We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Misty Mountain Reserve

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Misty Mountain Reserve
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

191 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 157: English reviews
Piets-Plasence-Moustrou, France
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

When I first walked in the yard, I was like "farm house" then I walked through reception to the back. The place just took my breath away, my experience of quad bikes was the best and not forgetting the hospitality received from the owners and staff. Oslen and Renaldo were the best tour guiders and very informative about the place....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GeraldineNtai
Hartenbos, South Africa
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

What a breathtaking view!! Awesome experience with friendly helpfull staff! Close to the most beautiful destinations yet private enough for most needed relaxation!! One of the besexperiences of my life

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eruskathomas
TheMistyMountainTeam, Public Relations Manager at Misty Mountain Reserve, responded to this review

Dear eruskathomas We are so pleased you enjoyed your experience at Misty and that you soaked up the beautiful surrounds and left rejuvenated. Thank you for posting a review, we look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Warm regards Management & Staff

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A blend of safari and ocean view 👌👌 A fresh break zone,with one of the best hiking trails and an outstanding guide. The quad bike,the history of this place the privacy is just worth coming back for 😍😍😍 in short,ask for Oslen!!! dinner to die for 🎯

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gloria B
TheMistyMountainTeam, Public Relations Manager at Misty Mountain Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Gloria B We are delighted you chose our establishment for such a wonderful celebration, your Honeymoon. Ozzie "Oslen" is a special ambassador to Misty Mountain Reserve and the Tsitsikamma as a whole. Your compliment has been well received for which we thank you and the Misty team look forward to your return visit. Warm regards Management & Staff

4333 Münchwilen
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely place with perfect view of the sea. Unfortunately weather was bad. (Name of the lodge prescribed the conditions). Gravel road could be in better condition. Chalets are very nice and Food is excellent. Can be recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joergh884
TheMistyMountainTeam, Public Relations Manager at Misty Mountain Reserve, responded to this review

Dear joergh884 Thank you for recommending Misty Mountain Reserve, we value your feedback. We ensure that each guest leaves with wonderful memories and pride ourselves of good food, warm hospitality and comfortable accommodation. We look forward to a seeing you again in the near future. Warm regards Management & Staff

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were very disappointed with this hotel. We were impressed by the good reviews and decided to splurge on a nice room. When we got there the room was not as described - it promised a sea view when there wasn't, it was a tent without a heater etc. We never got to the bottom of whether they gave us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank disappointed492
TheMistyMountainTeam, Manager at Misty Mountain Reserve, responded to this review

Dear disappointed492 Thank you for posting a very detailed review, we value each guest's opinion. We take note of your concerns and can assure you each concern has been appropriately addressed. The construction of the road that you referred to was the road maintenance by our municipal council and we too were not informed of the development taking place, this...

Pretoria
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I can't say enough good things about this Lodge! We stayed in die Honeymoon suite, it was a huge room with extra sitting room, large bathroom with spa bath and 2 outside deck area's. The sea view was spectacular, what a way to wake up every morning. We enjoyed the hike to the viewpoint, so refreshing between the woods, over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heloisef
TheMistyMountainTeam, Public Relations Manager at Misty Mountain Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Heloisef We are so happy you enjoyed your visit to Misty, the Honeymoon Lodge, views, menu and trail. We will certainly pass your feedback to the team, we value and thank you for taking the time to upload our review. We look forward to you visiting again soon. Warm regards Management & Staff

Gorinchem, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was a real surprise to find this place at the end of kilometres bad road. The peacocks welcomed us and the place to which we were led was awesome. Beautiful view over the garden reaching the end of the cliffs and looking over the ocean at sunset

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Y2915CPpauls
TheMistyMountainTeam, Public Relations Manager at Misty Mountain Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Y2915CPpauls We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Misty Mountain Reserve, thank you for visiting. The peacocks are really showing off this season, the spectacular display always stops our guests in their tracks. It is such a wonderful sight. We would love to share any photo's you took to display on our Face Book page, please feel free...

Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 5 November 2016

We live close by and decided to spend a night away for our anniversary. We loved the place, the one night felt like a weekend break. Love the place. Friendly staff, exquisite food and rooms that have character and romantic ambiance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 789garthw
TheMistyMountainTeam, Public Relations Manager at Misty Mountain Reserve, responded to this review

Dear 789garthw Congratulations on your anniversary, we wish you many happy years ahead. We are delighted you had a romantic weekend at Misty and enjoyed your experience. We look forward to you frequently visiting, being so close by, to enjoy time out in nature. Warm regards Management & Staff

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Misty Mountain is a wonderful and relaxing place to stay. Our expectations were met and couldn't ask for anything better. The view from our luxury lodge was ''AMAZING'' and breathtaking to see. The staff and management were very friendly and accommodated us very well. We decided to go on the David Lane Trail which was perfect and led by a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vinmalanaik435
TheMistyMountainTeam, Public Relations Manager at Misty Mountain Reserve, responded to this review

Dear vinmalanaik435 Thank you for recommending Misty, we are so pleased your expectations were met and that you enjoyed the experience. We look forward to your return visit, should you have taken any photo's, please feel free to upload them to our face book page, we would love to share them. Warm regards Management & Staff

Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

We booked on a spur of the moment and we're pleasantly surprised at every turn. A short stint on a dirt Road, which was easily managed in a low lying polo, brought us through some beautifully kept farm lands to Misty Mountain. We stayed in the rustic cottages as everything else was fully booked and they were anything but rustic....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
TheMistyMountainTeam, Public Relations Manager at Misty Mountain Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Michael P Thank you for reviewing Misty, we are delighted you booked on the spur of the moment and that you have a wonderful visit. It was a delight meeting you both. We are pleased you enjoyed the rustic farm cottages and all the outdoor nature activities. I will certainly pass all the feedback to the team. We look...

191 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (96)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (95)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (33)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tsitsikamma National Park hotels
8.4 km away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
733 reviews
8.1 km away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
556 reviews
8.2 km away
Armagh Country Lodge
Armagh Country Lodge
#3 of 4 in Storms River
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
At The Woods Guest House
At The Woods Guest House
#1 of 4 in Storms River
347 reviews
8.1 km away
Storms River Guest Lodge
Storms River Guest Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
212 reviews
8.4 km away
Andelomi Forest Lodge
Andelomi Forest Lodge
#10 of 13 in Storms River
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Adventure for those who venture out ... Whether you’re seeking a family holiday, romantic breakaway or adventure weekend or simply needing to retreat in nature, Misty Mountain Reserve offers the perfect getaway, surrounded by nature offering 360 degree views of the ocean, indigenous forest and Tsitsikamma Mountains. A variety of accommodation from Ocean View Lodges, Lake Side Tents and self-catering Rustic Farm Cottages, each offering a unique experience. On site activities include scenic indigenous forest walks, guided David Lane Trail, fresh water fishing, a 9 hole mashie chip and wedge golf course and 4 mountain biking routes varying in difficulty from 8.7km – 65km. The reserve is also surrounded by many wild animal sanctuaries and adventurous activities including canopy tours, bungy jumping, Segway, ziplining, Monkeyland, Birds of Eden, Elephant Sanctuary, Jukani Wildlife Sanctuary, Tenikwa Wild Cat Sanctuary, Lawnwood Snakepark and much more. We pride ourselves on good value, luxury accommodation; delicious meals, friendly staff and great customer service, guests departing inspired and rested with wonderful experiences in nature. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Misty Mountain Reserve

Address: | Farm 438 Bluelillies Bush, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park
Price Range: $125 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Mountain Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Misty Mountain Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Misty Mountain Reserve staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Johannesburg, South Africa
Johannesburg, South Africa

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Misty Mountain Reserve staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It doesn't matter because all are beautiful and warm”
 of 5 bubbles GeraldineNtai, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“tent 4 is set apart ( book as excecutive sea view)”
 of 5 bubbles philippeD350, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The honeymoon suite was at the end of the chalet row which ensured privacy from those walking to and from the restaurant on the board walk.”
 of 5 bubbles Mourneadventurer, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ocean view lodges were my first choice!”
 of 5 bubbles KriBauer09, 4 May 2016 | Read review
“Three types of accommodation: we loved the shabby chic cottages”
 of 5 bubbles mandl14, 12 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay