but we were able to fix it! Thank you for staying with us and we really enjoyed your company! Hope you have a wonderful trip to Kenya in November. Kind regards JP and Petro

ayrshire
Reviewed 14 April 2016

We loved the Thanda Vista. Our hosts JP and Petro were magnificent and couldn't do enough for us during our short visit. A perfect place to stay and would thoroughly recommend this accommodation to all and sundry. Would certainly return again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank johnboy56
ThandaVista, Owner at Thanda Vista, responded to this review

Dear John Bryce Many thanks for the kind review and it was a pleasure having you stay here at Thanda Vista. We look forward to again receiving you here sometime in the future and make your stay comfortable and full of enjoyment. Kind regards JP and Petro

Tullamore, Ireland
Reviewed 7 April 2016

I had the pleasure of staying in Thanda Vista B and B at the end of March 2016. My friends and I were travelling along the Garden Route and stayed here for 1 night. From the moment we arrived, we were extremely impressed with the location, facilities, rooms, owners JP and Petro and the breakfast the next morning really topped...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank damienshealy
ThandaVista, Owner at Thanda Vista, responded to this review

Dear Damien Reviews like yours just makes us determined to not only maintain the level of service but to also and always seek to improve where possible. Many thanks for staying with us and we hope you can make it again and then for more than 1 night! You were also great guests to host here at Thanda Vista! Kind...

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
3.8 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
645 reviews
1.4 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
498 reviews
3.8 km away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#6 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
718 reviews
3.2 km away
Bayside Lodge
Bayside Lodge
#3 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
246 reviews
5.0 km away
Sea Breeze
Sea Breeze
#13 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Thanda Vista is a Bed and Breakfast establishment, just minutes away from the white sandy beaches of Plettenberg Bay situated on South Africa’s Garden Route coast.Intimate, exclusive and private Thanda Vista offers 5 luxury en-suite bedrooms ( all with air-con, DSTV, bar fridge, mini safe, tea/coffee making facilities, etc. There is also a guest lounge with library, music centre and desk-top computer (with free Wi-Fi broadband internet access); a breakfast room with magnificent views of the Bay; roof-top terrace for fantastic whale watching; and on-site parking. Your hosts, long-time Plett residents JP and Petro van der Walt welcome you to Thanda Vista and they promise that, with their intimate knowledge of the area, you'll find there's so much to do you'll want to stay forever. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thanda Vista

Address: 8 Susan Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $122 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thanda Vista 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Thanda Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Thanda Vista staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Beach View Room”
 of 5 bubbles haypet13, 6 Feb 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are stunning”
 of 5 bubbles 827tinusl, 6 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Request a Sea View Room.”
 of 5 bubbles Wrinkleytraveller, 5 Mar 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are very comfortable but the sea view rooms with patio access would be my first choice . Also provide a large spacious guest lounge so that you have more than just your room to use.”
 of 5 bubbles 07887, 4 Feb 2015 | Read review
“The area is suburban quiet so all rooms will be quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles RobertA105, 28 May 2014 | Read review
5 of 5