We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Buckingham Place Guest House

Save
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Elizabeth
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

5 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 5: English reviews
Have you been to Buckingham Place Guest House? Share your experience.
Start your review of Buckingham Place Guest House
 Click to rate
East London, South Africa
Reviewed 17 November 2016

Stayed at buckingham place,on arrival I was welcomed by the friendly manager,i had arrived way before the check in time but they were accommodating,The room was clean and cosy,it was a 3day stay,my breakfast was always ready on time,staff were always friendly and eager to help,not a 5star hotel but I got more than my money's worth,will definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _makahlobihluma
Management response:

We appreciate your response and hope to see you in the near future; regards paula murray

East London, South Africa
Reviewed 13 January 2016

.Stayed at Buckingham Place guest house a few years ago and it was excellent. This time around on 2015-12-19/20 the experience was much different. the reception received was very good but the following was not, 1. The wooden deck was rickety and some parts were rotten and unsafe. 2. Hardly any utensils and those that were there were very old....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jannieb2016
Management response:

We appreciate the review above and have been busy renovating our wooden deck to improve safety. The flat has been painted out and décor upgraded so everything matches and is back in order. Our fridge/microwave has been renewed. Our rates remain excellent. we have added a flat screen tv and all our rooms have dstv; We have installed 5 water...

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 16 October 2015

I booked accommodation for my boss, who travels frequently for business. He enjoys guest house as to hotels. But Buckingham place was an absolute nightmare. After travelling from JHB to PE he was tired and wanted a good shower and a clean bed. Well he showed up to a dirty room, that had not been cleaned! The bathroom toilet had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RonRogers
Management response:

I have inspected all the rooms carefully and did not find one to be smelly. However the customer is always right and It sounds like we slipped up on this one! new kettles and microrwaves have been recently added. We have upgraded our linen and mattresses, dstv has been added. We have installed water harvesting so that we are self-sufficient...

Grahamstown, South Africa
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My family and I spent a night. it was very reasonably priced. We were warmly welcomed. We stayed in the apartment which was relatively neat but needs to be refurbished. The bedding needs replacing and a window in the bathroom was broken. Parts of the flooring is either broken or missing. With the required renovations this could be an ideal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deven G
Management response:

Thanks for your review. Our guesthouse is 108 years old which is no excuse for shoddiness however we are fighting to preserve our yellowood wooden flooring and have recently replaced some of the floor boards and old antique features. Bedding has all been replaced and we strive to do this every 3 or 4 months. Its quite challenging to modernise...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Great place to stay at a reasonable price, lovely outdoors area to enjoy the birds and sun, not far from the shops, waterfront a short drive. Rooms clean and spacious. The owner/manager was helpful and the breakfast good value, the place feels secure and safe but not a concrete prison like some places in SA.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Austraveller10001

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Buckingham Place Guest House

Address: 42 Buckingham Road | Mount Croix, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Buckingham Place Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?