We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Forest Hall Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Forest Hall Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

355 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 330: English reviews
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

great place to stay. welcoming hospitality. Beatiful rooms. central place . Clean rooms. Safe, secure. Big rooms, wonderful relaxing property. Family feel. value for money is great. It is centrally sityated

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Heleen R
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Heleen Thanks so much for taking the time out to review Forest Hall I am so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you back again regards James & Forest Hall team More 

Port Alfred, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We won a voucher to Forrest Hall from a golf day, but would love to come back again. Their hospitality is of the warmest kind and after driving through the gate, you feel as if you've walked into a different time zone in the old English countryside. The breakfast was fantastic and attention to detail is excellent. Did I mention... More 

Helpful?
Thank MegWPortAlfred
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Meg So pleased you enjoyed your night at Forest Hall It is great to get such wonderful feedback from someone in the industry We hope to be able to welcome you sometime in the future regards James & Forest Hall team More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you are looking for a better home away from home, then Forest Hall is the right place for you. The breakfasts are delicious, the rooms are fantastic, everything you need is in the room. Safe, secure, off street parking ideal!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kelly R
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Kelly Thanks so much for your review on your return visit back in your requested room .Please everything was up to scratch and you were comfortable and felt safe and secure here regards James More 

Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a top class B and B in a quiet and attractive leafy suburb, which has everything you could possibly want when travelling" lovely setting, quiet rooms, great pool, and helpful restaurant recommendations close by. Worth all the awards it has won.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank msykes_361487
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your positive review . So pleased you enjoyed your time at Forest Hall regards James & team at Forest Hall More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you are looking for an affordable, more than comfortable "home away from home", Forest Hall is the place. As a frequent business traveller this guest house is ideal for working after hours. WiFi on tap and all the plugs you need in order to charge your technology. Central, elegant convenience. Breakfasts are delicious, the rooms are quiet and have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Russellk01
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Thanks so much for your review Pleased you enjoyed your time at Forest Hall regards James & Forest Hall team More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This B&B is conveniently situated close to the airport. Very nice guesthouse with friendly owners and a beautiful garden which we unfortunately didn't have time to sit and relax in...nice breakfast as well

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Niklas H
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Niklas Pleased you enjoyed your time here at Forest Hall even though it was so short regards James More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have stayed at Forest Hall in the past, this just a overnight stay before flight from PE airport which is close by, so Forest Hall very convenient for that. Always get a warm welcome form James and Hilary. Rooms very individual, comfortable and with good shower rooms. Always supply of water and tea and coffee available. Very comfortable beds, so... More 

Helpful?
Thank andrewnY250VH
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Andrew Thank you for your wonderfully detailed review . It is always great to see familiar faces back at Forest Hall on return trips .Pleased you were happy with your most recent stay and hope you had a safe trip back home and the weather is not too much of a shock regards James More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My room at Forest Hall was worthy of a feature in Architectural Digest. How desperately painful to only stay one night! Because it is on the national historic register, the architecture is fully compliant but the owners complete willingness to serve their guests made it truly outstanding. My great thanks for a wonderful stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank grumblegoat
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks so much for doing a review of Forest Hall and your wonderful words about us. So pleased you enjoyed your time here even though it was so short .We hope that you will return someday soon regards James More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were delighted to find such a comfortable place for our 2 nights in PE. James is a wonderful host, attentive and welcoming but not gushing. Breakfast was delicious with something for every taste. Our room was comfortable and well equipped. Thanks

Helpful?
Thank Deborah H
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Deborah Thanks so much for reviewing Forest Hall . Pleased you enjoyed your time here regards James More 

UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We only stayed 1 night, but the place was beautiful; well designed with lots of attention to detail in the bedroom & bathroom. Comfy bed, great pillows and an amazing shower; all the right elements for the perfect stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank supersunrise
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for such a positive review . We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Forest Hall even though it was so short . regards James More 

150 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (67)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (83)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
8.7 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
7.5 km away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#1 of 13 in Summerstrand
404 reviews
0.9 km away
Hacklewood Hill Country House
Hacklewood Hill Country House
#3 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Treetops Guesthouse
Treetops Guesthouse
#4 of 217 in Port Elizabeth
475 reviews
9.0 km away
Admiralty Beach House
Admiralty Beach House
#1 of 42 in Summerstrand
227 reviews
6.0 km away
Conifer Beach House
Conifer Beach House
#5 of 217 in Port Elizabeth
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Forest Hall Guest House is an affordable 4 star luxury guest house,set in an award winning 1'5 acre park-like treed garden with a Romanesque swimming pool with pool deck with loungers/umbrellas in the centrally positioned lush garden suburb of Walmer,Port Elizabeth.Tennis court and trampoline and second swimming pool.Conveniently close to PE airport,golf courses,pristine beaches,shopping malls,fantastic restaurants and all tourist attractions.Come relax & enjoy this unique farm-like setting in the city with birdsong,peace and tranquility.Ideal B&B/self catering accommodation for business,families,groups and tourists.All home comforts.Free Wifi.Delicious English breakfasts.Just 45 minutes drive to malaria free Addo Elephant Park and other Big 5 Game Parks.Shuttle service on request ... more   less 

Additional Information about Forest Hall Guest House

Address: 84 River Road | Walmer, Port Elizabeth 6070, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Price Range: $83 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Forest Hall Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Forest Hall Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Forest Hall Guest House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Hayle, England, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Forest Hall Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Outside rooms are private and ideal for work purposes. So many plugs for convenience for charging technology!”
 of 5 bubbles KellyR750, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Outside rooms are ideal for privacy.”
 of 5 bubbles Russellk01, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“15 bedrooms have stayed in three of them and all of very good standard.”
 of 5 bubbles andrewnY250VH, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The honeymoon suite is the best. ”
 of 5 bubbles , 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are beautifully furnished and appointed”
 of 5 bubbles GeraldineFarinhaFerr, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay