We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

On the Spot B & B at St Francis Bay

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
On the Spot B & B at St Francis Bay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for On the Spot B & B at St Francis Bay
See the most recent reviews
Showing 101: English reviews
Graaff Reinet
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Me and my wife originate from the Karoo and just wanted to break away to a place where we can relax and enjoy a breather from our tough work schedule. From the moment we arrived at On the spot B&B we felt at home and everything about the establishment is top class. From the management to the staff. Clean well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank poenkies
onthespotbb, Owner at On the Spot B & B at St Francis Bay, responded to this review

Wonderful to receive your review as well your heartwarming guest book entry! Really appreciated! We wish you both a great 2014 (and beyond!!!) as Mr. and Mrs. and that your trip and stay with us was a "delayed honeymoon"! All the best!

South London
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I can't praise the service here enough. The standard compared to many B and Bs that I have stayed in in the UK was absolutely 5*. Spotlessly clean rooms, spa slippers and dressing gowns on arrival, well stocked mini bar, tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary sherry! The breakfast was fantastic, Inge provided the most delicious cooked breakfast in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Poppysouthlondon
onthespotbb, Owner at On the Spot B & B at St Francis Bay, responded to this review

Thank you sincerely for your review! it was great having you all and wish you many more happy travels to our country (and village). Your recovery wishes are truly appreciated.

Glossop, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Unfortunately we hardly got to know Inge as we arrived late afternoon and needed to be off at 6.00 am next day to catch plane at Port Elizabeth. However Inge got up with us to see us off and packed us the most wonderful packed breakfast to eat on arrival at the airport- we were the envy of many a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
onthespotbb, Owner at On the Spot B & B at St Francis Bay, responded to this review

Really appreciate your time to review especially as our time to meet was so brief! Hopefully triggered a possible extended stay on future visits to our village! Warm wishes for a great 2014!

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 9 December 2013

On the spot cancelled our stay with 5 days notice without argumentation. Thus we cannot rate our stay. We are very disappointed, had a look for other accommodation( albeit that alternative was offered). The fact that i receive this request for review disappoints me as well, apparently the cancellation is not properly recorded. Now wait if/when we get refund of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Walter584
onthespotbb, Owner at On the Spot B & B at St Francis Bay, responded to this review

Your disappointment of your cancelled 1 night booking is sincerely shared with compassion as unforeseen, unexpected and compelled extended hospitalization nearly 700 km away resulted to the temporary closure.Regrettably you declined the arranged alternative accommodation where you would have been so well cared for and still have experienced our beautiful village. The refund was also processed immediately on our return...

Waedenswil, Switzerland
Reviewed 7 December 2013

While travelling along the Garden Route past November, we spent two days at the On the Spot B & B in St Francis Bay. Inge is a fantastic host, very friendly, competent and helpful. The location is very clean and absolutely quiet. The rooms are generous, the interior has style and the breakfast is unbeatable. In our opinion, On the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hans S
onthespotbb, Owner at On the Spot B & B at St Francis Bay, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience, it is always heart warming for us and staff that you had a good time with us and our surroundings. Wishing you both well as well as wonderful travels!

Mainz, Germany
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This was our 5th visit in SA and we were in more than 20 B & B during our travels. This was one of he best in service and accommodation. Inge was a warm and always helpful Hostess.We recommend strongly to choose this B & B in St. Francis Bay. Jochen Scholz and friends in November 2013.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JochenScholz
Kommetjie, South Africa
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We rtravelled to St Francis Bay to attend a family wedding in the town. On the Spot was just the perfect place to be for the weekend. Unfortunately we had to cut our time short because my father died unexpectedly. Inge and Steve were most understanding and we would certainly go back there on our next visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
Worb, Switzerland
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Very nice, quiet place, very helpful hostess, excellent, rich breakfast, nice, clean swimming pool. However, due to special village structure of St. Francis and a missing road sign, rather difficult to find. If no GPS in car, contact B+B early enough by mobile!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erich M
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The hospitality from our hosts was warm, friendly and professional. Our stay was for 1 day on our way through the Eastern Cape. The accommodation is 5 star. There was always someone available to assist with any questions we had or anything that we requested. The Breakfast was delicious!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Toptrip34
Cape Town
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We enjoyed a home from home experience with a whole lots of classic luxury. A cosy room to meet all our needs. We arrive at 10 the evening and a light snack was left in our room, an extra touch we appreciated. Breakfast was awesome and too much to eat. We will be back to stay on our next visit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie K

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francis Bay
2.8 km away
Cape St Francis Resort
Cape St Francis Resort
#1 of 2 in Cape St Francis
458 reviews
2.2 km away
Thatchwood
Thatchwood
#1 of 2 in Saint Francis Bay
88 reviews
0.9 km away
The Sands at St Francis
The Sands at St Francis
#2 of 18 in Saint Francis Bay
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
i-Lollo Lodge
i-Lollo Lodge
#4 of 18 in Saint Francis Bay
141 reviews
1.6 km away
Milkwood Country Cottage
Milkwood Country Cottage
#7 of 18 in Saint Francis Bay
43 reviews
1.1 km away
Sandals Guest House
Sandals Guest House
#3 of 18 in Saint Francis Bay
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
On The Spot B&B at St Francis Bay is a 4 STAR / AA Superior establishment. On the premises is a swimming pool, BBQ facilities, on site secured access controlled parking. All children welcome. No pets allowed. Credit card facilities. This charming coastal village on the Sunshine Coast captures the heart of all its visitors and is where this establishment is situated in its tranquil setting just 30 meters from the water’s edge of the warm Indian Ocean. Take 21 km off the main Garden Route to this unique, sophisticated, yet wild at heart architectural village and experience sea breeze filled days in our beautiful natural surroundings of nature reserves, dunes, river and sea. Where warm hospitality gets its meaning and the emphasis is on outdoor life with the bracing sea air and sunshine. 5 Luxury Full en-suite Rooms; bath/shower, two family rooms are inter-leading, King or twin beds with amenities, extra length beds, quality linen, extra blankets, bathrobes and slippers, hairdryer, pool/beach towels provided, serviced daily, mini fridge, complimentary coffee/tea tray and sherry, heater, fan, digital safe, 32” HD flat screen satellite TV with lots of channels.....this is home away from home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about On the Spot B & B at St Francis Bay

Address: cnr Sardinia / Carlo De Wolpe Rd | Santareme, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Price Range: $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — On the Spot B & B at St Francis Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from On the Spot B & B at St Francis Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms all overlook swimming pool”
 of 5 bubbles 121KarenJ121, 28 Jul 2014 | Read review
“They are all close to the pool”
 of 5 bubbles GlynT_12, 4 Mar 2014 | Read review
“A very quiet location of the B&B a bit outside the village of St Francis”
 of 5 bubbles gerbrandt2014, 11 Feb 2014 | Read review
“They are all the same. The place is quiet too, plus they have blackout curtains to assist sleep for those of us who are woken up by the light of the sun rising!”
 of 5 bubbles LouisandJudiL, 17 Mar 2013 | Read review
“You would probably get better views of the ocean if you took an upstairs room”
 of 5 bubbles ChristineM223, 1 Mar 2013 | Read review
5 of 5