We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Misty Mountain Reserve

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Misty Mountain Reserve
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

209 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Misty Mountain Reserve
See the most recent reviews
Showing 171: English reviews
Paarl, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in the sunbird chalet , which I booked at the last minute on a cancellation list on booking.com. Chalet needs a complete revamp and maintenance and repair checklist done. Not in as good condition as the others. Activities poor in choice and condition. We did self catering so did not experience the Resturant. I understand that it's the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kathrynmann
TheMistyMountainTeam, Public Relations Manager at Misty Mountain Reserve, responded to this review

Dear kathrynmann Thank you very much for your candid review on your visit to our establishment. Your feedback is extremely valuable, I appreciate your comments about aspects of the lodge that need upgrading, your comments have been noted and the maintenance team is urgently addressing. The self catering lodge is rented out as a self catering unit that accommodates 4...

Hermanus
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great base for Storms River and Tsitsikamma activities. Beautiful setting and friendly service. Would recommend the self-service braai basket but breakfasts were disappointing- not good value for money.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 416debbief
TheMistyMountainTeam, Public Relations Manager at Misty Mountain Reserve, responded to this review

Dear 416debbief "Great base for Storms River and Tsitsikamma activities". Thank you for you review, we are so pleased you enjoyed the beautiful surroundings and friendly service. The braai baskets are very popular for non self catering and self catering lodges. We have noted your comments about the breakfast menu and will certainly be reviewing the selection. We trust you...

Bahrain
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Misty Mountain is really a very nice place to stay with beautiful views. Only downside for us was the service during breakfast. Staff really not interested in serving and we had to call each time to clear away the dishes. Not acceptable for such a lovely and expensive place.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 631deniseo
TheMistyMountainTeam, Public Relations Manager at Misty Mountain Reserve, responded to this review

Dear 631deniseo Thank you for the lovely comment about the beautiful views and our establishment. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Our seasonal staff have since had had additional training as we pride ourselves on friendly customer service, ensuring that each guest receives personal attention at all times. We look forward to you visiting again soon...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This resort sits on a bluff above the Indian Ocean and below the Tsitsikamma mountains. We were there on the full moon, which made it even more magical. The staff were very friendly. The accommodations vary from buildings used on the former dairy farm to new Chalets with ocean views. The restaurant offers an excellent dinner and breakfast. I highly...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 773lukel
TheMistyMountainTeam, Public Relations Manager at Misty Mountain Reserve, responded to this review

Dear 773lukel Thank you for highly recommending our establishment, we are so pleased you had a magical experience, enjoyed the variety of accommodation, restaurant and friendly staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Warm regards Management & Staff

Piets-Plasence-Moustrou, France
Reviewed 10 December 2016

When I first walked in the yard, I was like "farm house" then I walked through reception to the back. The place just took my breath away, my experience of quad bikes was the best and not forgetting the hospitality received from the owners and staff. Oslen and Renaldo were the best tour guiders and very informative about the place....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GeraldineNtai
TheMistyMountainTeam, Front Office Manager at Misty Mountain Reserve, responded to this review

Dear GeraldineNtai "Paradise - This place took my breath away....". Thank you Geraldine for posting your review, we value each guest's feedback and are delighted you had a wonderful time. We pride ourselves on excellent customer service, great food, luxury accommodation, tranquillity and relaxation in nature, yet adventure. We are pleased you enjoyed the quad tours and will certainly pass...

Hartenbos, South Africa
Reviewed 5 December 2016

What a breathtaking view!! Awesome experience with friendly helpfull staff! Close to the most beautiful destinations yet private enough for most needed relaxation!! One of the besexperiences of my life

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eruskathomas
TheMistyMountainTeam, Public Relations Manager at Misty Mountain Reserve, responded to this review

Dear eruskathomas We are so pleased you enjoyed your experience at Misty and that you soaked up the beautiful surrounds and left rejuvenated. Thank you for posting a review, we look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Warm regards Management & Staff

Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

A blend of safari and ocean view 👌👌 A fresh break zone,with one of the best hiking trails and an outstanding guide. The quad bike,the history of this place the privacy is just worth coming back for 😍😍😍 in short,ask for Oslen!!! dinner to die for 🎯

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gloria B
TheMistyMountainTeam, Public Relations Manager at Misty Mountain Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Gloria B We are delighted you chose our establishment for such a wonderful celebration, your Honeymoon. Ozzie "Oslen" is a special ambassador to Misty Mountain Reserve and the Tsitsikamma as a whole. Your compliment has been well received for which we thank you and the Misty team look forward to your return visit. Warm regards Management & Staff

4333 Münchwilen
Reviewed 29 November 2016

Lovely place with perfect view of the sea. Unfortunately weather was bad. (Name of the lodge prescribed the conditions). Gravel road could be in better condition. Chalets are very nice and Food is excellent. Can be recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank joergh884
TheMistyMountainTeam, Public Relations Manager at Misty Mountain Reserve, responded to this review

Dear joergh884 Thank you for recommending Misty Mountain Reserve, we value your feedback. We ensure that each guest leaves with wonderful memories and pride ourselves of good food, warm hospitality and comfortable accommodation. We look forward to a seeing you again in the near future. Warm regards Management & Staff

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 November 2016

We were very disappointed with this hotel. We were impressed by the good reviews and decided to splurge on a nice room. When we got there the room was not as described - it promised a sea view when there wasn't, it was a tent without a heater etc. We never got to the bottom of whether they gave us...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank disappointed492
TheMistyMountainTeam, Manager at Misty Mountain Reserve, responded to this review

Dear disappointed492 Thank you for posting a very detailed review, we value each guest's opinion. We take note of your concerns and can assure you each concern has been appropriately addressed. The construction of the road that you referred to was the road maintenance by our municipal council and we too were not informed of the development taking place, this...

Pretoria
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

I can't say enough good things about this Lodge! We stayed in die Honeymoon suite, it was a huge room with extra sitting room, large bathroom with spa bath and 2 outside deck area's. The sea view was spectacular, what a way to wake up every morning. We enjoyed the hike to the viewpoint, so refreshing between the woods, over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heloisef
TheMistyMountainTeam, Public Relations Manager at Misty Mountain Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Heloisef We are so happy you enjoyed your visit to Misty, the Honeymoon Lodge, views, menu and trail. We will certainly pass your feedback to the team, we value and thank you for taking the time to upload our review. We look forward to you visiting again soon. Warm regards Management & Staff

207 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (105)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (102)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tsitsikamma National Park hotels
8.4 km away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
769 reviews
8.1 km away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
587 reviews
8.2 km away
Armagh Country Lodge
Armagh Country Lodge
#3 of 4 in Storms River
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
At The Woods Guest House
At The Woods Guest House
#1 of 5 in Storms River
358 reviews
8.1 km away
Storms River Guest Lodge
Storms River Guest Lodge
#2 of 5 in Storms River
217 reviews
8.4 km away
Andelomi Forest Lodge
Andelomi Forest Lodge
#10 of 13 in Storms River
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Adventure for those who venture out ... Whether you’re seeking a family holiday, romantic breakaway or adventure weekend or simply needing to retreat in nature, Misty Mountain Reserve offers the perfect getaway, surrounded by nature offering 360 degree views of the ocean, indigenous forest and Tsitsikamma Mountains. A variety of accommodation from Ocean View Lodges, Lake Side Tents and self-catering Rustic Farm Cottages, each offering a unique experience. On site activities include scenic indigenous forest walks, guided David Lane Trail, fresh water fishing, a 9 hole mashie chip and wedge golf course and 4 mountain biking routes varying in difficulty from 8.7km – 65km. The reserve is also surrounded by many wild animal sanctuaries and adventurous activities including canopy tours, bungy jumping, Segway, ziplining, Monkeyland, Birds of Eden, Elephant Sanctuary, Jukani Wildlife Sanctuary, Tenikwa Wild Cat Sanctuary, Lawnwood Snakepark and much more. We pride ourselves on good value, luxury accommodation; delicious meals, friendly staff and great customer service, guests departing inspired and rested with wonderful experiences in nature. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Misty Mountain Reserve

Address: | Farm 438 Bluelillies Bush, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park
Price Range: $132 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Mountain Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Misty Mountain Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Misty Mountain Reserve staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Johannesburg, South Africa
Johannesburg, South Africa

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Misty Mountain Reserve staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It doesn't matter because all are beautiful and warm”
 of 5 bubbles GeraldineNtai, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“tent 4 is set apart ( book as excecutive sea view)”
 of 5 bubbles philippeD350, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The honeymoon suite was at the end of the chalet row which ensured privacy from those walking to and from the restaurant on the board walk.”
 of 5 bubbles Mourneadventurer, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ocean view lodges were my first choice!”
 of 5 bubbles KriBauer09, 4 May 2016 | Read review
“Three types of accommodation: we loved the shabby chic cottages”
 of 5 bubbles mandl14, 12 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay